酒吧工具

照片由 Kevin O'Mara/Flickr 创作共用

所有职业都有工具,在鸡尾酒界,一位调酒师在酒吧工具的主题上脱颖而出:杰里“教授”托马斯。托马斯于 1862 年出版了第一本美国鸡尾酒配方书,众所周知,他带着一套实心银条工具环游世界。在 1700 年代末至 1800 年代初,酒吧工具包括打孔碗、银勺、柑橘铰刀和过滤器、刀、肉豆蔻刨丝器、勺子、用于测量的小酒杯、用作量杯的大容器、杵和研钵、糖面包笔尖,还有一个糊涂器。在 1800 年代后期,棒材工具开始得到改进并获得专利。

 

制作美味鸡尾酒只需要一些工具,在紧要关头,您甚至可以在厨房抽屉里找到替代品。当然,你可以在有盖的梅森罐子里摇晃鸡尾酒,然后用手指过滤,但如果你想认真对待鸡尾酒制作,那就投资一些工具。

 

酒吧勺

大勺有一个长柄,你可以用它来搅拌鸡尾酒、分层射击、用勺子舀糖等干货,以及将浓稠的冷冻/混合饮料从搅拌机罐中倒入玻璃杯中。需要搅拌的流行鸡尾酒包括 Gin Martinis、Manhattans 和 Sazeracs。

 

要搅拌鸡尾酒,请将您的原料加入混合杯中,然后加入冰块。将勺柄放在中指和无名指之间,然后将勺子插入搅拌杯内部(勺子的碗接触玻璃内部)。搅拌时将碗放在玻璃杯的内侧。二十转是一个很好的轰动。

 

所有酒精都有不同的重量(密度),当你分层拍摄时,你从底部最重的酒精开始,顶部最轻的酒精。假设您想在咖啡利口酒上涂上爱尔兰奶油。只需将一半的小酒杯装满咖啡利口酒,将勺子碗的边缘放在咖啡利口酒的水平面上,然后将爱尔兰奶油轻轻倒在碗上(打破跌落),使其轻轻分层在咖啡上酒。一些调酒师喜欢使用碗的弯曲面,而另一些则喜欢碗的凹面。我还看到调酒师使用樱桃或酒吧勺的把手。

 

开瓶器

开瓶器打开瓶子。在过去,他们被称为教堂钥匙。有很多可供选择。它们有各种颜色和款式,带有可伸缩卷轴、皮带钩等等。

 

柑橘榨汁机

柑橘榨汁机(也称为手动柑橘压榨机)榨出柑橘汁,有电动、手动和手持式榨汁机可供选择。

 

开瓶器

开瓶器(也称为葡萄酒工具或服务员工具)用于打开酒瓶、威士忌瓶上的顽固软木塞以及开瓶器。有许多类型可供选择,但真正的调酒师和葡萄酒管家使用服务员的开瓶器。最好买的是“双杠杆”服务员的开瓶器,它带有一个内置的小刀,可以从酒瓶上切下箔纸,但你会发现这把刀还有很多其他用途。  

        

刨丝器

刨丝器(微型平面)主要用于磨碎新鲜香料。只需将小型不锈钢刨丝器放在饮料和格栅上即可。需要肉豆蔻磨碎的最受欢迎的饮料包括牛奶冲床和白兰地亚历山大。

 

跳汰机

一种用于测量鸡尾酒酒精度的双面测量工具。它们有大约五种不同的尺寸。但如果你只能买两个,那就买 1-2 盎司和 1.5-.5 盎司的跳汰机。

 

混蛋

搅拌机用于压碎和捣碎水果、方糖、香草等。切勿使用涂漆或涂漆的搅拌器,因为这些毒药会进入饮料中。今天有几个混蛋可供选择。

 

摇壶锡

摇酒器用于摇晃饮料。你可以找到许多形状的新奇振动筛,但它们都分为两种类型:鞋匠和波士顿。

鞋匠摇床由三部分组成,主要由家庭爱好者使用。波士顿型摇酒器由两个部件拼凑而成,用于摇晃饮料——通常是一个 16 盎司的混合品脱玻璃杯和一个 28 盎司的摇酒罐。

 

过滤器

过滤器可防止摇晃的冰块和其他成分落入玻璃杯中。今天的调酒师使用三种类型的过滤器:Hawthorne、julep 和 mesh。

    

Hawthorne 过滤器有一个金属线圈,可用于振动筛或混合玻璃的顶部。 Julep 过滤器以一定角度装入混合玻璃杯中。网状过滤器用作

“双过滤器”——意思是它被放在玻璃杯上并用作第二个过滤器,同时从波士顿或朱利普过滤器倒入玻璃杯中。它确保在进入饮料之前捕获种子或小块。

 

宽削皮器

这是一个削皮器,就像你在家里用来削蔬菜的削皮器,但削皮器更宽,可以削柑橘皮。

 

Zester/通道刀

这些切割卷曲,花哨的柑橘曲折。  

 

 

 

Bartools2.jpg

摄影者 芒果酱 /  (CC BY-SA 3.0)

(从左到右):(1)香槟瓶塞,(2)刀,(3)冰钳,(4)冰勺,(5)冰桶,(6)酒吧勺,(7)金属鸡尾酒镐, (8) 跳汰机, (9) 细过滤器, (10) 波士顿振动筛的一部分 (金属底部), (11) 酒吧勺, (12) 手持柑橘榨汁机, (13) 霍桑过滤器, (14) 泽斯特通道刀组合,(15)波士顿振动筛(混合玻璃)的第二部分,(16)搅拌器,(17)柑橘榨汁机,(18)刨丝器,(19)宽削皮器,(20)开瓶器。

 

0b7f1b22-f5eb-419e-b93d-9736dc3732f4_1.1

哪里可以买到酒吧工具

长期以来,唯一的在线酒吧工具供应商是BarProducts.com 和 Kegworks.com,他们仍在营业。今天有很多高端的酒吧工具 供应商,例如cocktailkingdom.com、uberbartools.com 和thebostonshaker.com。您还可以在 Amazon.com 上找到条形工具。

 

鸡尾酒王国有一系列专为著名人士制作的标志性工具 调酒师和我所知道的最昂贵的酒具是蒂芙尼制造的。

有趣的酒吧工具事实

在早期的鸡尾酒制作时代,雪利酒杯被用作酒杯。也有人说,蛋杯经常被用作跳汰机。 Eggcups主要用于早餐;将一个半熟的鸡蛋放入杯子中,然后用黄油刀将鸡蛋打碎,然后用勺子从壳中吃掉。

 

julep过滤器最初被称为冰勺。

 

据信,barspoon来自药剂师和杵勺。

 

1932 年,颇受欢迎的珠宝公司 Napier 生产了一款银色鸡尾酒调酒器,上面刻有名为“Tells-You-How Mixer”的食谱。雕刻的食谱包括 Alexander、Bacardi、Between the Sheets、Bronx、Clover Club、Dry Martini、Dubonnet、Gin Rickey、Manhattan、Old-Fashioned、Orange Blossom、Pam Beach、Sidecar 和 Tom Collins。最初,它只在萨克斯第五大道出售。今天,您可以花 1,200 美元左右购买一台。 Napier 继续生产更多的鸡尾酒调酒器。

 

搅泥器最初被称为托迪棒,由银或硬木制成。

 

双重过滤(用Hawthorne 过滤器和放在鸡尾酒杯上的网状过滤器过滤)首先通过使用Hawthorne 过滤器和玻璃上的julep 过滤器完成。

 

为了加热鸡尾酒,老式调酒师会将热铁棒从壁炉中放入饮料中。它们要么被称为翻转狗,要么被称为 loggerheads。

 

1850 年,在伦敦新闻上看到了第一个已知的两件式鸡尾酒调酒器的出版插图。

 

要真正过滤在混合杯中搅拌的鸡尾酒,您应该在过滤时将勺子留在里面。

 

1868 年,关于美国鸡尾酒和鸡尾酒调酒器的文章发表在两份英国出版物上:英国期刊 Notes and Queries 和 Meliora: A Quarterly Review of Social Science。

“这种建立刺激系统的努力在美国引起了制造 “鸡尾酒”(威士忌、白兰地或香槟、苦味剂和冰的混合物),巧妙地混合在为此目的制作的高银杯中,称为“鸡尾酒调酒器”。”——笔记和查询

 

“他们把饮料扔来滚去;他们把满溢的眼镜戴在头上;他们摇晃着长长的锡管里的糖精、冰糖和酒精成分。”——梅里奥拉:社会科学季刊

 

来自纽约布鲁克林的 EJ Hauck 于 1884 年获得了三件式鸡尾酒调酒器的专利。

 

1889 年,一位来自康涅狄格州的人创造了一个金属弹簧来绕过过滤器,几年后,康涅狄格州的 Manning & Bowman 公司对其进行了改进,并在其上打了孔,上面写着“霍桑”,它以霍桑咖啡馆的名字命名。波士顿。

 

1892 年,芝加哥调酒师 Cornelius Dungan 获得了双锥卷扬机的专利。

giphy-4.gif

由 Cheryl Charming 设计。从左到右:酒吧勺、开瓶器、柑橘榨汁机、开瓶器、刨丝器( 微型)、跳汰机、捣碎机、波士顿振动筛、鞋匠振动筛、霍桑过滤器、朱利酒过滤器、网状过滤器、宽削皮器、切斯特/槽刀。

Bar Tools

Photo by Kevin O'Mara/Flickr Creative Commons

All professions have tools, and in the cocktail world, one bartender stands out on the subject of bar tools: Jerry “Professor” Thomas. Thomas published the very first American cocktail recipe book in 1862, and it is well known he traveled the world with a set of solid silver bar tools. In the late 1700s to early 1800s, bar tools included punch bowls, silver ladles, citrus reamers and strainers, knives, nutmeg graters, spoons, small wine glasses for measuring, large containers to be used as measuring cups, pestles and mortars, sugar loaf nibs, and a muddler. In the late 1800s, bar tools began to be improved and patented.

 

Only a few tools are needed to make great cocktails and, in a pinch, you can even find substitutes in your kitchen drawers. Sure, you can shake up a cocktail in a lidded Mason jar and strain it through your fingers, but if you want to get serious about cocktail making, then invest in a few tools.

 

Barspoon

A barspoon has a long handle and you use it to stir cocktails, layer shots, spoon dry goods like sugar, and guide a thick frozen/blended drink out from the blender pitcher into a glass. Popular cocktails that require stirring include Gin Martinis, Manhattans, and Sazeracs.

 

To stir a cocktail, add your ingredients into a mixing glass and then add ice. Place the handle of the spoon between your middle and ring fingers, then insert the spoon to the inside of the mixing glass (bowl of the spoon touching the inside of the glass). Keep the bowl on the inside of the glass as you stir around. Twenty revolutions is a good stir.

 

All alcohols have different weights (densities), and when you layer a shot, you start with the heaviest alcohol on the bottom and the lightest on top. Let us say you want to layer Irish cream on top of coffee liqueur. Simply fill half of the shot glass with coffee liqueur, set the edge of the spoon bowl on top of the coffee liqueur level, and gently pour the Irish cream on the bowl (breaking the fall) so that it gently layers on top of the coffee liqueur. Some bartenders like to use the curved side of the bowl and others like the concave side of the bowl. I've also seen bartenders use a cherry or the handle of the bar spoon.

 

Bottle Opener

A bottle opener opens bottles. Back in the day they were called churchkeys. There are many to choose from. They come in all colors and styles, with retractable reels, belt hooks, and so much more.

 

Citrus Squeezer

A citrus squeezer (also called a hand citrus press) squeezes citrus juice, and there are electric, manual, and handheld squeezers to choose from.

 

Corkscrew

A corkscrew (also called a wine tool or a waiter's tool) is used to open bottles of wine, stubborn corks on whiskey bottles, and as bottle openers. Many types are available, but real bartenders and wine stewards use a waiter’s corkscrew. The best to buy is a “double lever” waiter’s corkscrew, which comes with a small built-in knife to cut the foil off a wine bottle, but you will find the knife can serve many other purposes. 

        

Grater

A grater (microplane) is used mostly to grate fresh spices. Just hold the small, stainless-steel grater over the drink and grate. The most popular drinks that require nutmeg grating include Milk Punch and a Brandy Alexander.

 

Jigger

A two-sided measurement tool to measure alcohol for cocktails. They come in about five different sizes. But if you can only buy two, get 1­–2 ounce and 1.5–.5 ounce jiggers.

 

Muddler

A muddler is used to crush and mash fruits, sugar cubes, herbs, and more. Never use a varnished or lacquered muddler because those poisons will get into the drink. There are several muddlers to choose from today.

 

Shaker Tin

A shaker is used to shake a drink. You can find novelty shakers in many shapes, but they all break down into two types: cobbler and Boston.

Cobbler shakers consist of three pieces and are mostly used by home enthusiasts. A Boston-type shaker consists of two components pieced together to shake a drink—normally a sixteen-ounce mixing pint glass and a twenty-eight-ounce shaker tin.

 

Strainer

A strainer keeps ice and other ingredients that have been shaken from falling into the glass. Bartenders today use three types of strainers: Hawthorne, julep, and mesh.

    

Hawthorne strainers have a metal coil and can be used on top of a shaker tin or a mixing glass. Julep strainers fit at an angle into a mixing glass. A mesh strainer is used as a

“double strainer”—meaning that it’s held over the glass and used as a second strainer while pouring into the glass from a Boston or julep strainer. It makes sure seeds or small bits are caught before going into the drink.

 

Wide Peeler

This is a peeler much like you have at home to peel vegetables but wider to cut citrus rinds.

 

Zester/Channel Knife

These cut curly, fancy citrus twists. 

 

 

 

Photo by Mangomix / (CC BY-SA 3.0)

(From left to right): (1) champagne bottle stopper, (2) knife, (3) ice tongs, (4) ice scoop, (5) ice bucket, (6) bar spoon, (7) metal cocktail-pick, (8) jigger, (9) fine strainer, (10) part one of a Boston shaker (metal bottom), (11) bar spoon, (12) handheld citrus squeezer, (13) Hawthorne strainer, (14) zester channel knife combo, (15) part two of a Boston shaker (mixing glass), (16) muddler, (17) citrus juicer, (18) grater, (19) wide peeler, (20) corkscrew.

 

Where to Buy Bar Tools

For a long time, the only online bar tool suppliers were BarProducts.com and Kegworks.com and they are still in business. Today there are many high-end bar tool suppliers such as cocktailkingdom.com, uberbartools.com, and thebostonshaker.com. You can also find bar tools on Amazon.com.

 

Cocktail Kingdom has a line of signature tools made specifically for famous bartenders and the most expensive barware that I know of is made by Tiffany.

Fun Bar Tool Facts

In the early cocktail-making days, sherry glasses were used as jiggers. It has also been said that eggcups were often used as a jigger. Eggcups were mainly used for breakfast; a soft-boiled egg was placed into the cup, then cracked with a butter knife and eaten out of the shell with a spoon.

 

The julep strainer was originally called an ice spoon.

 

The barspoon is believed to come from apothecary medicine and pestle spoons.

 

In 1932, popular jewelry company Napier produced a silver cocktail shaker with engraved recipes called “Tells-You-How Mixer.” The engraved recipes included Alexander, Bacardi, Between the Sheets, Bronx, Clover Club, Dry Martini, Dubonnet, Gin Rickey, Manhattan, Old-Fashioned, Orange Blossom, Pam Beach, Sidecar, and Tom Collins. Initially, it was only sold at Saks Fifth Avenue. Today, you can buy one for around $1,200. Napier went on to produce many more cocktail shakers.

 

The muddler was first called a toddy stick and was made of silver or hardwood.

 

Double straining (straining with a Hawthorne and mesh strainer held over the cocktail glass) was first done by using a Hawthorne strainer and julep strainer held over the glass.

 

To heat cocktails, vintage bartenders would plunge hot iron pokers from the fireplace into drinks. They were either called flip dogs or loggerheads.

 

In 1850, the first known published illustration of a two-piece cocktail shaker was seen in the London News.

 

To authentically strain a cocktail that is stirred in a mixing glass, you should leave the spoon in as you strain.

 

In 1868, articles on American cocktails and cocktail shakers were published in two British publications: the British periodical Notes and Queries and Meliora: A Quarterly Review of Social Science.

“This endeavor to get up a system of stimulation has given rise in America to the manufacture of  ‘cocktail’ (a compound of whiskey, brandy, or champagne, bitters, and ice), dexterously mixed in tall silver mugs made for the purpose, called ‘cocktail shakers.’”—Notes and Queries

 

“They toss the drinks about; they throw brimful glasses over their heads; they shake the saccharine, glacial and alcoholic ingredients in their long tin tubes.”—Meliora: A Quarterly Review of Social Science

 

E. J. Hauck from Brooklyn, New York, patented a three-piece cocktail shaker in 1884.

 

In 1889, a man from Connecticut created a metal spring to go around a strainer, and a few years later, the Connecticut company Manning & Bowman improved it and punched holes in it to read “Hawthorne,” which was named after the Hawthorne Café in Boston.

 

In 1892, Chicago bartender Cornelius Dungan patented the double cone jigger.

Design by Cheryl Charming. From left to right: bar spoon, bottle opener, citrus squeezer, corkscrew, grater (microplane), jigger, muddler, Boston shaker, cobbler shaker, Hawthorne strainer, julep strainer, mesh strainer, wide peeler, zester/channel knife.

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle