葡萄酒

Jan Steen 1600 年代的公共领域绘画

2007 年,加州大学洛杉矶分校的考古学家在亚美尼亚发现了一座似乎是酿酒厂 可追溯到公元前 4100 年的洞穴。它包含葡萄藤残留物、饮用器皿、压酒器和用于储存的陶罐。 

然而,没有人知道葡萄酒是什么时候发明的。许多研究人员认为它可以追溯到公元前 6000 年。艺术、考古发掘和著作向我们展示了许多文明在仪式、宗教、特殊场合、药用和家庭中使用葡萄酒。  

 

在 1500 年代, 1600 年代在佛罗里达、弗吉尼亚和加拿大尝试生产葡萄酒,但西班牙使团负责在 1700 年代将葡萄藤带到加利福尼亚,这是美国葡萄酒工业的开端。到 1805 年,他们建立了索诺玛的第一家酿酒厂。由于淘金热和欧洲的根瘤蚜问题,加利福尼亚的葡萄酒产业在 1800 年代飞速发展。根瘤蚜是 吃葡萄根的微小虫子。所以几十年来,欧洲无法生产葡萄酒。 葡萄酒销量在 1990 年代再次飙升,因为精酿啤酒正在接管酒类市场,而葡萄酒行业想要竞争。在那之前,您在餐厅的葡萄酒选择只是勃艮第、夏布利或桃红葡萄酒,但在 1990 年代,餐厅的菜单上提供多达 100 瓶葡萄酒。  

 

 

关于葡萄酒的头等大事

没有人知道葡萄酒是什么时候发明的。  

 

葡萄酒是由发酵的水果制成的。最受欢迎的水果是葡萄。  

 

尽管世界上有 10,000 多种葡萄品种,但用于商业葡萄酒的只有大约 300 种。  

 

所有葡萄的汁液都很清澈。赋予它颜色的是皮肤。  

 

法国和美国是最大的葡萄酒生产国,美国所有五十个州都生产葡萄酒。  

 

称谓 指(地理上)葡萄生长的地方。  

 

优质的 表示葡萄的收获年份。  

 

酿造一瓶葡萄酒大约需要600颗葡萄,而一瓶香槟有5000万个气泡。  

 

在感恩节,美国人喝的酒比一年中的任何一天都多。  

 

最受欢迎的用葡萄酒调制的鸡尾酒包括 French 75、桑格利亚汽酒、香槟鸡尾酒、Wine Spritzer、Kir、Kir Royale、Mulled Wine、Americano、Martini 和 Manhattan。  

 

 

葡萄酒的种类

红酒

红葡萄酒是由黑葡萄制成的。黑葡萄呈红蓝色。生产过程中使用葡萄皮。为了酿造像桃红葡萄酒和白仙粉黛这样的粉红色葡萄酒,将果皮保留一段时间然后丢弃。流行的商业红葡萄是赤霞珠、梅洛、黑比诺、仙粉黛和博若莱。  

 

白酒

白葡萄酒是由呈浅绿色的葡萄制成的。如果不使用葡萄皮,也可以用黑葡萄酿制白葡萄酒。流行的商业白葡萄是霞多丽、灰比诺、雷司令和长相思。  

 

加强酒

“强化”是指在葡萄酒中添加了糖、白兰地、香草或植物成分等成分。这些包括雪利酒、波特酒、马德拉酒和苦艾酒。前三种通常被称为甜点酒。  

 

起泡酒

起泡酒是用于庆祝婚礼、生日和纪念日等场合的头号酒精饮料就像便利贴、强力胶和青霉素一样,起泡酒是偶然的结果。  

 

法国北部(香槟区)的生长季节很短,在冬季,酒瓶内的发酵会停止。春天来了,气温回升,发酵又开始了,酒瓶都要爆了。一位名叫唐·培里侬 (Dom Pérignon) 的法国本笃会修道士度过了他成年后的大部分时间——直到他于 1715 年去世——试图找出阻止泡沫的方法。  

 

到 1800 年代初,凯歌(由女性经营)通过使用更厚的瓶子、更好的软木塞和谜语(找出瓶底的情绪)解决了很多香槟问题。意大利、西班牙、美国等国家。此后开始在他们的起泡酒标签上加上“香槟”这个词,这引发了香槟大战。 1919 年通过的法律规定,只有在法国香槟地区生产的香槟才能在其标签上使用“香槟”一词。今天,意大利将其起泡酒标记为“prosecco”;西班牙将其标记为卡瓦酒,而美国则仅使用“起泡酒”一词。

 

 

要知道的酒词

混合

混合了不同的葡萄酒。  

 

身体

葡萄酒的重量和丰满度,当您将其放入口中时,您可以辨别出来。  

 

波尔多

法国西南部地区被认为是世界上最好的葡萄酒产区之一。  

 

布鲁特

法语为“干”。  

 

半秒

法语术语意为“半干”。  

 

结束

喝完酒后嘴里的味道。  

 

亚硫酸盐

葡萄酒发酵过程的天然副产品。  

 

单宁

葡萄皮中含有单宁,口感干涩或涩,像一杯浓茶。  

 

品种

酿造葡萄酒的主要葡萄。

 

优质的

葡萄收获的年份。  

 

 

有趣的葡萄酒事实

香槟有八瓶尺寸。最大的称为尼布甲尼撒,相当于二十个标准的 750 毫升瓶。  

 

1863 年,法国化学家安吉洛·马里亚尼 (Angelo Mariani) 将三种古柯叶注入波尔多葡萄酒的瓶中,并将其命名为 Vin Tonique Mariani。两盎司含有十二毫克可卡因。它在技术上作为一种药物出售,可以作为食欲抑制剂、胃兴奋剂和帮助治疗抑郁症。在教皇圣庇护十世和教皇利奥十三世认可后,它获得了梵蒂冈金牌。此外,据信有超过 7,000 份由医生撰写的背书。 1884年,佐治亚州亚特兰大的约翰彭伯顿用可乐提取物和苏打水代替了葡萄酒,可口可乐诞生了。  

 

在美国禁酒令期间,出售浓缩葡萄汁时附有如何不让它发酵的说明——基本上是告诉消费者如何在家酿造葡萄酒。  

 

詹姆斯邦德可能以伏特加马提尼酒而闻名,但在小说和电影中,他喝香槟比任何酒都多。  

 

如果酒瓶用真正的软木塞塞住,则将瓶子侧放,以免软木塞变干。  

 

打开一瓶香槟时要小心,切勿将软木塞指向人或易碎物体,因为软木塞会以 100 英里/小时的速度流出。  

 

马德拉岛在威廉·莎士比亚的戏剧《亨利四世》第一部分中被提及,当时福斯塔夫被指控用自己的灵魂换取鸡腿和马德拉岛的圣杯。  

 

2004 年,热门独立电影 Sideways 让调酒师每晚吐出一百次黑比诺的舌头。  

 

在 11 月的第三周,您可以通过与全球兄弟姐妹同时喝同样的酒来消耗与世界的团结感。它被称为“博若莱新酒时代!” Beaujolais Nouveau (BOH -zoh- LAY NO -voo ) 在收获后 6 到 8 周装瓶,并在一周内销往世界各地。这样就有机会分享经验。喝酒时仰望月亮,你将同时分享两种体验。  

 

 

世界上最大的酒瓶是亚利桑那州图森市 Boondocks 酒廊的标志。

Wine

Public Domain painting by Jan Steen 1600s

In 2007, UCLA archaeologists found what appears to be a winery located in an Armenian cave that dates back to 4100 BCE. It contained grapevine remnants, drinking vessels, a wine press, and pottery jars for storage. 

However, no one knows when wine was first invented. Many researchers think that it dates back to 6000 BCE. Art, archaeological digs, and writings show us that many civilizations used wine in ceremonies, religion, special occasions, medicinally, and in the home. 

 

In the 1500s, Wine production was attempted in Florida, Virginia, and Canada in the 1600s, but Spanish missions are responsible for bringing grapevines to California in the 1700s, which was the beginning of America’s wine industry. By 1805, they established Sonoma’s first winery. The Californian wine industry skyrocketed in the 1800s due to the Gold Rush and Europe’s phylloxera problem. Phylloxera is microscopic bugs that eat grapevine roots. So for many decades, Europe could not produce wine. Wine sales spiked again in the 1990s because craft microbrews were taking over the alcohol market and the wine industry wanted to compete. Up until then, your wine choices at a restaurant were simply Burgundy, Chablis, or rosé, but in the 1990s restaurants were offering up to one hundred bottles of wine on their menus. 

 

 

Top Things About Wine

No one knows when wine was first invented. 

 

Wine is made from fermented fruit. The most popular fruit used is grapes. 

 

Even though there are over 10,000 varieties of grapes in the world, only around 300 are used for commercial wine. 

 

Juice from all grapes is clear. It’s the skins that give it color. 

 

France and America are the top producers of wine, and all fifty U.S. states make wine. 

 

Appellation means where (geographically) the grapes were grown. 

 

Vintage means what year the grapes were harvested. 

 

It takes about 600 grapes to make a bottle of wine, and there are 50 million bubbles in a bottle of champagne. 

 

On Thanksgiving, Americans drink more wine than on any other day of the year. 

 

The most popular cocktails made with wine include French 75, Sangria, Champagne Cocktail, Wine Spritzer, Kir, Kir Royale, Mulled Wine, Americano, Martini, and Manhattan. 

 

 

Types Of Wine

Red Wine

Red wine is made from black grapes. Black grapes have a reddish-bluish color. The grape skins are used during production. To make pink-colored wines like rosé and white Zinfandel, the skins are left on for a little bit then discarded. Popular commercial red grapes are Cabernet, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Zinfandel, and Beaujolais. 

 

White Wine

White wine is made from grapes that appear light green. White wine can also be made from black grapes if the skins aren’t used. Popular commercial white grapes are Chardonnay, Pinot Grigio, Riesling, and Sauvignon Blanc. 

 

Fortified Wine

“Fortified” means ingredients such as sugar, brandy, herbs, or botanicals have been added to the wine. These include sherry, port, Madeira, and vermouths. The first three are often referred to as dessert wines. 

 

Sparkling Wine

Sparkling wine is the number-one alcoholic beverage used to celebrate occasions such as weddings, birthdays, and anniversaries. Just like Post-it notes, Super Glue, and penicillin, sparkling wine is a result of a happy accident. 

 

Northern France (Champagne region) has a short growing season, and during the winter, fermentation would stop inside the wine bottles. As spring approached, the temperature rose, fermentation started again, and the bottles of wine would burst. A French Bénédictine monk named Dom Pérignon spent most of his adult life—until he died in 1715—trying to figure out a way to stop the bubbles. 

 

By the early 1800s, the House of Veuve Clicquot (which was run by a woman) worked out a lot of champagne’s issues by using thicker bottles, better corks, and riddling (getting out the sentiment in the bottom of the bottle). Countries such as Italy, Spain, and the United States. thereafter began putting the word “champagne” on their sparkling wine labels, which sparked the Champagne Wars. In 1919, laws were passed mandating that only champagne produced in the Champagne region of France could use the word “champagne” on its label. Today, Italy labels its sparkling wine as “prosecco”; Spain labels it as cava, and the United States just uses the term “sparkling wine.”

 

 

Wine Words To Know

Blend

A blend of different wines. 

 

Body

Weight and fullness of a wine, which you can discern when you have it in your mouth. 

 

Bordeaux

The area in Southwest France that is considered one of the best wine-producing regions in the world. 

 

Brut

French for “dry.” 

 

Demi-sec

French term meaning “half dry.” 

 

Finish

The taste in your mouth after swallowing wine. 

 

Sulfites

A natural by-product of the wine fermentation process. 

 

Tannin

Grape skins contain tannins, and the taste is dry or astringent like a strong cup of tea. 

 

Varietal

The main grape the wine is made from.

 

Vintage

The year the grapes were harvested. 

 

 

Fun Wine Facts

Champagne comes in eight bottle sizes. The largest is called Nebuchadnezzar and is equal to twenty standard 750 ml bottles. 

 

In 1863, French chemist Angelo Mariani infused Bordeaux wine with three types of coca leaves in the bottle and called it Vin Tonique Mariani. Two ounces contained twelve milligrams of cocaine. It was technically sold as a medicine that worked as an appetite suppressant, stomach stimulant, and helped with depression. It won a Vatican Gold Medal after Pope Saint Pius X and Pope Leo XIII endorsed it. In addition, it is believed that there were over 7,000 endorsements written by physicians. In 1884, John Pemberton from Atlanta, Georgia, replaced the wine with cola extract and soda and Coca-Cola was born. 

 

During the American Prohibition, grape juice concentrate was sold with instructions for how not to let it ferment—basically, telling consumers how to make wine at home. 

 

James Bond may be known for Vodka Martinis, but in the novels and films, he drinks Champagne more than any alcohol. 

 

If a wine bottle is corked with real cork, then store the bottle on its side so the cork does not dry out. 

 

Be careful when opening a bottle of champagne and never point the cork at a person or a brea.k.a.ble object, because the cork can come out at 100 mph. 

 

Madeira is mentioned in William Shakespeare’s play Henry IV, Part One when Falstaff is accused of trading his soul for a chicken leg and a chalice of Madeira. 

 

In 2004, the hit independent film Sideways had bartenders’ tongues turning sideways saying Pinot Noir one hundred times a night. 

 

Every third week in November, you can consume a sense of unity with the world by drinking the same wine—at the same time—with your global brothers and sisters. It is called “It’s Beaujolais Nouveau Time!” Beaujolais Nouveau (BOH-zoh-LAY NO-voo) is bottled six to eight weeks after harvest and is distributed around the world within a week. This allows the opportunity to share the experience. Look up at the moon while drinking and you will share two experiences at the same time. 

 

 

The world’s largest wine bottle is the sign for the Boondocks Lounge in Tucson, Arizona.

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle