苦药类,浓生啤酒

摄影者 Kondor83 /存在Shutterstock

没有人知道苦味开始的确切时间,但人们一致认为它首先是药用的。 1712 年,英国牧师理查德斯托顿获得了 Magnum Elixir Stomachicum 的专利,这是一种基于酒精的草药输液。这是世界上第二个获得专利的复合药物。很快,公众就称它为 Stoughton's Bitters。 1730年,他将它出口到美国。

 

苦味酒由精选的香草、香料、种子、干果皮、植物、树皮、植物或根部制成——一种女巫酿造的酒——然后保存在高浓度酒精中。然而,一些苦味剂是不含酒精的,是用甘油制成的。在 1800 年代,这些长生不老药被宣传为万灵药,并以 750 毫升瓶装出售。今天,由于鸡尾酒革命,市场上有各种各样的苦味酒,就像 1880 年代一样。

 

苦味剂可以冲入碳酸水中饮用以缓解胃痛,您可以在食物和饮料中使用苦味剂来增加风味。正如名字所暗示的那样,苦味剂尝起来并不苦。当用于鸡尾酒时,它只是增加了一点浓缩的味道。大多数人说它为鸡尾酒调味,就像用盐调味食物一样。品尝测试苦味的最佳方法是通过鼻子。不,不要闻。在手掌中滴几滴,将手掌揉在一起,然后捂住鼻子和嘴巴并闻一闻。

 

如果您想尝试制作自己的药用苦味剂,那么这些草药和其他植物可能值得探索:amla berry、ashwagandha、黄芪根、竹茎、牛蒡根、柴胡、蒲公英根、鞣花单宁、fo-ti、 gotu kola, gubinge, 圣罗勒, 印度醋栗, 日本虎杖, 焦古兰, 葛叶, 甘草根, 玛咖, 锦葵叶, 辣木叶, 松树皮, 松针, 松花粉, 红三叶草, 玫瑰果, 沙棘, 西伯利亚人参,苏马、豆瓣菜和黄豆根。

 

安哥斯图拉苦酒

自 1824 年以来,Angostura 苦味酒经受住了时间的考验。 1862 年,来自特立尼达的 Don Carlos Siegert 在伦敦大博览会上首次展出了它。鸡尾酒粉红杜松子酒是同时发明的,被称为 Amargo Aromatico。 1873 年,在奥地利维也纳举行的世界博览会上,安哥斯图拉苦精获得了一枚奖牌。许多鸡尾酒都需要苦味,包括香槟鸡尾酒、Vieux Carré、Pisco Sour、Old-Fashioned、Pink Gin、Manhattan、Rob Roy、Singapore Sling、Planter's Punch 和 Zombie。

 

Peychaud 的苦味酒和 Boker 的苦味酒

接下来在 1800 年代最受欢迎的两种苦味是来自新奥尔良的 Peychaud's Bitters (1857) 和来自纽约的 Boker's (1828)。 Peychaud's 是 Sazerac 或 Vieux Carré 鸡尾酒中使用的红色苦味剂。如果您曾经访问过新奥尔良,只需前往当地的杂货店并带一两瓶回家。 Boker 的苦味剂在绝种前曾在许多鸡尾酒配方书中被发现,但幸运的是,它已被 Adam Elmegirab 博士的苦味剂从死里复活。一些需要 Boker's 的老式鸡尾酒包括 Japanese Cocktail、Martinez、Manhattan 和 Crusta。

 

橙子苦酒和费氏苦酒

1862 年,在印刷品中看到的第一个已知的马提尼配方中要求使用橙色苦味。在禁酒令之后直到 2000 年代初,唯一可用的苦味是 Angostura。当 Regan 的 Orange Bitters No. 6 由鸡尾酒作家、历史学家和调酒师 Gary Regan 于 2005 年制作时,它打开了苦味的闸门。 Fee's Bitters 从 1835 年开始在纽约罗切斯特开展业务,在禁酒令开始时也看到销量下降,因此他们专注于祭坛葡萄酒并继续销售葡萄酒,直到 2000 年代鸡尾酒文化开始蓬勃发展。截至 2016 年,Fee's 现在提供 17 种苦味剂、植物水、糖浆等。

 

苦味酒瓶

您可能已经注意到当地酒吧的饮品制作站周围有很多小瓶子。那些是苦味瓶。有些是购买的苦味酒,有些是由您的调酒师从头开始制作的。

 

世界各地的苦酒

今天,有太多的苦味剂公司可以提及,许多调酒师都在制作自己的苦味剂。在鸡尾酒文化的历史上,从来没有这么多口味可供选择。看看这些口味:秋葵、德州-墨西哥、孟菲斯烧烤、节日派、无花果布丁、米卡萨、克里奥尔、芹菜灌木、地狱火、冬瓜、橙奶油、希望葡萄柚、牙买加混蛋、樱桃树皮、黑带、烤澳洲坚果、野生山鼠尾草、帕洛桑托、香草柴、狗毛、苦霜、烟熏辣椒和艾草苦味。

 

 

世界各地生产苦味剂的顶级公司包括 AZ Bitters Lab、Basement Bitters、Bittercube Bitters、Bitter End Bitters、Bittered Sling Bitters、Dr. Adam Elmegirab's Bitters、Dram Bitters、El Guapo Bitters、Fees's Brothers Bitters、Hella Bitter、Old Men Bitters, Scrappy's Bitters, the Bittered Truth Bitters, the Cocktail Experiment Bitters, and Urban Moonshine Organic Bitters。

 

消化苦味剂

也有带有苦味的烈酒,很多国家都有自己的。它们以盎司为单位测量鸡尾酒,而不是破折号。最受欢迎的包括 Amer Picon、Aperol、Averna、Becherovka、Campari、Cynar、Fernet、Branca 和 Jägermeister。

 

自制苦味剂

在将厨房变成 DIY 苦味剂实验室之前,最好做好准备。这里有一些物品可以收集。

 

几个夸脱大小的梅森罐子。

 

任何高酒精度酒(80 度或更高)。许多初学者喜欢从伏特加开始,因为它是中性的。但稍后您可以尝试其他烈酒,例如威士忌和龙舌兰酒。请记住,它们会增加味道。  

 

某种过滤器,例如粗棉布、细过滤器或咖啡过滤器。

 

您选择的小滴管或苦味瓶。

 

您选择的花哨或普通标签,或者只使用遮蔽胶带。

 

一个小漏斗,可以装进小瓶子里。

 

您选择的香草、香料、种子、干果皮、新鲜水果、植物、植物、根等。为了帮助您开始考虑干果、柑橘皮干、植物干、咖啡豆、胡椒、八角茴香、碎整个肉豆蔻、杜松子、樱桃树皮等。树皮可能更容易在网上找到。

 

一旦你狩猎和收集你的原料,把它们放进罐子里,充满精神。它需要注入数周才能提取出味道。每天你都应该搅拌罐子以混合所有东西。准备好后,使用粗棉布或非常细的过滤器将混合物过滤到另一个罐子中。有些人同时使用两者。

 

然后,您需要将过滤器中捕获的固体放入装有一些水的锅中并煮沸,然后炖十五分钟。将所有混合物放入一个单独的罐子中,静置一周。

 

准备好后,滤出固体。固体可以扔掉。将您创建的两罐液体混合在一起,如果最终结果是底部有沉淀物或漂浮在混合物中,则需要再次过滤。

 

最后,您可以添加一点甜味剂,使其更可口。您可以使用蜂蜜、枫糖浆、糖蜜或丰富的简单糖浆(两份糖和一份水溶解成糖浆)。摇一摇,现在你可以装瓶了。   

 

 

一些苦味食谱

基本苦味剂

做 16 盎司

 

捏小豆蔻

捏香菜

捏芫荽籽

1干苦橙皮

2杯谷物酒精

2汤匙蜂蜜

 

将所有成分混合到一个带盖的消毒罐中,在阴凉黑暗的地方放置三周,每天搅拌。准备好后,用粗棉布或细滤网过滤到另一个罐子里。将过滤器中的固体用水煮沸,然后炖十五分钟。将所有混合物放入有盖的罐子中,静置一周。准备好后,拉紧并与第一个拉紧的罐子混合。加入甜味剂,摇匀,然后倒入滴管或苦味瓶中。

 

波旁山核桃苦酒

做 16 盎司

 

1/2杯烤山核桃

2整丁香

1个肉桂棒

1个香草豆,分裂

1汤匙野樱桃皮

1汤匙龙胆根

2杯高防波旁威士忌

2汤匙枫糖浆

 

将所有成分混合到一个带盖的消毒罐中,在阴凉黑暗的地方放置三周,每天搅拌。准备好后,用粗棉布或细滤网过滤到另一个罐子里。将过滤器中的固体用水煮沸,然后炖十五分钟。将所有混合物放入有盖的罐子中,静置一周。准备好后,拉紧并与第一个拉紧的罐子混合。加入甜味剂,摇匀,然后倒入滴管或苦味瓶中。

 

薰衣草苦味

做 16 盎司

 

1杯干薰衣草

1/2杯橙皮

1个香草荚,分开

2杯谷物酒精

2汤匙龙舌兰花蜜

 

将所有成分混合到一个带盖的消毒罐中,在阴凉、黑暗的地方放置三周,每天搅拌。准备好后,用粗棉布或细滤网过滤到另一个罐子里。将过滤器中的固体用水煮沸,然后炖十五分钟。将所有混合物放入有盖的罐子中,静置一周。准备好后,拉紧并与第一个拉紧的罐子混合。加入甜味剂,摇匀,然后倒入滴管或苦味瓶中。

 

橙苦味

做 16 盎司

 

1杯橙皮

2个豆蔻荚

捏芫荽籽

1茶匙茴香籽

10滴龙胆提取物

2杯谷物酒精

2汤匙丰富的简单糖浆

 

将所有成分混合到一个带盖的消毒罐中,在阴凉、黑暗的地方放置三周,每天搅拌。准备好后,用粗棉布或细滤网过滤到另一个罐子里。将过滤器中的固体用水煮沸,然后炖十五分钟。将所有混合物放入有盖的罐子中,静置一周。准备好后,拉紧并与第一个拉紧的罐子混合。加入甜味剂,摇匀,然后倒入滴管或苦味瓶中。

Angostura_Bitter_Flasche.jpg
14_01 copy.jpg

Johann Boker 于 1828 年创造了 Boker 的苦味剂,一百年后,它灭绝了。 Adam Elmegirab 于 2009 年重新创作了 Adam Elmegirab博士的 Boker's Bitters。

 亚当·埃尔梅吉拉布

15196333774_14605e872d_k.jpg

Fee Brother's Bitters Flickr by Scott Schiller 

alchemybottleshop.com 

归因 2.0 通用 (抄送 2.0)

Bitters

Photo by Kondor83 / Shutterstock

No one knows the exact time when bitters started, but it’s agreed that it was first used medicinally. In 1712, Richard Stoughton, a British clergyman, received a patent for Magnum Elixir Stomachicum, which was an alcohol-based herbal infusion. It was the second compound medicine in the world to receive a patent. Soon, the public was calling it Stoughton’s Bitters. In 1730, he exported it to America.

 

Bitters is made of selected herbs, spices, seeds, dried fruit peels, flora, barks, botanicals, or roots of one’s choice—a witch’s brew of sorts—then preserved in a base of high-proof alcohol. However, some bitters are nonalcoholic and made with glycerin. In the 1800s, these elixirs were advertised as cure-alls and sold in 750 ml bottles. Today, due to the cocktail revolution, there is a huge assortment of bitters on the market just like there was back in the 1880s.

 

Bitters can be dashed into fizzy water and drunk to calm a stomachache, and you can use bitters in food and drinks to add flavor. Bitters doesn’t taste bitter as the name implies. When used in cocktails, it simply adds a dash of concentrated flavor. Most say it seasons the cocktail in the same way salt seasons food. The best way to taste test bitters is through your nose. No, do not sniff. Dash a couple drops in your palm, rub your palms together, then cover your nose and mouth and smell.

 

If you’d like to experiment with making your own medicinal bitters, then these herbs and other plants may be worth exploring: amla berry, ashwagandha, astragalus root, bamboo stem, burdock root, Bupleurum, dandelion root, ellagitannin, fo-ti, gotu kola, gubinge, holy basil, Indian gooseberry, Japanese knotweed, jiaogulan, kudzu leaf, licorce root, maca, mallow leaf, moringa leaf, pine bark, pine needles, pine pollen, red clover, rosehip, sea buckthorn, Siberian ginseng, suma, watercress, and yellowdock root.

 

Angostura Bitters

Since 1824, Angostura bitters has stood the test of time. In 1862, Don Carlos Siegert from Trinidad first exhibited it at the Great London Exposition. The cocktail Pink Gin was invented at the same time, and was called Amargo Aromatico. Angostura bitters won a medal at the 1873 World’s Fair in Vienna, Austria. Many cocktails call for the bitters, including the Champagne Cocktail, Vieux Carré, Pisco Sour, Old-Fashioned, Pink Gin, Manhattan, Rob Roy, Singapore Sling, Planter’s Punch, and Zombie.

 

Peychaud’s Bitters and Boker’s Bitters

The next two most popular bitters in the 1800s were Peychaud’s Bitters (1857) from New Orleans and Boker’s (1828) from New York. Peychaud’s is the red bitters used in a Sazerac or Vieux Carré cocktail. If you ever visit New Orleans, just pop into the local grocery store and take a bottle or two home with you. Boker’s bitters was found in many cocktail recipe books before becoming extinct, but thankfully it has been raised from the dead by Dr. Adam Elmegirab’s Bitters. Some of the vintage cocktails that called for Boker’s include the Japanese Cocktail, Martinez, Manhattan, and Crusta.

 

Orange Bitters and Fee’s Bitters

Orange bitters was called for in the first known Martini recipe seen in print, in 1862. After Prohibition until the early 2000s the only bitters available was Angostura. When Regans’ Orange Bitters No. 6 was produced in 2005 by cocktail author, historian, and bartender Gary Regan, it opened the bitters floodgate. Fee’s Bitters, who had been in business in Rochester, New York, from 1835, also saw a decline in sales when Prohibition began, so they focused on altar wines and continued with wine until the 2000s when the cocktail culture started to flourish. As of 2016, Fee’s now offers seventeen types of bitters, botanical waters, syrups, and more.

 

Bitters Bottles

You may have noticed many little bottles all around the drink-making station of your local bar. Those are bitters bottles. Some will be purchased bitters and some will be made from scratch by your bartenders.

 

Bitters Around the World

Today, there are too many bitters companies to mention and many bartenders are making their own bitters. Never in the history of the cocktail culture has there been so many flavors to choose from. Check out these flavors: Gumbo, Tex-Mex, Memphis BBQ, Holiday Pie, Figgy Pudding, Mi Casa, Creole, Celery Shrub, Hellfire, Winter Melon, Orange Cream, Hoped Grapefruit, Jamaican Jerk, Cherry Bark, Blackstrap, Roasted Macadamia, Wild Mountain Sage, Palo Santo, Vanilla Chai, Hair of the Dog, Bitter Frost, Smoked Chili, and Wormwood Bitters.

 

 

Some of the top companies producing bitters around the world include AZ Bitters Lab, Basement Bitters, Bittercube Bitters, Bitter End Bitters, Bittered Sling Bitters, Dr. Adam Elmegirab’s Bitters, Dram Bitters, El Guapo Bitters, Fees’s Brothers Bitters, Hella Bitter, Old Men Bitters, Scrappy’s Bitters, the Bittered Truth Bitters, the Cocktail Experiment Bitters, and Urban Moonshine Organic Bitters.

 

Digestive Bitters

There are also spirits that have bitter qualities, and many countries have their own. They are measured into cocktails in ounces, not dashes. The most popular include Amer Picon, Aperol, Averna, Becherovka, Campari, Cynar, Fernet, Branca, and Jägermeister.

 

Homemade Bitters Preparation

Before you turn your kitchen into a DIY bitters lab, it is best to prepare. Here are some items to gather.

 

A few quart-sized Mason jars.

 

Any high-proof liquor (80 proof or higher). A lot of beginners like to start with vodka because it’s neutral. But later you can try other spirits such as whiskey and tequila. Just keep in mind they will add to the flavor. 

 

Filters of some sort like cheesecloth, a fine strainer, or a coffee filter.

 

Small dropper or bitters bottles of your choosing.

 

Fancy or plain labels of your choosing, or just use masking tape.

 

A small funnel to fit into the small bottles.

 

Your choice of herbs, spices, seeds, dried fruit peels, whole fresh fruit, flora, botanicals, roots, etc. To help you get started think dried fruit, dried citrus peels, dried flora, coffee beans, peppercorn, star anise, cracked whole nutmeg, juniper berries, cherry bark, etc. Barks may be easier to find online.

 

Once you hunt and gather your ingredients, put them in the jar and fill with the spirit. It will need to infuse for several weeks to draw out the flavor. Each day you should agitate the jar to mix up everything. When ready, strain the mixture into another jar using cheesecloth or a very fine strainer. Some people with use both.

 

The solids that you catch in the strainer then need to be put into a pot with some water and brought to a boil, then simmered for fifteen minutes. Put all of that mixture into a separate jar and let sit for one week.

 

When ready, strain out the solids. The solids can be thrown away. Combine the two jars of liquid you’ve created, and if the end result has sediment in the bottom or floating in the mixture, you’ll need to strain it again.

 

Lastly, you can add a little sweetener to make it more palatable. You can use honey, maple syrup, molasses, or rich simple syrup (two parts sugar to one part water dissolved into a syrup). Shake it all up, and now you are ready to bottle.  

 

 

A Few Bitters Recipes

Basic Bitters

Makes 16 ounces

 

Pinch cardamom

Pinch caraway

Pinch coriander seeds

1 cup dried bitter orange peel

2 cups grain alcohol

2 tablespoons honey

 

Combine all the ingredients into a sterilized jar with a lid and allow to sit in a cool dark place for three weeks, agitating it every day. When ready, strain through cheesecloth or a fine strainer into another jar. Bring the solids caught in the strainer to a boil with water and then simmer for fifteen minutes. Put all that mixture into a lidded jar and allow to sit for one week. When ready, strain and combine with the first strained jar. Add the sweetener, shake, and then funnel into dropper or bitters bottles.

 

Bourbon Pecan Bitters

Makes 16 ounces

 

1/2 cup roasted pecans

2 whole cloves

1 cinnamon stick

1 vanilla bean, split

1 tablespoon wild cherry bark

1 tablespoon gentian root

2 cups high-proof Bourbon

2 tablespoons maple syrup

 

Combine all the ingredients into a sterilized jar with a lid and allow to sit in a cool dark place for three weeks, agitating it every day. When ready, strain through cheesecloth or a fine strainer into another jar. Bring the solids caught in the strainer to a boil with water and then simmer for fifteen minutes. Put all that mixture into a lidded jar and allow to sit for one week. When ready, strain and combine with the first strained jar. Add the sweetener, shake, and then funnel into dropper or bitters bottles.

 

Lavender Bitters

Makes 16 ounces

 

1 cup dried lavender

1/2 cup orange peels

1 vanilla pod, split

2 cups grain alcohol

2 tablespoons agave nectar

 

Combine all the ingredients into a sterilized jar with a lid and allow to sit in a cool, dark place for three weeks, agitating it every day. When ready, strain through cheesecloth or a fine strainer into another jar. Bring the solids caught in the strainer to a boil with water and then simmer for fifteen minutes. Put all that mixture into a lidded jar and allow to sit for one week. When ready, strain and combine with the first strained jar. Add the sweetener, shake, and then funnel into dropper or bitters bottles.

 

Orange Bitters

Makes 16 ounces

 

1 cup orange peels

2 cardamom pods

Pinch coriander seeds

1 teaspoon fennel seed

10 drops gentian extract

2 cups grain alcohol

2 tablespoons rich simple syrup

 

Combine all the ingredients into a sterilized jar with a lid and allow to sit in a cool, dark place for three weeks, agitating it every day. When ready, strain through cheesecloth or a fine strainer into another jar. Bring the solids caught in the strainer to a boil with water and then simmer for fifteen minutes. Put all that mixture into a lidded jar and allow to sit for one week. When ready, strain and combine with the first strained jar. Add the sweetener, shake, and then funnel into dropper or bitters bottles.

Johann Boker created Boker’s bitters in 1828 and one hundred years later, it went extinct. Adam Elmegirab re-created Dr. Adam Elmegirab’s Boker’s Bitters in 2009.

 Adam Elmegirab

Fee Brother's Bitters Flickr by Scott Schiller 

alchemybottleshop.com 

Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle