装饰物

装饰物

问任何女孩,她会告诉你鸡尾酒装饰是饮料的珠宝。你能想象没有橄榄的经典马提尼酒或没有樱桃的曼哈顿吗?它只是不一样。从 1700 年代到 1990 年代后期,鸡尾酒上的装饰很简单,但是当马提尼酒吧在 1990 年代后期和 2000 年代中期在美国各地出现时,他们提供的菜单上有 100 多种风味的马提尼酒。装饰物由许多巧克力、焦糖、蜂蜜、碎糖果、碎奥利奥、椰子片、坚果、糖屑等制成的双浸边缘组成。这段时间与工艺鸡尾酒运动的开始重叠,因此鸡尾酒文化的钟摆摆动到光谱的两端。你可以把它比作 1970 年代中期和 1980 年代早期音乐产业的紧张局势,当时有两组音乐爱好者:迪斯科迷和摇滚乐迷。

 

今天,大多数带有商店购买的搅拌机和廉价酒的马提尼酒已经不复存在,而且总是有一种新的疯狂装饰,因为它很有趣。自 2010 年以来,精酿鸡尾酒文化已将其深思熟虑的优雅装饰提升到一个全新的水平。

 

鸡尾酒配菜可以是任何可食用的东西,例如水果、蔬菜、香草、香料、植物、糖果、烘焙食品、乳制品,甚至肉制品。装饰的唯一限制是你的想象力。是的,有常见的酒吧装饰,但大多数调酒师喜欢尝试新的装饰。一般来说,装饰物放在鸡尾酒的顶部,但也可以放在边缘。装饰风味应始终与鸡尾酒的风味相得益彰。 

水果装饰

橄榄被归类为水果,因为它们是由花的子房形成的。这种特殊的水果有可能被塞满。大多数都已经塞满了红甜椒。从 1990 年代后期到 2000 年代中期,伏特加马提尼酒搭配蓝纹奶酪酿橄榄风靡一时。今天,您可以自己制作酿橄榄。馅料包括您选择的奶酪、烤大蒜、意大利香肠、坚果、墨西哥胡椒、腌洋葱、意大利辣香肠或凤尾鱼。

 

常见的水果装饰

苹果、樱桃、香蕉、黑莓、蓝莓、椰子、黄瓜、葡萄、葡萄柚、柠檬、酸橙、西瓜、橄榄、橙子、菠萝、覆盆子和草莓。

 

不那么常见的水果装饰

杏、鳄梨、波森莓、蔓越莓、枣、火龙果、无花果、葡萄干、番石榴、猕猴桃、金橘、荔枝、芒果、甜瓜、油桃、血橙、橘子、木瓜、百香果、桃子、梨、李子、杨桃、和西红柿。

 

蔬菜装饰

 

常见的蔬菜装饰

芹菜、大葱、珍珠洋葱、腌豆和腌秋葵。

 

不那么常见的蔬菜装饰

甜菜、生姜和大黄。

 

香草装饰

 

普通香草装饰

罗勒、细香葱、香菜、莳萝、薰衣草、柠檬草、薄荷、迷迭香、鼠尾草和百里香。

 

不那么常见的香草装饰

琉璃苣、香菜、猫薄荷、茴香、大蒜、欧芹、牛至和龙蒿。

 

香料装饰

香料装饰物可以与盐或糖混合,然后放在玻璃杯的边缘。它们也可以撒在(或磨碎)在有泡沫的鸡尾酒上或生奶油上。有些可以以整体形式使用,例如肉桂棒和八角茴香。

 

普通香料装饰

黑胡椒、辣椒、芹菜盐、辣椒粉、丁香、肉桂、肉豆蔻、盐、八角茴香和香草豆。

 

不那么常见的香料装饰

安乔辣椒、茴香籽、月桂叶、孜然、香菜籽、结晶姜、藏红花和白胡椒。

 

植物群装饰

1957 年,酒吧传奇人物 Harry Yee 在夏威夷首次用万代兰花装饰鸡尾酒。 自 2005 年左右以来,调酒师一直在寻找美丽、无毒、可食用的植物,以用于他们的鸡尾酒中。所有常见的水果、蔬菜和草药都经过开花期,所有这些都是无毒且可以安全使用的。更重要的是要知道哪些菌群是有毒的,并且不能安全地用作鸡尾酒中的装饰物。例如,在节日期间,您可能认为一枝槲寄生将是您节日鸡尾酒的完美装饰,但槲寄生是有毒的。在使用任何有问题的植物群作为装饰之前,请务必搜索互联网。

 

无毒植物装饰

芦荟、当归、兰花、雏菊、蒲公英、洋甘菊、菊花、三叶草、桉树、勿忘我、栀子花、木槿、凤仙花、茉莉、薰衣草、丁香、玉兰、万寿菊、兰花、三色堇、牡丹、月见草、玫瑰、金鱼草、向日葵、郁金香花瓣(不是鳞茎)、紫罗兰、睡莲和百日草。

 

有毒植物装饰

天使的小号、杜鹃花、颠茄(也叫致命茄属植物)、天堂鸟、风信子、毛茛、马蹄莲、水仙花、英国常春藤、毛地黄、风信子、绣球花、鸢尾花、铃兰、招财竹、槲寄生、牵牛花、大黄叶、伯利恒之星、香豌豆、烟草、番茄叶和紫藤。

 

糖果和烘焙食品装饰

糖果和烘焙食品(如饼干)的装饰始于 1990 年代后期,当时

在此之前,最甜美的鸡尾酒装饰是糖边。因为你有这么多的配料可供选择,所以这类装饰完全取决于你的想象。这里有一些想法:冰糖棒、甘蔗棒、巧克力草莓、Tootsie Pops、幸运饼干、水平放置在玻璃边缘的甜甜圈、软糖、甘草吸管、棉花糖、Peeps,然后将饼干水平放置在轮辋,然后戳一个洞找一根稻草

 

Rimmer 装饰理念

在家为玻璃杯装边时,您只需要两个盘子。一个盘子可以装干装饰物(盐、糖、糖屑、碎饼干等) ,另一个盘子可以装湿装饰物,起到胶水的作用,这样干装饰物就可以粘在玻璃上。柠檬汁或酸橙汁可用于盐和糖,但你需要一些更粘的东西来粘碎饼干、糖屑等。一些不错的选择包括融化的巧克力和糖浆。  

 

有很多糖和盐是边缘世界的主食。对于糖,您可以使用白色、生的、棕色的和粉状的。如果你想给上色,你只需要一些食用色素和塑料储物袋。在鸡尾酒上使用盐边时,您要使用粗粗盐而不是食盐。糖和盐可以与无数的香料和香草混合,创造出一种新的风味。组合可能包括肉桂糖、辣椒糖、食用金片和糖、干香菜和盐、碎黑胡椒和盐,以及干罗勒和盐。至于压碎糖果和饼干,最好的方法是用双层塑料袋装袋,然后用木槌敲打至压碎。您可以购买调味有色的糖和盐,但您也可以在家里自己制作。

 

其他可以尝试的边缘装饰是糖屑、流行摇滚、椰子片、卡津香料、食用珍珠粉、巧克力粉、刨花巧克力和碎坚果。

 

乳制品装饰

最受欢迎的乳制品鸡尾酒装饰是生奶油。您可以通过搅打奶油和糖来制作自己的搅打奶油,或者在紧要关头,您可以在当地的杂货店买一个罐头。使用生奶油的最受欢迎的酒精饮料是热咖啡、苹果酒和巧克力饮料。他们还出售非乳制鲜奶油。

 

血腥玛丽装饰

自 1970 年代以来,血腥玛丽一直是世界上任何鸡尾酒中最可食用的配菜的赢家。从 1930 年代到 1960 年代的复古血腥玛丽广告很少显示血腥玛丽的装饰:一根芹菜茎、一根柠檬和一根柠檬和芹菜茎。橄榄在 1960 年代出现。

           

从 1970 年代到 1990 年代的血腥玛丽装饰包括盐渍边缘、卡津香料边缘、泡菜、腌豆、大葱、樱桃番茄、去皮虾、半壳牡蛎和蓝纹奶酪馅橄榄。

 

2000 年代,血腥玛丽血腥酒吧诞生了。伏特加公司与受欢迎的餐厅和酒吧接洽,提供免费标牌、菜单、输液罐,当然还有伏特加折扣。该机构将设置一张桌子,桌子上摆满了各种装饰物、辣酱和混合物供客人选择的容器。随着时间的推移,为了竞争,装饰选择变得更加疯狂——嗯,在那个时候是疯狂的。选择包括牛肉干、硬培根条、Slim Jims、带有帕尔马干酪和胡椒片边缘的比萨主题装饰物、带有肉丸的意大利面主题装饰物、使其变脏的橄榄盐水、各种奶酪块等等。

 

到 2012 年,BM 酒吧开始褪色,一种新的、夸张的血腥玛丽热潮诞生了。来自密尔沃基 Sobelman's Pub & Grill 的 Dave Sobelman 被誉为迄今为止终极、最过度、最顶级的血腥玛丽。他称它为炸鸡血腥玛丽,并配以整只炸鸡。

 

如今,许多酒吧都提供个性化的血腥玛丽退房菜单。您会收到一张打印的卡片和笔,然后您只需检查一下您想要的血腥玛丽的物品——伏特加、酒边和装饰物等选择。基本上,他们节省了布置桌子并在吧台后面保留一个小型血腥玛丽酒吧的时间和麻烦。

 

血腥玛丽水果装饰

黄瓜、柠檬、酸橙、橄榄和菠萝。

 

血腥玛丽蔬菜装饰

芦笋、鳄梨、球芽甘蓝、胡萝卜、芹菜、小玉米、鸡尾酒洋葱、炸洋葱圈、大葱、墨西哥胡椒、蘑菇、辣椒(所有类型)、泡菜(所有类型)、腌豆、腌秋葵、萝卜和西红柿(所有类型)。

 

血腥玛丽动物装饰

培根、牛肉干、鱿鱼、奶酪(各种)、芝士汉堡、芝士蛋糕、鸡肉(各种;部分和整体)、蛤蜊、鸡尾酒香肠、螃蟹、小龙虾、鱼(各种)、火腿、热狗、龙虾、苹果& 奶酪、肉丸、贻贝、牡蛎、意大利辣香肠、比萨饼(整块和切片)、排骨、意大利腊肠、三明治(各种)、虾、瘦吉姆和牛排。

 

鸡尾酒装饰品和工具

可能最具标志性的不可食用鸡尾酒装饰是纸阳伞(也称为鸡尾酒伞)。

        

鸡尾酒装饰品和工具主要由图片(也称为挑选)和吸管组成。图片有助于将可食用的装饰物固定在饮料顶部附近,使其不会沉入底部,吸管可帮助您啜饮鸡尾酒(如果您选择不从边缘饮用),如果您愿意,还可以将其搅拌得更多。

         

图片的长度可以从 3 英寸到 12 英寸不等,它们可以由竹子、木头、塑料和金属制成。世界上有数百种图片设计以及专门制作徽标选择的公司。

         

吸管的长度可以从五英寸半到十八英寸不等。大多数由塑料制成,但也可以由纸、竹子、金属和玻璃制成。有些可以弯曲,有些很胖。

         

其他流行的不可食用的装饰品是坐在玻璃边缘的小塑料动物和生物。这些形状包括猴子、美人鱼、大象和长颈鹿。很多酒吧都会有特色饮品的特殊装饰。例如,新奥尔良的热带小岛有一种名为 Shark Attack 的饮料,里面有一条蓝色的空心塑料鲨鱼。酒保将石榴糖浆(血液)倒入鲨鱼体内,然后将其倒入您的饮料中。您可能会遇到的其他装饰品包括竹背刮板、疯狂吸管、边缘悬挂式小酒杯、装满酒并推入饮料的热试管,以及室内饮料火花。

 

不寻常的鸡尾酒装饰

每天,调酒师都会想出制作装饰的新技术。国际调酒师比赛往往有令人惊叹的、复杂的、食物风格的装饰,可以复制五星级厨师的装饰。其他人是聪明的,实验性的,或者只是简单的。这里有几个例子可以给你灵感:

 

 

Eau de Vie——澳大利亚悉尼的一家精酿酒吧,为他们所有的鸡尾酒提供精美的展示。一个有趣的演示被称为“Lady's Leg”,它是在一个 1930 年代后期的复古鸡尾酒调酒器中准备的,形状为女士腿形,配有一双银色高跟鞋。鸡尾酒使用自制的蔓越莓冰糕代替蔓越莓汁,使饮料具有奶油般柔软的质地。它在性感的复古香槟双门轿车中供应。在 eaudevie.com.au/sydney 查看他们令人惊叹的鸡尾酒画廊。                                                                                                                                                  

来自阿姆斯特丹的鸡尾酒教授团队有一些世界上最好的饮料展示和装饰(查看他们的网站、Facebook 和 Instagram)。例子包括扭曲的经典航空鸡尾酒上的可食用纸飞机;一个扭曲的老式装饰用可食用蜡封;一种装在玻璃管中的鸡尾酒,您可以吸着喝,吹起泡泡;一杯鸡尾酒,一小袋菠萝鱼子酱夹在边缘,用迷你衣夹夹住;一杯鸡尾酒,抹上白巧克力,然后在杯沿而不是边缘烧焦椰子;和几杯吸烟鸡尾酒。

 

在芝加哥的 tiki 酒吧 Three Dots and A Dash,Treasure Chest (8 人份)是一种拉米酒,配有兰花、头骨和其他人们可能会在宝箱中看到的物品。

 

纽约市的黑蚂蚁提供一种鸡尾酒,里面有盐和碎黑蚂蚁。墨西哥黑蚂蚁应该是一种壮阳药。哦,他们还说它与 Tlayuda con Chapulines 的订单搭配得很好,这是一种松脆的玉米饼和炒蚱蜢。

 

达拉斯的维克多探戈 (Victor Tangos) 供应由自制平菇糖浆制成的鸡尾酒,并饰以蜜饯香菇。

 

圣莫尼卡的 Cassia 提供一种鸡尾酒,上面点缀着一勺海胆子。

 

在伦敦夜鹰酒吧,配菜包括抹茶绿茶饼干、喷有香水的折纸鸟和干海星。

 

在纽约市,Shigefumi Kabashima 创造了一种鸡尾酒,放在装满冰块的骷髅形玻璃杯中,并用燃烧的神圣帕洛桑托棒装饰。

 

加拿大人 Frankie Solarik 是一位酒吧厨师,他的装饰技巧令人惊叹。他说:“这是将饮料作为菜肴呈现的想法。我努力调制出具有与菜肴相同的视觉、内脏和味觉吸引力以及复杂性的鸡尾酒。在艺术上,我的总体目标是挑战传统观念,即在玻璃介质中可能发生什么。 在他的网站上查看他的画廊,在 Facebook 上查看照片,以了解他思想的美丽和创造力。

 

伦敦的 Lounge Bohemia 创造了泡泡浴马提尼。它饰有玫瑰泡沫和小橡皮鸭。

 

 

garnishwedge2.jpg
garnishlimewedge.jpg
garnishpineP.jpg
garnishzestP.jpg

Garnishes

Garnishes

Ask any girl and she will tell you that a cocktail garnish is the jewelry of the drink. Could you imagine a classic Martini served without an olive or a Manhattan without a cherry? It just would not be the same. Garnishes on cocktails were simple from the 1700s to the late 1990s, but when Martini bars popped up all over America between the late 1990s and the mid-2000s, they offered menus with 100+ flavored Martinis. Garnishes consisted of a lot of double-dipped rims of chocolate, caramel, honey, crushed candy, crumbled Oreos, flaked coconut, nuts, sprinkles, and more. This time period overlapped with the beginning of the craft cocktail movement, so the cocktail culture pendulum was swinging to both ends of the spectrum. You could compare it to the mid-1970s to the early 1980s music industry tension when there were two groups of music lovers: fans of disco and those of rock ’n’ roll.

 

Today, most of the frou-frou Martinis with store-bought mixers and cheap booze are gone, and there is always a new crazy garnish because it’s fun. Since 2010 the craft cocktail culture has taken their well-thought-out elegant garnishes to a whole new level.

 

Cocktail garnishes can be anything edible such as fruit, vegetables, herbs, spices, flora, candy, baked goods, dairy, and even meat products. The only limit when it comes to garnishes is your imagination. Yes, there are common bar garnishes, but most bartenders like to experiment with new garnishes. Generally, the garnish is placed on top of a cocktail, but it can also be placed on the rim. The garnish flavor should always complement the flavor of the cocktail. 

Fruit Garnishes

Olives are classified as a fruit because they are formed from the ovary of the flower. This particular fruit has the possibility of being stuffed. Most come already stuffed with a red pimento pepper. From the late 1990s to the mid-2000s, Vodka Martinis with blue cheese–stuffed olives were all the rage. Today, you can make your own stuffed olives. Stuffing ideas include cheese of your choice, roasted garlic, Italian sausage, nuts, jalapeño, pickled onion, pepperoni, or anchovies.

 

Common Fruit Garnishes

Apples, cherries, bananas, blackberries, blueberries, coconut, cucumbers, grapes, grapefruit, lemons, limes, watermelon, olives, oranges, pineapples, raspberries, and strawberries.

 

Not So Common Fruit Garnishes

Apricots, avocados, boysenberries, cranberries, dates, dragon fruit, figs, raisins, guava, kiwi, kumquat, lychee, mango, melon, nectarine, blood oranges, tangerine, papaya, passion fruit, peaches, pears, plums, star fruit, and tomatoes.

 

Vegetable Garnishes

 

Common Vegetable Garnishes

Celery, green onions, pearl onions, pickled beans, and pickled okra.

 

Not So Common Vegetable Garnishes

Beets, ginger, and rhubarb.

 

Herb Garnishes

 

Common Herb Garnishes

Basil, chives, cilantro, dill, lavender, lemongrass, mint, rosemary, sage, and thyme.

 

Not So Common Herb Garnishes

Borage, caraway, catnip, fennel, garlic, parsley, oregano, and tarragon.

 

Spice Garnishes

Spice garnishes can be mixed with salt or sugar and then put on the rim of the glass. They can also be sprinkled (or grated) on top of a cocktail that has a frothy head or on top of whipped cream. Some can be used in their whole forms such as cinnamon sticks and star anise.

 

Common Spice Garnishes

Black pepper, cayenne, celery salt, chili powder, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, star anise, and vanilla beans.

 

Not So Common Spice Garnishes

Ancho chili, anise seed, bay leaf, cumin, caraway seed, crystallized ginger, saffron, and white pepper.

 

Flora Garnishes

A Vanda orchid first garnished a cocktail in Hawaii, by bar legend Harry Yee, in 1957.  Since around 2005, bartenders have been searching for beautiful, nontoxic, edible flora to use in their cocktails. All common fruits, vegetables, and herbs go through a flowering stage, and all of these are non toxic and safe to use. It’s more important to know what flora is toxic and not safe to use as a garnish in your cocktail. For example, during the holiday season, you may think that a sprig of mistletoe would be a perfect garnish for your holiday cocktail, but mistletoe is toxic. Always search the Internet before using any questionable flora as a garnish.

 

Nontoxic Flora Garnishes

Aloe vera, angelica, orchids, daisy, dandelion, chamomile, chrysanthemum, clover, eucalyptus, forget-me-nots, gardenia, hibiscus, impatiens, jasmine, lavender, lilac, magnolia, marigold, orchid, pansy, peony, primrose, rose, snapdragon, sunflower, tulip petals (not the bulb), violet, water lily, and zinnia.

 

Toxic Flora Garnishes

Angel’s trumpet, azalea, belladonna (also called deadly nightshade), bird of paradise, bluebell, buttercup, calla lily, daffodil, English ivy, foxglove, hyacinth, hydrangea, iris, lily of the valley, lucky bamboo, mistletoe, morning glory, rhubarb leaves, star of Bethlehem, sweet pea, tobacco, tomato leaves, and wisteria.

 

Candy and Baked Goods Garnishes

Garnishing with candy and baked goods (such as cookies) started in the late 1990s when

Before then, the sweetest cocktail garnish was a sugared rim. Because you have so many ingredients to choose from, this category of garnishes is totally up to your imagination. Here are some ideas: rock candy sticks, sugarcane sticks, chocolate-covered strawberries, Tootsie Pops, fortune cookies, a glazed doughnut set horizontally on the glass rim, gummy worms, licorice straws, marshmallows, Peeps, and placing a cookie horizontally on the rim and then poking a hole for a straw.

 

Rimmer Garnish Ideas

When rimming a glass at home, all you need is two plates. One plate will hold your dry garnish (salt, sugar, sprinkles, crushed cookies, etc.) and the other plate will hold the wet garnish that acts as a glue so the dry garnish can stick to the glass. Lemon or lime juice can be used for salts and sugars, but you will need something stickier to attach crushed cookies, sprinkles, etc. Some good choices include melted chocolate and syrups. 

 

There are many Sugar and salt are staples in the rimming world. For sugar, you can use white, raw, brown, and powdered. If you want to color it, you just need some food coloring and plastic storage bags. When using salted rims on cocktails, you want to use a coarse kosher salt and not table salt. Sugar and salt can be combined with a myriad of spices and herbs to create a new flavor. Combinations might include cinnamon-sugar, cayenne-sugar, edible gold flake and sugar, dried cilantro and salt, cracked black pepper and salt, and dried basil and salt. As for crushing candy and cookies, double-bagging plastic storage bags and then banging the treats with a mallet until crushed is the best way.flavored and colored sugar and salts that you can purchase, but you can also make your own at home.

 

Other rimming garnishes to try are sprinkles, Pop Rocks, flaked coconut, Cajun spices, edible pearl dust, chocolate powders, shaved chocolate, and crushed nuts.

 

Dairy Garnishes

The most popular dairy cocktail garnish is whipped cream. You can make your own whipped cream by whipping cream and sugar, or in a pinch, you can pick up a can at your local grocery store. The most popular alcoholic drinks that use whipped cream are hot coffee, cider, and chocolate drinks. They also sell non-dairy whipped creams.

 

Bloody Mary Garnishes

Since the 1970s the Bloody Mary has been the winner for the most edible garnishes of any cocktail in the world. Vintage Bloody Mary ads from the 1930s through the 1960s show very little garnishing for the Bloody Mary: one celery stalk, one lemon, and a lemon and celery stalk. The olive makes an appearance in the 1960s.

           

Bloody Mary garnishing from the 1970s through the 1990s included salted rims, Cajun spice rims, pickles, pickled beans, green onions, cherry tomatoes, peel-and-eat shrimp, oyster on the half shell, and blue cheese–stuffed olives.

 

In the 2000s, the Bloody Mary Bloody Bar was born. Vodka companies approached popular restaurants and bars offering free signage, menus, infusion jars, and, of course, a discount on their vodka. The establishment would set up a table filled with containers with a variety of garnishes, hot sauces, and mixes for guests to choose from. With time and for competition’s sake, the garnish choices got more insane—well, insane for that time. Choices included beef jerky, hard bacon strips, Slim Jims, pizza-themed garnishes with rims of Parmesan cheese and pepper flakes, spaghetti-themed garnishes with meatballs, olive brine to make it dirty, an assortment of cheese cubes, and so much more.

 

By 2012, the BM bars began to fade and a new, exaggerated Bloody Mary craze was born. Dave Sobelman from Sobelman’s Pub & Grill in Milwaukee is given credit for the ultimate, most excessive, over-the-top Bloody Mary to date. He calls it a Chicken Fried Bloody Mary and it’s garnished with a whole fried chicken.

 

Today, many bars are offering personalized Bloody Mary check-off menus. You are given a printed card and pen and you simply check off the items—choices such as vodka, rimming, and garnishes—you want for your Bloody Mary. Basically, they are saving the time and trouble of setting up a table and keeping a small Bloody Mary bar behind the bar.

 

Bloody Mary Fruit Garnishes

Cucumbers, lemons, limes, olives, and pineapple.

 

Bloody Mary Vegetable Garnishes

Asparagus, avocado, brussels sprouts, carrots, celery, baby corn, cocktail onions, fried onion rings, green onions, jalapeño poppers, mushrooms, peppers (all types), pickles (all types), pickled beans, pickled okra, radishes, and tomatoes (all types).

 

Bloody Mary Animal-Based Garnishes

Bacon, beef jerky, calamari, cheese (all kinds), cheeseburgers, cheesecake, chicken (all kinds; parts and whole), clams, cocktail sausages, crab, crawfish, fish (all kinds), ham, hot dogs, lobster, mac & cheese, meatballs, mussels, oysters, pepperoni, pizza (whole and sliced), ribs, salami, sandwiches (all kinds), shrimp, Slim Jim, and steak.

 

Cocktail Decorations and Tools

Probably the most iconic nonedible cocktail decoration is the paper parasol (also called the cocktail umbrella).

        

Cocktail decorations and tools mainly consist of pics (also called picks) and straws. Pics help hold an edible garnish near the top of your drink so it doesn’t sink to the bottom, and straws help you sip the cocktail—if you choose not to drink from the rim—and also stir it up more if you desire.

         

Pics can come in sizes in length from three inches to twelve inches and they can be made of bamboo, wood, plastic, and metal. There are hundreds of pic designs in the world plus companies that specialize in creating logo picks.

         

Straws can come in sizes in length from five-and-a-half inches to eighteen inches. Most are made of plastic, but they can also be made of paper, bamboo, metal, and glass. Some can bend and some are fat.

         

Other popular nonedible decorations are little plastic animals and creatures that sit on the rim of your glass. These shapes include monkeys, mermaids, elephants, and giraffes. Lots of bars will have special decorations for signature drinks. For example, Tropical Isle in New Orleans has a drink called the Shark Attack that comes with a blue hollow plastic shark. The bartender pours grenadine (blood) inside the shark and then nose-dives it into your drink. Other decorations you may run across include a bamboo back scratcher, Krazy Straws, rim-hanging shot glasses, hot test tubes filled with booze and pushed into your drink, and indoor drink sparklers.

 

Unusual Cocktail Garnishes

Every day bartenders come up with new techniques for creating garnishes. International bartender competitions tend to have amazing, intricate, food-styled garnishes that replicate that of a five-star chef. Others are clever, experimental, or just plain over-the-top. Here are several examples to give you inspiration:

 

 

Eau de Vie—a craft bar in Sydney, Australia offers beautiful presentations for all their cocktails. One fun presentation is called “Lady’s Leg,” which is prepared in a vintage late-1930s cocktail shaker in the shape of a lady’s leg complete with a high-heeled silver shoe. The cocktail uses a house-made cranberry sorbet instead of cranberry juice, giving the drink a creamy and soft texture. It is served in sexy vintage champagne coupes. View their stunning gallery of cocktails at eaudevie.com.au/sydney.                                                                                                                                                                                                              

The Cocktail Professor team from Amsterdam has some of the best drink presentations and garnishes in the world (view their website, Facebook, and Instagram). Examples include an edible paper plane on a twisted classic Aviation Cocktail; a twisted Old-Fashioned garnished with an edible wax seal; a cocktail served in a glass pipe that you can suck to drink and blow to blow bubbles; a cocktail with a small bag of pineapple caviar clipped on the rim with a mini clothespin; a cocktail with a swipe of white chocolate then torched coconut on the side of the glass as opposed to the rim; and several smoking cocktails.

 

At the Chicago tiki bar Three Dots and a Dash, the Treasure Chest (for eight) is a rummy drink served in and garnished with orchids, skulls, and other items one might see in a treasure chest.

 

The Black Ant in New York City serves a cocktail that is rimmed with salt and crushed black ants. The Mexican black ants are supposed to be an aphrodisiac. Oh, they also say that it pairs well with an order of Tlayuda con Chapulines, which are crunchy tortillas with sautéed grasshoppers.

 

Victor Tangos in Dallas serves a cocktail made with house-made oyster mushroom syrup and garnished with a candied shiitake mushroom.

 

Cassia in Santa Monica offers a cocktail that is garnished with a spoon of sea urchin roe.

 

In the London bar Nightjar, garnishes include a matcha green-tea cookie, an origami bird sprayed with perfume, and a dried starfish.

 

In New York City, Shigefumi Kabashima created a cocktail that sits in an ice-filled, skull-shaped glass and garnished with a burning stick of sacred palo santo.

 

Canadian Frankie Solarik is a bar chef who is blowing minds with his garnish techniques. He says: “It’s the idea of presenting a drink as a dish. I strive to compose cocktails with the same visual, visceral, and taste appeal, and complexity that is possible within a dish. The general goal for me artistically is to challenge the conventional thought as to what’s possible within the medium of a glass.” View his gallery on his website, and photos on Facebook, to grasp the beauty and inventiveness of his mind.

 

Lounge Bohemia in London created the Bubble Bath Martini. It’s garnished with rose foam and a baby rubber ducky.

 

 

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle