美国的酒精历史

勋章内阁 [公共领域],来自 Wikimedia Commons

据我们所知,啤酒最早出现在公元前 8000 年,葡萄酒出现在公元前 6000 年,烈酒出现在 1192 年。然而,人们相信它们已经在很多年前被消费了。药用酒精蒸馏在公元 900 年首次被发现,第一个已知的可消耗蒸馏酒词是“aqua vitae”(AH-qua VEE-tee 或有时发音为 VEE- ti ),从拉丁语翻译为“生命之水”。 ” Arnaud de Ville-Neuve 在用蒸馏器蒸馏葡萄酒后于 1310 年创造了这个词。法语翻译是eau-de-vie (o-duh-VEE)。

根据著名的酒精和鸡尾酒历史学家 Anistatia Miller 和 Jared Brown 的说法,33 岁的法国探险家和传教士 William de Rubruquis,又名鲁布鲁克的威廉 (1220-1293),是第一个提到一种叫做阿拉克 (uh-架子)。 1292年,马可波罗(1254-1324) 在他的旅行回忆录Il Millione中评论了阿拉克,据记载,热那亚商人在一个世纪前将阿拉克带到了俄罗斯。 Arrack 是用红米干饼和含有酵母和其他真菌孢子的植物提取物从糖蜜和水中蒸馏出来的,这些酵母和其他真菌孢子会触发发酵过程。它是在巴达维亚的爪哇岛生产的,这种技术可以追溯到几千年前的中国——甚至早于蒸馏的诞生。该岛在历史上经历了多次更名,但今天被命名为雅加达(或雅加达),位于印度尼西亚。多年来,蒸馏酒伏特加、杜松子酒、威士忌(e)y、朗姆酒、龙舌兰酒和利口酒逐渐出现在商业上。

关于酒精的最重要的事情

人类已知的第一种酒精是啤酒,然后是葡萄酒,然后是烈酒。

 

有几种类型的酒精,但乙醇(乙醇)是唯一可饮用的一种。

 

蒸馏酒首先被用作药物。最初的蒸馏工作是用于油和香水。

 

伏特加、杜松子酒和朗姆酒可以在世界任何地方生产。但是,龙舌兰酒必须在墨西哥生产,苏格兰威士忌,爱尔兰威士忌,加拿大威士忌,美国波旁威士忌(等等),秘鲁和智利的皮斯科酒,巴西的卡恰萨酒。

 

一杯 12 盎司的啤酒的酒精含量相当于一杯 5 盎司的葡萄酒和 1 盎司半的烈酒。

 

谷物制造威士忌和啤酒;水果酿造葡萄酒和白兰地;法国干邑地区种植的葡萄酿造干邑;法国香槟产区的葡萄酿制香槟;蜂蜜酿蜜酒;甘蔗酿朗姆酒;龙舌兰制作龙舌兰酒;巴西甘蔗酿制cachaça;智利和秘鲁酿酒过程中丢弃的剩菜制成皮斯科酒;任何东西都可以制作伏特加。

 

当你喝酒时,它会通过你的胃壁和小肠进入血液。然后你的血液将酒精带到你的大脑,然后肝脏从你的血液中过滤掉酒精。

 

蒸馏的发现提供了方便、便携和保存。人们不再需要担心变质(比如啤酒和葡萄酒),带着一瓶白兰地——或波特酒、雪利酒和马德拉酒——旅行比拖着一桶酒要容易得多。

 

大多数烈酒的范围在 80 度左右(40 % )。酒精证明的最高法定限制是 190(95 % ),但谁愿意喝这个还有待商榷。

 

当今世界上最受欢迎的酒精鸡尾酒包括马提尼、玛格丽塔、莫吉托、曼哈顿、老式、代基里酒、血腥玛丽、薄荷朱利酒、Piña Colada、Cosmopolitan、威士忌酸、Sazerac、Tom Collins、Caipirinha 和 Negroni。

马可波罗和他的旅行的公共领域绘画。[CC BY-SA 2.5 来自维基共享资源]

1563px-Early_writing_tablet_recording_th

BabelStone 的古代啤酒配方平板电脑 [CC BY-SA 3.0 维基共享资源]

古老的油和香水仍然。公共区域 通过维基共享资源

CMOC_Treasures_of_Ancient_China_exhibit_

古代酿酒平板 由总编辑 [CC BY-SA 2.5 来自维基共享资源]

1600px-Marco_Polo_traveling.JPG

马可波罗和他的旅行的公共领域绘画。

PSM_V51_D392_Ancient_still_for_extractio

到美国的酒精时间表

776

三十九岁时,波斯炼金术士和化学家 Al Jabir (Abu Musa Jabir ibn Hayyan) 发明了 al-ambiq 仍然作为他实验室设备的一部分。

 

830

穆斯林阿拉伯哲学家、医生和博学家 Al-Kindi (801–873)从蒸馏器中蒸馏出一种可消化的长生不老药。

 

900

波斯博学家、哲学家和医生 Al-Razi (854–925) 在他的医学实验中发现了许多化合物和化学物质,其中之一就是酒精。

 

1000

摩尔人(大量阿拉伯人、北非柏柏尔人和穆斯林欧洲人的名字)在法国和西班牙引入蒸馏蒸馏法。

 

1144

切斯特的英国人和阿拉伯语翻译罗伯特将来自 Al-Jabir、Al-Kindi 和 Al-Razi 的书面蒸馏作品从阿拉伯文翻译成拉丁文。

 

1192
热那亚商人将一种叫做阿拉克的印度精神带到了俄罗斯。

 

1250

德国修道士和天主教主教阿尔贝图斯马格努斯(也被称为圣阿尔伯特大帝)记录了他制作生命之水的实验。

 

1253

法国国王路易九世派遣威廉·德·鲁布鲁基斯(William de Rubruquis)将鞑靼人转变为基督教。在旅途中,他成为第一个提到 koumis(蒸馏母马奶)和 Arrack 的欧洲旅行者。

 

1269

德国诗人 Jacob van Maerlant 在他的一生中出版了 20 本书,Der Naturen Bloeme 提到了基于杜松的补品和药物。

 

1280

英国哲学家和方济各会修士罗杰培根将拉齐的蒸馏过程翻译成拉丁文。

 

1292

威尼斯商人马可波罗从北京回到意大利的途中,发现了一种原产于印度尼西亚萨马拉的烈酒,叫做“阿拉克”,它是用棕榈糖汁制成的。他在《马可波罗游记》第二卷(意大利语为 II Milione)中记录了这种精神。

 

1297

哲学家兼作家 Ramon Llull 向英国国王爱德华二世解释蒸馏的秘密。

 

1310

医师 Arnaud de Ville-Neuve 用蒸馏器蒸馏葡萄酒,并创造了“aqua vitae”一词。

 

1320

2008 年, 《奥索里红皮书》 (出版于 1320 年)成为第一本在爱尔兰都柏林的 RCB 图书馆进行数字化的书籍——书中记录了水生经历。

 

1404

波兰的桑多梅日法院登记处提到了一种在整个波兰生产的以谷物为基础的水生生物。  

 

1411

Armagnac 在法国全面投入生产。

 

1414

Armagnac 在法国 Saint-Sever 注册为商业产品。

 

1426

杰诺斯商人经过俄罗斯,给莫斯科大公瓦西里·瓦西里耶维奇(被称为盲人瓦西里二世)一瓶他们的酒。人们相信,在几年内,修道院被命令生产一种名为面包酒的谷物版本。

 

1455

出生于奥地利并在维也纳接受过培训的医生迈克尔·普夫·冯·施里克 (Michael Puff von Schrick) 撰写了一本非常有用的蒸馏书,其中描述了八十二种草药酒。 1466 年印刷出版。尽管施里克于 1473 年去世,这本书从 1476 年到 1601 年经历了 38 个版本。

 

1478

Arnaud de Ville-Neuve 的Liber de Vinis (“葡萄酒之书”)被翻译成英文、印刷并出版。这本书充满了如何使用草药、香料、金属化合物、糖浆和调味烈酒制作治疗性葡萄酒的食谱。

 

1493

纽伦堡的一位德国医生写到 kirshwasser 是一种由黑森林莫雷罗樱桃制成的樱桃淡香水:“鉴于目前每个人都养成了饮用生命之水的习惯,因此有必要记住如果一个人想表现得像个绅士,就可以允许自己喝酒,并根据自己的能力学会喝酒。”

 

1495

第一次提到苏格兰威士忌是从 6 月 1 日在苏格兰国库卷中的条目(会计记录)。条目上写着:“奉詹姆斯四世国王的命令,致约翰·科尔修士,制造生命之水 VIII 麦芽。”四年后,大司库勋爵的账目上记录了付款:“去给邓迪国王带来生命之水的理发店。

 

1500

德国外科医生和炼金术士 Hieronymous Brunschwig出版Liber de Arte distillandi : Das buch der rechten 昆斯特 distillieren (“蒸馏艺术之书”)在斯特拉斯堡。这是一本开创性的书,启发了许多荷兰酿酒厂开始用麦芽谷物生产brandewijn(烧酒)。

 

1501

其他人也尝试过,包括克里斯托弗·哥伦布,但佩德罗·德·阿蒂恩扎是第一个成功地将甘蔗幼苗进口到伊斯帕尼奥拉岛的人。四年后,他收获了第一批庄稼。

 

1505

苏格兰国王詹姆斯四世授予外科医生和理发师公会的垄断权,以生产生鱼片。

 

1510

本笃会修士 Dom Bernardo Vincelli 创建了一个 费康修道院的草本生命之水。 DOM Bénédictine 至今仍在销售,并用于流行的鸡尾酒,如新加坡司令鸡尾酒、Vieux Carré 和 Bobby Burns。

 

1514

在他去世前一年,法国国王路易十二授权醋生产商蒸馏生命之水。

 

1531

在墨西哥的 Santiago de Tequila,西班牙定居者建造了 alquitaras (蒸馏器)并蒸馏pulque——一种由龙舌兰植物制成的当地发酵饮料。他们称结果为 mexcalli (mezcal)。

 

1533

Martim Afonso de Sousa 和四位合伙人开了三间糖果店,他们把甘蔗酒酿成 aguardiente de caña(甘蔗 eau-de-vie)——后来被称为 cachaça。

 

十四岁的意大利人卡特琳娜·德·美第奇嫁给了十四岁的亨利,他是法国国王弗朗西斯一世的次子。她带来了几瓶托斯卡纳 Liquore Mediceo、Fraticello 和 Elixir Stomatico di Lunga Vita,这些都是由佛罗伦萨周围山区的僧侣制作的。

 

1534

波兰药剂师 Stefan Falimirz 出版了插图华丽的医学治疗书O Ziolach / O Mocy Ich (“论草药及其效力”),这是最早记录“伏特加”一词的人之一,并详细介绍了 70 多种伏特加的制备过程。基于药物。

 

1537

法国国王弗朗西斯一世授予批发杂货商生产生命之水的许可证。

 

1538

秘鲁的西班牙定居者开始收获和出口葡萄酒,不合适的收获被赠送给生产我们今天所知的皮斯科酒的农民。

 

1552

Constelijck Distiller Boek一书中,Philippus Hermanni 提到了一种注入杜松的生命之水。

 

1575

Lucas Bulsius 搬到阿姆斯特丹并建立了自己的酿酒厂。他将自己的姓氏更改为 Bols 并开始制作 jenever。 25 年后,博尔斯成为强大的荷兰东印度公司的核心圈子十七绅士的首选供应商,这意味着他获得了草药和香料货物的优先权,这给了他一个优势。

 

1598

西班牙定居者开始从糖蜜中提炼 aguardiente de caña(朗姆酒)。

 

1620

朝圣者乘坐五月花号将白兰地和杜松子酒带到美国。 1657 年,他们开始从加勒比地区进口糖蜜,在波士顿开设了第一家美国酿酒厂。此外,到 1664 年,他们在纽约市建立了第二家朗姆酒酿酒厂。  

 

 

有趣的酒精事实

蒸馏酒的俚语包括“aqua vitae”、“ardent spirits”、“belt”、“booze”、“firewater”、“giggle juice”、“grog”、“hard stuff”、“hooch”(指的是自制)、“约翰·巴利康”、“液体勇气”、“月光”(由月光制成)、“睡帽”、“酱汁”、“鼻息”、“泔水”、“嗖嗖”、“酒杯” “托迪”和托特。

 

在英国,儿童从 6 岁起在家里与父母一起喝酒是合法的。如果有父母陪同,他们可以在酒吧里,16 岁时,他们可以和父母在酒吧里喝啤酒或葡萄酒。

 

费城独立厅的首席历史学家大卫·金博尔博士于 1985 年在城市酒馆为乔治华盛顿发现了一个 1787 年的告别派对酒吧标签。酒吧标签显示,55 名与会者喝了 60 瓶红葡萄酒,54 瓶马德拉,八瓶威士忌,二十二瓶波特酒,八瓶苹果酒,十二瓶啤酒和七碗酒精饮料。

 

根据维基百科,世界上饮酒最多的国家是白俄罗斯共和国,与俄罗斯、波兰、乌克兰、拉脱维亚和立陶宛接壤。喝烈酒最多的国家是海地。

 

世界上最年轻的饮酒年龄是十六岁,最年长的是二十五岁。饮酒年龄为 16 岁的国家有 23 个(其中包括古巴和瑞士),印度有 7 个州的饮酒年龄为 25 岁。酒精在十三个国家是非法的。

 

在圣基茨岛上研究了黑长尾猴的饮酒习惯(猴子从晒日光浴的游客那里偷饮料)。他们了解到,猴子的饮酒行为与人类相似:滴酒不沾、社交饮酒者(大多数只与其他猴子一起饮酒)、经常饮酒者和酗酒者,这些饮酒者会使自己陷入昏迷或死亡。

 

内布拉斯加州怀特克莱有 14 名人口。他们还有四家酒类商店,每年的啤酒销售额为 300 万美元(他们旁边的县是干涸的)。

 

在花花公子俱乐部工作的所有花花公子兔子都必须知道 143 个品牌的酒。

 

用您选择的纯伏特加、杜松子酒、朗姆酒、龙舌兰酒或威士忌,在冰箱中制作您自己的灵活冰袋。只需将一杯水和一杯烈酒倒入冷冻塑料袋中,挤出空气,然后密封。把那个袋子密封到另一个袋子里,然后放在冰箱里。由于烈酒不会凝固,它会产生一种灵活的、泥泞的稠度。

 

寻找精神的证据可以追溯到 1500 年代。他们发现,如果你在烈酒中浸泡一粒火药并且火药仍然可以燃烧,那么烈酒的评级就超过了证明。在 1800 年代,火药测试被比重测试所取代。

法国国王路易九世 / 公共领域 [CC BY-SA 2.5 来自维基共享资源]

古老的油和香水仍然。公共区域 通过维基共享资源

Woman_distilling_Wellcome_L0043958.jpg

一个努力工作的女人蒸馏。 惠康图片 公共区域 通过维基共享资源

EXV2_D417_Distilling_arrack_in_a_Tatar_y

在鞑靼人的蒙古包里蒸馏酒。多伦多大学 [公共领域],通过维基共享资源

Saint_Louis_IX_by_El_Greco.jpg

法国国王路易九世 / 公共领域 [CC BY-SA 2.5 来自维基共享资源]

Titulyarnik_-_Vasily_Vasiliyevich.jpg

莫斯科大公瓦西里·瓦西里耶维奇/公共领域],来自维基共享资源

Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 1.29.37 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 1.35.10 AM.png
Falimirz_O_ziołach_BUAM.JPG

MOs810   / Stefan Falimirz - “O ziołach imocy ich”——第一个波兰植物标本馆,1534 /来自维基共享资源]

KatharinavonMedici.jpg

Alcohol History to America

Cabinet des Médailles [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

As far as we know, beer was first made in 8000 BCE, wine in 6000 BCE, and spirits for consumption in 1192. However, they are believed to have been consumed many years before. Medicinal alcohol distillation was first discovered in 900 CE, and the first known word for a consumable distilled spirit was “aqua vitae” (AH-qua VEE-tee or sometimes pronounced VEE-ti), which translates from Latin to “water of life.” Arnaud de Ville-Neuve coined the word in 1310 after he distilled wine with an alembic still. The French translation is eau-de-vie (o-duh-VEE).

According to esteemed alcohol and cocktail historians Anistatia Miller and Jared Brown, thirty-three-year-old French explorer and missionary William de Rubruquis, aka William of Rubruck (1220–1293), was the first to mention a spirit called arrack (uh-RACK). In 1292, Marco Polo (1254-1324) commented about arrack in his travel memoir Il Millione, and it is recorded that Genoese merchants brought arrack to Russia a century before. Arrack is distilled from molasses and water using dried cakes of red rice and botanicals containing yeast and other fungi spores that trigger the fermentation process. It was produced on the island of Java, Batavia, and the technique can be traced back thousands of years to China—and even predates the birth of distillation. The island went through many name changes throughout history, but today is named Jakarta (or Djakarta) and is located in Indonesia. Slowly through the years the distilled spirits vodka, gin, whisk(e)y, rum, tequila, and liqueurs each made a commercial appearance.

The Top Things to Know about Alcohol

The first alcohol known to humankind is beer, then wine, and then spirits.

 

There are several types of alcohol, but ethyl alcohol (ethanol) is the only potable one.

 

Distilled spirits were first used as medicine. The first distilling efforts were for oils and perfumes.

 

Vodka, gin, and rum are allowed to be produced anywhere in the world. However, tequila must be produced in Mexico, Scotch whisky in Scotland, Irish whiskey in Ireland, Canadian whisky in Canada, Bourbon in America (and so on with the whiskeys), pisco in Peru and Chile, and cachaça in Brazil.

 

One twelve-ounce beer has as much alcohol as a five-ounce glass of wine and one-and-a-half ounces of a spirit.

 

Grain makes whisky and beer; fruit makes wine and brandy; grapes grown in the Cognac region of France makes Cognac; grapes grown in the Champagne region of France makes Champagne; honey makes mead; sugarcane makes rum; agave makes tequila; Brazilian sugarcane makes cachaça; the discarded leftovers from Chilean and Peruvian winemaking makes pisco; and anything can make vodka.

 

When you take a drink of alcohol, it passes through the walls of your stomach and small intestine into the bloodstream. Your blood then takes the alcohol to your brain, and then the liver filters out the alcohol from your blood.

 

The discovery of distillation provided convenience, portability, and preservation. No longer did one need to worry about spoilage (like with beer and wine), and traveling with a bottle of brandy—or port, sherry, and Madeira—was much easier than lugging a barrel of it.

 

Most spirits range around 80 proof (40 percent). The highest legal limit for spirit proof is 190 (95 percent), but who would want to drink that is up for debate.

 

The most popular alcoholic cocktails in the world today include Martini, Margarita, Mojito, Manhattan, Old-Fashioned, Daiquiri, Bloody Mary, Mint Julep, Piña Colada, Cosmopolitan, Whiskey Sour, Sazerac, Tom Collins, Caipirinha, and Negroni.

Public Domain painting of Marco Polo and his travels.[CC BY-SA 2.5 from Wikimedia Commons]

Ancient Beer Recipe tablet by BabelStone [CC BY-SA 3.0 Wikimedia Commons]

Ancient oil and perfume still. Public domain via Wikimedia Commons

Ancient Wine Making tablet By Editor at Large [CC BY-SA 2.5 from Wikimedia Commons]

Public Domain painting of Marco Polo and his travels.

Alcohol Timeline to America

776

At age thirty-nine, Persian alchemist and chemist Al Jabir (Abu Musa Jabir ibn Hayyan) invents the al-ambiq still as part of his laboratory equipment.

 

830

Muslim Arab philosopher, physician, and polymath Al-Kindi (801–873) distills a digestible elixir from an alembic still.

 

900

Persian polymath, philosopher, and physician Al-Razi (854–925) discovers many compounds and chemicals in his medicinal experimentations—and one of them is alcohol.

 

1000

The Moors (the name given to a large population of Arabs, Berber North Africans, and Muslim Europeans) introduce alembic distillation methods in France and Spain.

 

1144

Englishman and Arabic translator Robert of Chester translates the written works of distillation from Al-Jabir, Al-Kindi, and Al-Razi from Arab to Latin.

 

1192
Genoese merchants bring an India spirit called arrack to Russia.

 

1250

German friar and Catholic bishop Albertus Magnus (also known as Saint Albert the Great) documents his experiments in making aqua vitae.

 

1253

King Louis IX of France sends William de Rubruquis to convert the Tartars to Christianity. During his journey, he becomes the first European traveler to mention koumis (distilled female horse milk) and arrack.

 

1269

German poet Jacob van Maerlant publishes twenty books in his lifetime and Der Naturen Bloeme mentions juniper-based tonics and medicines.

 

1280

English philosopher and Franciscan friar Roger Bacon translates Al-Razi’s distillation process into Latin.

 

1292

While traveling home from Beijing to Italy, Venetian merchant Marco Polo discovers a spirit indigenous to Samara in Indonesia called “arrack,” which is made with sugar palm juice. He records the spirit in the second volume of The Travels of Marco Polo (II Milione in Italian).

 

1297

Philosopher and writer Ramon Llull explains the secrets of distillation to Britain’s King Edward II.

 

1310

Physician Arnaud de Ville-Neuve distills wine with an alembic still and coins the term “aqua vitae.”

 

1320

In 2008, The Red Book of Ossory (published in 1320) becomes the first book to be digitalized at the RCB Library in Dublin, Ireland—aqua vitae is documented in the book.

 

1404

A grain-based aqua vitae that is produced throughout Poland is mentioned in Poland’s Sandomierz Court Registry. 

 

1411

Armagnac goes into full-scale production in France.

 

1414

Armagnac is registered as a commercial product in Saint-Sever, France.

 

1426

Geneose merchants pass through Russia and give Vasily Vasiliyevich, the Grand Prince of Moscow (known as Vasily II the Blind) a bottle of their arrack. It’s believed that within a few years, monasteries are ordered to produce a grain-based version called bread wine.

 

1455

Austrian-born and Viennese-trained physician Michael Puff von Schrick writes A Very Useful Book on Distillations, which describes eighty-two herbal liquors. In 1466, it is printed and published. Even though Schrick dies in 1473, the book goes through thirty-eight editions from 1476–1601.

 

1478

Arnaud de Ville-Neuve’s Liber de Vinis (“Book of Wines”) is translated into English, printed, and published. The book is filled with recipes on how to make therapeutic wine using herbs, spices, metal compounds, syrups, and flavored spirits.

 

1493

A German physician in Nuremburg writes about kirshwasser, a cherry eau-de-vie made from Black Forest morello cherries: “In view of the fact that everyone at present has got into the habit of drinking aqua vitae it is necessary to remember the quantity that one can permit oneself to drink and learn to drink it according to one’s capacities, if one wishes to behave like a gentleman.”

 

1495

The first recorded mention of Scotch whisky is from a June 1 entry in the Exchequer Rolls of Scotland (accounting records). The entry says, “To Friar John Cor, by order of the King James IV, to make aqua vitae VIII bolls of malt.” Four years later, the Lord High Treasurer’s account recorded payment: “To the barbour that brought aqua vitae to the King in Dundee.”

 

1500

German surgeon and alchemist Hieronymous Brunschwig publishes Liber de arte distillandi: Das buch der rechten kunst zu distillieren (“The Book of the Art of Distillation”) in Strasbourg. It is a groundbreaking book that inspires numerous Holland distilling houses to begin producing brandewijn (burnt wine) from malted grain.

 

1501

Others had tried, including Christopher Columbus, but Pedro de Atienza is the first to successfully import sugarcane seedlings to Hispaniola. He harvests his first crop four years later.

 

1505

Scotland’s King James IV grants a monopoly to the Guild of Surgeons and Barbers to produce aqua vitae.

 

1510

Bénédictine monk Dom Bernardo Vincelli creates a herbal eau-de-vie at the Abbey of Fecamp. DOM Bénédictine is still sold today and used in popular cocktails such as the Singapore Sling, Vieux Carré, and Bobby Burns.

 

1514

One year before he dies, King Louis XII of France licenses vinegar producers to distill eau-de-vie.

 

1531

In Santiago de Tequila, Mexico, Spanish settlers construct alquitaras (stills) and distill pulque—a local fermented beverage made from the agave plant. They call the result mexcalli (mezcal).

 

1533

Martim Afonso de Sousa and four partners set up three confectioneries and they make a sugarcane wine into aguardiente de caña (sugarcane eau-de-vie)—which is later known as cachaça.

 

Fourteen-year-old Italian Caterina de’ Medici marries fourteen-year-old Henry, the second son of King Francis I of France. She brings bottles of Tuscany Liquore Mediceo, Fraticello, and Elixir Stomatico di Lunga Vita, which are made by monks in the mountains surrounding Florence.

 

1534

Polish pharmacist Stefan Falimirz publishes the lavishly illustrated book of medical treatments O Ziolach / O Mocy Ich (“On Herbs and Their Potency”), which is one of the first to document the word “vodka” and details the preparation of over seventy vodka-based medicines.

 

1537

King Francis I of France grants wholesale grocers a license to produce eau-de-vie.

 

1538

Spanish settlers in Peru begin to harvest and export wine, and the non-suitable harvests are given away to farmers who make what we know of today as pisco.

 

1552

In the book Constelijck Distilleer Boek, Philippus Hermanni refers to a juniper-infused eau-de-vie.

 

1575

Lucas Bulsius moves to Amsterdam and sets up his own distillery. He changes his family name to Bols and begins making jenever. Twenty-five years later, Bols becomes a preferred supplier to the Seventeen Gentlemen, the inner circle of the powerful Dutch East India Company, which means he gets first rights on cargos of herbs and spices, giving him an advantage.

 

1598

Spanish settlers begin distilling aguardiente de caña (rum) from molasses.

 

1620

The Pilgrims bring brandy and gin with them to America on the Mayflower. In 1657, they begin to import molasses from the Caribbean to open the first American distillery in Boston. In addition, by 1664, they build a second rum distillery in New York City. 

 

 

Fun Alcohol Facts

Slang terms for distilled alcohol include “aqua vitae,” “ardent spirits,” “belt,” “booze,” “firewater,” “giggle juice,” “grog,” “hard stuff,” “hooch” (refers to it being homemade), “John Barleycorn,” “liquid courage,” “moonshine” (made by the light of the moon), “nightcap,” “sauce,” “snort,” “swill,” “swish,” “tipple,” “toddy,” and tot.

 

In the United Kingdom, it is legal for children to drink at home with their parents from age six and up. They can be in a pub if accompanied by a parent and, at age sixteen, drink beer or wine in a pub with their parents.

 

Dr. David Kimball, the lead historian at Independence Hall in Philadelphia, found a 1787 farewell party bar tab at the City Tavern for George Washington in 1985. The bar tab showed that fifty-five attendees drank sixty bottles of claret, fifty-four bottles of Madeira, eight bottles of whiskey, twenty-two bottles of porter, eight bottles of hard cider, twelve bottles of beer, and seven bowls of alcoholic punch.

 

According to Wikipedia, the country that drinks the most alcohol in the world is the Republic of Belarus, which is bordered by Russia, Poland, Ukraine, Latvia, and Lithuania. The country who drinks the most spirits is Haiti.

 

The youngest drinking age in the world is sixteen and the oldest is twenty-five. There are twenty-three countries whose drinking age is sixteen years old (a couple include Cuba and Switzerland), and there are seven states in India where the drinking age is twenty-five. Alcohol is illegal in thirteen countries.

 

The alcohol drinking habits of vervet monkeys were studied on St. Kitts island (the monkeys stole drinks from sunbathing tourists). They learned that the monkeys’ drinking behaviors were similar to humans’: teetotaler, social drinker (the majority, who only drink with other monkeys), regular drinker, and binge drinkers that will drink themselves into a coma or death.

 

Whiteclay, Nebraska, has a population of fourteen. They also have four liquor stores and their yearly beer sales are $3 million (the county next to them is dry).

 

All Playboy bunnies working at Playboy Clubs were required to know 143 brands of liquor.

 

Make your own flexible ice packs in the freezer with your choice of plain vodka, gin, rum, tequila, or whiskey. Simply pour a cup of water and a cup of spirit into a freezer plastic bag, squeeze out the air, then seal. Seal that bag into another bag, then place in the freezer. Since the spirit will not freeze solid, it will create a flexible, slushy consistency.

 

Finding the proof of a spirit dates back to the 1500s. They discovered if you soak a pellet of gunpowder in the spirit and the gunpowder could still burn, the spirits were rated above proof. In the 1800s, the gunpowder test was replaced by a specific-gravity test.

King Louis IX of France / Public Domain [CC BY-SA 2.5 from Wikimedia Commons]

Ancient oil and perfume still. Public domain via Wikimedia Commons

A woman hard at work distilling.  Wellcome Images Public domain via Wikimedia Commons

Distilling arrack in a Tatar yurt.University of Toronto [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

King Louis IX of France / Public Domain [CC BY-SA 2.5 from Wikimedia Commons]

The Grand Prince of Moscow Vasily Vasiliyevich/Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

MOs810  / Stefan Falimirz - "O ziołach imocy ich" - first polish Herbarium, 1534 /from Wikimedia Commons]

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle