酒吧和鸡尾酒术语和术语

世界上每个职业都有自己的术语,鸡尾酒界也不例外。

 

86

86意味着两件事;你出事了,或者某人被禁止或被赶出酒吧。

 

后退

一种 旁边放了一小杯不含酒精的饮料。 客人点菜的典型方式是,“我能把 Maker's Mark 弄得干净利落吗?”  

 

酒吧勺

酒吧勺子有一个长柄,您可以用它来搅拌鸡尾酒、分层射击、勺干货,并将浓稠的冷冻/混合饮料从搅拌机罐中引出到玻璃杯中。碗端也可以用作量度或从鸡尾酒、罐子或调味品托盘中舀出一些东西。需要搅拌的流行鸡尾酒包括 Gin Martinis、Manhattans 和 Sazeracs。  

 

要搅拌鸡尾酒,请将您的原料加入混合杯中,然后加入冰块。将勺柄放在中指和无名指之间,然后将勺子插入搅拌杯内部(勺子的碗接触玻璃内部)。搅拌时将碗放在玻璃杯的内侧。二十转是一个很好的轰动。  

 

混合

将电动搅拌器中的成分与冰混合。在美国,一般来说,南方说“冷冻”,北方说“混合”。

 

建造
用大冰块装满玻璃杯,倒入配料。如果你有小而薄的冰,先倒入你的配料,然后加入冰以避免大量稀释。  

 

称呼

呼叫意味着两件事;呼叫品牌是一种烈酒品牌,其价格比最便宜的井/自家品牌的价格有所提高,“呼叫”是指当客人呼叫一个品牌时,例如,“我可以请一位航空杜松子酒内格罗尼吗?”

 

追逐者

一种不含酒精或低酒精的饮料,在喝完烈酒后很快就喝醉了。最好的例子是当有人喝了一口酒并想要一些像小雪碧(不加冰)这样的东西来“追逐”他或她的喉咙。不要与“返回”混淆。  

 

寒意

要冷却玻璃杯,先在玻璃杯中加入冰块和水,然后在制作饮料时让它冷却。或者,将玻璃杯放在冰箱中冷藏。  

 

丘奇基

一个开瓶器。在过去,他们被称为教堂钥匙。有很多可供选择。它们有各种颜色和款式,带有可伸缩卷轴、皮带钩等等。

 

柑橘出版社

柑橘压榨机(也称为柑橘榨汁机)压榨柑橘汁。有电动、手动和手持式挤压器可供选择。

 

冷却器

它曾经是指加了柠檬酸橙苏打水(雪碧)的加冰酒(加了原味) 苏打水,它被称为汽水)。在 1980 年代,瓶装酒柜上市并推出了多种口味。最受欢迎的品牌是 Bartles & Jaymes。今天的品牌,如 因为 Smirnoff Ice 和 Mike's Hard Lemonade 被认为是瓶装冷却器。

 

短跑

几滴或极少量的成分。

 

肮脏的

一般指的是Dirty Martini,意思是加入橄榄卤水。有时,调酒师使用过多的盐水可能会成为问题,因为这会导致客人抱怨,从而导致添加更多的酒精以平衡口味。我在旁边放了冷冻橄榄盐水,所以客人可以自己添加;这种方式可以实现零投诉、浪费产品和浪费时间。或者,为了理解他们想要的最脏的程度,我会笑着问:“你想要它是PG、R还是X级?”

 

干燥

马提尼酒中加入了很少的苦艾酒。客人想要他们的马提尼酒越干,他们想要添加的苦艾酒就越少。另一方面,“湿”马提尼意味着比平常更多的苦艾酒。

 

火焰

要放火。

 

漂浮

轻轻地将烈酒倒在饮料上。  

 

自由倾倒

不使用测量设备。您可以从带有倒嘴的瓶子中自由倒出,然后在脑海中数数。 大多数调酒师“四数”免费倒数 

1 – 2 – 3 – 4。每个计数等于四分之一射,因此计数 4 等于一盎司,计数 8 等于两盎司。  

 

刨丝器

刨丝器(也称为微平面)主要用于磨碎新鲜香料。只需将小型不锈钢刨丝器放在饮料和格栅上即可。需要肉豆蔻磨碎的最受欢迎的饮料包括牛奶冲床和白兰地亚历山大。

 

跳汰机

一种用于测量鸡尾酒酒精度的双面测量工具。它们有大约五种不同的尺寸。但如果你只能买两个,那就买 1 盎司和 2 盎司 和

1.5 & .5 盎司跳汰机。

 

所有的酒精都有不同的重量(密度),酒精含量越高,它就越轻。当您分层拍摄时,您从底部最重的酒精和顶部最轻的酒精开始。假设您想在咖啡利口酒上涂上爱尔兰奶油。只需将一半的小酒杯装满咖啡利口酒,将勺子碗的边缘放在咖啡利口酒的水平面上,然后将爱尔兰奶油轻轻倒在碗上(打破跌落),使其轻轻分层在咖啡上酒。

 

一些调酒师喜欢使用碗的弯曲面,而另一些则喜欢碗的凹面。我还看到调酒师在酒吧勺和樱桃上使用螺旋。基本上,你只需要一些东西来打破秋天,让它慢慢地在上面分层。

 

混合器

搅拌机一般是 提供平衡和 味道 当与酒精混合制成鸡尾酒时。

 

无酒精鸡尾酒

也称为处女或非酒精鸡尾酒。

 

糊涂
用搅拌器将配料混合在一起。用力压碎菠萝、柑橘、生姜等成分。轻轻敲击草药以释放油脂。  

 

整洁的

室温-直接从瓶子里倒出来。没有冰。  

 

在岩石上

过冰。  

 

小马

一匹小马是指一盎司。有一种玻璃叫做小马,可以装一盎司。

 

证明
 测量酒精中乙醇(酒精)的含量。把证明分成两半 你有 白酒的酒精含量百分比例如,100 标准酒精度数是 50% 的酒精。

 

轮缘

在玻璃的边缘添加一些东西。  

 

冲洗

涂在玻璃内部。例子;用苦艾酒冲洗 Sazerac 玻璃杯。冲洗时,您可以在玻璃杯中倒入少许烈酒,然后旋转涂抹内部,以旋转的方式将其抛向空中,或喷洒玻璃内部。我相信我是 2007 年第一个用喷雾冲洗玻璃杯的人。昂贵的苦艾酒刚刚被释放到美国,我正在观察浪费了多少,所以我买了一个旅行喷雾瓶并装满苦艾酒。罗伯特·普洛特金(Robert Plotkin)在他为一本精神杂志写的一篇文章中提到了这一点。

 

来回滚动饮料。  

 

用鸡尾酒调酒器摇晃鸡尾酒加冰块。  

 

摇壶锡

振动器罐用于摇动饮料。你可以找到许多形状的新奇振动筛,但它们都分为两种类型:鞋匠和波士顿。

 

鞋匠摇床由三部分组成,主要由家庭爱好者使用。波士顿型摇酒器由两个部件拼凑在一起来摇动饮料——通常是一个 16 盎司的混合品脱玻璃杯和一个 28 盎司的摇酒罐。

 

喷雾器

一般指加了苏打水的冰酒。

 

拉紧

摇匀后,用滤网过滤鸡尾酒。  

 

过滤器

过滤器可防止摇晃的冰块和其他成分落入玻璃杯中。今天的调酒师使用三种类型的过滤器:Hawthorne、julep 和网状过滤器(或细过滤器)。

    

Hawthorne 过滤器有一个金属线圈,可用于振动筛或混合玻璃的顶部。 Julep 过滤器以一定角度装入混合玻璃杯中。网状过滤器被用作“双过滤器”——这意味着它被固定在玻璃上并用作第二个过滤器,同时从波士顿或朱利普过滤器倒入玻璃中。它确保在进入饮料之前捕获种子或小块。

 

搅拌

将配料倒入搅拌杯中;加冰,然后搅拌。  

 

直线上升

一种 通过摇晃或搅拌冷却的饮料,然后直接冷饮。  

 

这通常是指将柠檬汁(一块果皮)扭曲在鸡尾酒上以释放柠檬油。扭曲后,通常在玻璃边缘轻轻滑动,然后放入饮料中。用于产生扭曲的工具可以是宽削皮器、刀、zester 或槽刀。

 

我更喜欢在饮料上使用垂直通道刀,因为当你切薄层时,它会在饮料顶部(和边缘)喷洒所需的油,并且省去了放下工具的额外步骤,拿起果皮,然后挤压果皮。而且看起来更卫生。

 

应该注意的是,有时客人指的是石灰楔。他们会说,“给我一杯加点的伏特加苏打水。”他们认为扭曲是一个石灰楔,因为这是他们在电影和电视中看到的。

 

处女

也称为无酒精鸡尾酒或无酒精鸡尾酒。

 

服务员的工具

它也被称为葡萄酒工具或开瓶器,用于打开酒瓶、威士忌瓶上的顽固软木塞以及开瓶器。有许多类型可供选择,但真正的调酒师和葡萄酒管家使用“双杠杆”服务员的开瓶器,它带有一把内置的小刀,可以从酒瓶上切下箔纸。您会发现这把刀还有许多其他用途,例如切割酒瓶的包装。

 

这意味着两件事;井是酒吧后面的一个区域,里面装着冰块,在这个区域周围是调酒师制作鸡尾酒所需的大部分东西,包括“井”酒,这些酒被保持在一个速度井中,以便快速方便地获取。每个酒吧都会有伏特加、杜松子酒、朗姆酒、龙舌兰酒等,它们通常是最便宜的品牌。因此,当客人要一杯杜松子酒(注意他们没有说出品牌名称)时,调酒师会伸手去拿“井”杜松子酒来调制饮料。

 

湿的

指的是“湿”的马提尼,这意味着比正常情况下更多的苦艾酒。

 

宽削皮器

这是一个削皮器,就像你在家里用来削蔬菜的削皮器,但削皮器更宽,可以削柑橘皮。作为一个老派调酒师,我真的不明白现在调酒师使用的长宽的柑橘。你不需要在饮料中加入那么多柑橘油。

 

我更喜欢在饮料上使用垂直通道刀,因为当你切薄层时,它会在饮料顶部(和边缘)喷洒所需的油,并且省去了放下工具的额外步骤,拿起果皮,然后挤压果皮。而且看起来更卫生。

Cheryl Charming 设计

更多即将到来!

Lingo & Terminology

Every profession in the world has their own terminology and the cocktail world is no exception.

 

86

86 means two things; you are out of something or someone is banned or thrown out of a bar.

 

Back

A small glass of a non-alcoholic beverage on the side. A typical way a guest would order would be, "Can I get a Maker's Mark neat with a water back?" 

 

Bar Spoon

A bar spoon has a long handle and you use it to stir cocktails, layer shots, spoon dry goods, and guide a thick frozen/blended drink out from the blender pitcher into a glass. The bowl end can also be used as a measurement or to spoon out something from a cocktail, jar, or condiment tray. Popular cocktails that require stirring include Gin Martinis, Manhattans, and Sazeracs. 

 

To stir a cocktail, add your ingredients into a mixing glass and then add ice. Place the handle of the spoon between your middle and ring fingers, then insert the spoon to the inside of the mixing glass (bowl of the spoon touching the inside of the glass). Keep the bowl on the inside of the glass as you stir around. Twenty revolutions is a good stir. 

 

Blend

To mix up ingredients in an electric blender with ice. In America, generally, the South says “frozen” and the North says “blended.”

 

Build
Fill a glass with large ice and pour in the ingredients. If you have small, thin ice, pour your ingredients in first and then add the ice to avoid a lot of dilution. 

 

Call

Call means two things; a call brand is a spirit brand that is a step up in price from the least expensive well/house brand and "call" means when a guest calls out a brand such as, "Can I please get an Aviation gin Negroni?"

 

Chaser

A non-alcoholic or low-alcoholic drink that is quickly drunk after a strong alcoholic drink. The best example is when someone drinks a shot and wants something like a little Sprite (without ice) to "chase" it down his or her throat. Not to be confused with "back." 

 

Chill

To chill a glass, add ice and then water to the glass and allow it to chill while you are making the drink. Alternatively, keep glasses chilled in the freezer. 

 

Churchkey

A bottle opener. Back in the day they were called churchkeys. There are many to choose from. They come in all colors and styles, with retractable reels, belt hooks, and so much more.

 

Citrus Press

A citrus press (also called a citrus squeezer) presses citrus juice. There are electric, manual, and handheld squeezers to choose from.

 

Cooler

It used to mean wine over ice with lemon-lime soda (Sprite) added (with plain soda water it's called a spritzer). In the 1980s the bottled wine cooler hit the market and carried on with several flavors. The most popular brand was Bartles & Jaymes. Today brands such as Smirnoff Ice and Mike’s Hard Lemonade are considered bottled coolers.

 

Dash

A few drops or a very small amount of an ingredient.

 

Dirty

Generally refers to a Dirty Martini, which means adding olive brine. Sometimes, it can become an issue when bartenders use too much brine because this can result in guests' complaining, which therefore results in adding more alcohol to balance the taste. I have served chilled olive brine on the side so guests can add their own; this way results in zero complaints, wasted product, and wasted time. Or, to understand the level of dirtiest they want, I will ask with a smile, "Do you want it PG, R, or X-rated?"

 

Dry

Very little vermouth added to a Martini. The drier the guest wants their Martini, the less vermouth they want to be added. On the flip-side, a "wet" Martini means more vermouth than normal.

 

Flame

To set on fire.

 

Float

Gently pour a spirit on top of a drink. 

 

Free Pour

Not using a measuring device. You pour freely from a bottle with a pour spout and count in your head. Most bartenders “four count” free pour to a count of  

1 – 2 – 3 – 4. Each count equals a quarter shot, so a 4 count would equal one ounce and an 8 count would equal two ounces. 

 

Grater

A grater (also know as a Microplane) is used mostly to grate fresh spices. Just hold the small, stainless-steel grater over the drink and grate. The most popular drinks that require nutmeg grating include Milk Punch and a Brandy Alexander.

 

Jigger

A two-sided measurement tool to measure alcohol for cocktails. They come in about five different sizes. But if you can only buy two, get 1 ­& 2 ounce and

1.5 & .5 ounce jiggers.

 

Layer

All alcohols have different weights (densities) and the higher the alcohol content the lighter it will be. When you layer a shot, you start with the heaviest alcohol on the bottom and the lightest on top. Let us say you want to layer Irish cream on top of coffee liqueur. Simply fill half of the shot glass with coffee liqueur, set the edge of the spoon bowl on top of the coffee liqueur level, and gently pour the Irish cream on the bowl (breaking the fall) so that it gently layers on top of the coffee liqueur.

 

Some bartenders like to use the curved side of the bowl and others like the concave side of the bowl. I've also seen bartenders use the spiral on a bar spoon and a cherry. Basically, you just need something to break the fall so that it slowly layers on top.

 

Mixer

Mixers are generally nonalcoholic ingredients that provide balance and flavor when mixed with alcohol to create a cocktail.

 

Mocktail

Also called virgin or non-alcoholic cocktail.

 

Muddle
To mash up ingredients with a muddler. Crush hard for ingredients like pineapple, citrus, ginger, etc. Softly tap herbs just to release the oils. 

 

Neat

Room-temperature-pour straight from the bottle. No ice. 

 

On the Rocks

Over ice. 

 

Pony

A pony refers to one ounce. There is a glass called a pony that holds one ounce.

 

Proof
The measure of the content of ethanol (alcohol) in a spirit. Divide proof in half and you have the percentage alcohol content of the liquor. For example, a 100 proof spirit is 50% alcohol.

 

Rim

To add something to the rim of the glass. 

 

Rinse

To coat the inside of the glass. Example; a Sazerac glass is rinsed with absinthe. To rinse, you can pour a little of the spirit in a glass and twirl around coating the inside, throw up in the air in a spinning motion, or spray the inside of the glass. I believe I was the first to rinse a glass by spraying in 2007. Pricey absinthe had just been released into America and I was watching how much was being wasted, so I bought one of those travel spray bottles and filled it with absinthe. Robert Plotkin included this in an article he wrote for a spirit magazine.

 

Roll

To roll a drink back and forth. 

 

Shake

To shake a cocktail with ice with a cocktail shaker. 

 

Shaker Tin

A shaker tin is used to shake a drink. You can find novelty shakers in many shapes, but they all break down into two types: cobbler and Boston.

 

Cobbler shakers consist of three pieces and are mostly used by home enthusiasts. A Boston-type shaker consists of two components pieced together to shake a drink—normally a sixteen-ounce mixing pint glass and a twenty-eight-ounce shaker tin.

 

Spritzer

Generally refers to wine on ice with soda water added.

 

Strain

After shaking, strain the cocktail with a strainer. 

 

Strainer

A strainer keeps ice and other ingredients that have been shaken from falling into the glass. Bartenders today use three types of strainers: Hawthorne, julep, and mesh (or fine strainer).

    

Hawthorne strainers have a metal coil and can be used on top of a shaker tin or a mixing glass. Julep strainers fit at an angle into a mixing glass. A mesh strainer is used as a “double strainer”—meaning that it’s held over the glass and used as a second strainer while pouring into the glass from a Boston or julep strainer. It makes sure seeds or small bits are caught before going into the drink.

 

Stir

Pour ingredients into a mixing glass; add ice, and then stir. 

 

Straight Up

A drink that is chilled by shaking or stirring then served cold straight up. 

 

Twist

This generally refers to a lemon twist (piece of the rind) that is twisted over a cocktail to release lemon oils. After twisted, it is usually gently swiped around the glass rim then dropped into the drink. Tools used to create a twist can be a wide peeler, knife, zester, or channel knife.

 

I prefer using a vertical channel knife over the drink because as you cut a thin layer and it sprays the oil needed on the top of the drink (and rim) plus saves the extra steps of having to lay down your tool, pick up the peel, and squeeze the peel. Plus it looks more sanitary.

 

It should be noted that sometimes guests mean a lime wedge. They will say something like, "Give me a vodka soda with a twist." They think a twist is a lime wedge because that's what they see in movies and TV.

 

Virgin

Also called Mocktail or non-alcoholic cocktail.

 

Waiter's Tool

It is also called a wine tool or corkscrew and is used to open bottles of wine, stubborn corks on whiskey bottles, and as bottle openers. Many types are available, but real bartenders and wine stewards use a “double lever” waiter’s corkscrew, which comes with a small built-in knife to cut the foil off a wine bottle. You will find the knife can serve many other purposes such as cut wrappings off liquor bottles.

 

Well

It means two things; a well is an area behind a bar that houses the ice and around this area is most of the things a bartender needs to make a cocktail including the "well" liquors that are kept in a speed well for fast and easy access. Every bar will have a well vodka, gin, rum, tequila, etc. and they are normally the least expensive brands. So when a guest asks for a Gin and Tonic (notice they did not call out a brand name) then the bartender will reach down and grab the "well" gin to make the drink.

 

Wet

Refers to a "wet" Martini, which means more vermouth than normal.

 

Wide Peeler

This is a peeler much like you have at home to peel vegetables but wider to cut citrus rinds. As an old-school bartender, I really don't understand the long wide citrus current bartenders use. You don't need that much citrus oil in a drink.

 

I prefer using a vertical channel knife over the drink because as you cut a thin layer and it sprays the oil needed on the top of the drink (and rim) plus saves the extra steps of having to lay down your tool, pick up the peel, and squeeze the peel. Plus it looks more sanitary.

Design by Cheryl Charming

More to come!

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle