冰是鸡尾酒制作中最重要的成分之一。它必须受到尊重并保持清洁。冰在搅拌或摇动鸡尾酒时提供的冷水稀释度对于鸡尾酒的味道至关重要。

 

1883 年,马克吐温出版了《密西西比河上的生活》 ,在第 117 页他说:“在我的时代,冰是珠宝;只有富人才能穿。但现在任何人和每个人都可以拥有它。”

 

1800 年代初,来自波士顿的 23 岁商人弗雷德里克·都铎 (Frederic Tudor) 望向一个白色结冰的池塘,只看到绿色。 Tudor 成为“波士顿冰王”,他很快了解到从湖泊和池塘中采集冰块被证明是一项极其劳动密集型的业务。工人们处理冰冻的温度、锋利的工具、沉重的冰块以及防止冰块融化的方法。在 1800 年代初期,冰只对富人可用——就像吐温所说的那样——但到了 1850 年代,它变成了一种商品。都铎王朝将冰块运送到世界各地——创造了冰块贸易。而且由于不仅仅是东北美洲,还有更多地方的湖泊和池塘结冰,其他采冰公司很快就开业了。

 

到 1800 年代,一些温暖的南方城市建造了人工制冰厂。吐温通过参观新奥尔良一家制冰厂的观察让我们瞥见了过去(在他的书中):

“沉在地板上的是无数的锡盒,一英尺见方,两英尺长,顶端开口。里面装满了清水;每个盒子周围装满了盐和其他合适的东西此外,氨气以某种方式应用于水中,这对我来说永远是个秘密,因为我无法理解这个过程。当盒子里的水逐渐结冰时,人们偶尔会用一根棍子搅拌一两下——我想是为了释放气泡。其他人不断地取出里面的东西已经结冰的盒子。他们将盒子浸入一大桶沸水中,将锡棺中的冰块融化,然后他们将冰块射到平台车上,然后就可以上市了。”

 

吐温接着描述了一些透明的冰块是如何将物品冷冻在里面的,比如鲜花花束、穿着缎面连衣裙的法国娃娃,以及其他漂亮的物品,这些物品被放在餐桌中央盘子上以冷却房间。   

 

1889 年和 1890 年,美国经历了破纪录的暖冬,采冰工作陷入停滞。到 1900 年,美国有近 1,000 家制冰厂向酒吧、杂货店和家庭运送货物。冰以冰块的形式交付;然后买家可以切碎、刮胡子或用手锯。

 

 

今天,我们有了商用制冰机,而且自从当前的鸡尾酒革命开始以来,工艺酒吧对冰块的需求一直存在——因此小型精品冰店应运而生。一个很好的例子是最喜欢的冰,华盛顿特区的第一家定制制冰公司,由 Joseph Ambrose 和 Caleb Marindin 领导。他们为华盛顿地区的许多工艺酒吧提供特殊的冰块。
 

冰的种类

今天的许多手工酒吧都有“冰上计划”。

这意味着他们生产并提供各种类型的冰。冰可以来自机器或模具,也可以手工制作。类型包括碎冰、鹅卵石冰、刨冰、冰球(球)、大块冰、圆柱冰、冰块,当然还有其他任何可以激发想象力的东西。

 

碎冰

碎冰就像你用来制作雪锥的冰。价格从 20 美元到 2000 美元不等的各种机器都可以用来碎冰。一些调酒师使用“Lewis”帆布袋制作碎冰。你把冰块放进袋子里,然后用木槌敲打它,直到冰块被压碎。

 

鹅卵石冰

鹅卵石冰也称为颗粒冰和块冰。它是柔软的小冰块。最好的来自机器,购买它的最佳地点是您当地的 Sonic Drive-In。他们用冰做他们著名的雪泥,并以 1 美元的价格出售 10 磅的袋装冰。我知道这一点,因为我这辈子买了几百袋。用于鸡尾酒时,最好最后加入冰块,否则酒精和配料会融化得太快。

 

刨冰

刨冰就是它听起来的样子。锋利的刀片刮过冰的表面,产生柔软且非常细腻的雪白蓬松冰。新奥尔良以其使用这种冰的雪球而闻名。液体成分不会像雪锥一样沉到底部;相反,它们成为冰的一部分。

 

冰球

冰球(球)是在日本创造的。在日本,冰受到高度尊重。大多数酒吧没有制冰机;他们依靠冰块运送服务,然后将冰块切成小块。大约在 2005 年,冰球成为日本调酒师制作的最著名的形状。他们用冰镐手工制作,耗时五到七分钟。视频可以在 YouTube 上看到。到 2010 年,美国人开始制作任何人都可以购买的冰球模具。通过谷歌搜索可以很容易地找到它们。或者,在紧要关头,您可以装满水气球并通过保持它们的形状尽可能圆来冷冻它们。

 

2008年,来自旧金山的Roberto Sequeira推出了第一家豪华优质冰块公司Gläce Luxury Ice 提供冰球(球)和大块冰块送货上门。今天,他们为迪斯尼乐园、希尔顿酒店、Avia 酒店、文华东方酒店和圆石滩度假村供应豪华冰块。
 

大块冰

一英寸立方体是最流行的立方体尺寸。他们制造昂贵的商用机器,或者您可以购买硅胶模具。同样,同样的科学适用于这种冰将更少的水稀释到您的饮料中。

 

圆筒冰

圆柱冰呈长圆柱状,可以放入高玻璃杯中。

 

冰块

这就是一切的开始。许多工艺酒吧喜欢有一块可见的冰块,这样您就可以看到调酒师使用冰镐为您的饮料刨冰 - 就像过去一样。调酒师还将把块切成不同大小的方形,用于各种玻璃杯和鸡尾酒。

自制冰

您可以在家中使用各种模具冰盘、回收物品和厨房周围的各种其他物品制作自己的冰块。

 

自制碎冰

如果你没有碎冰机,你可以把冰块放在餐巾纸或厨房毛巾中央,包起来,然后用木槌或带把手的重物敲击它。请注意不要碰到手指。

 

硅胶冰盘和模具

这是制作有趣形状的冰的最简单方法。硅胶冰盘和模具有多种形状。总是买大的,因为小的在饮料中融化得很快。您甚至可以通过冷冻果汁和其他混合器(如椰子水、黄瓜水、咖啡、姜汁啤酒或任何您想要的东西)来为冰块调味。您还可以添加鲜花、糖果、水果或其他任何能激发您想象力的东西。

 

自制冰块

可以在潘趣碗中使用一块冰来保持潘趣冷。只需切断顶部即可回收半加仑牛奶或果汁盒。清洁容器,装满水,然后冷冻。当您需要冰块时,撕下纸盒并将其放入打孔碗中。您也可以冷冻果汁或冲头中的搅拌器,因此该块只会融化碗中的搅拌器,而不会用水稀释冲头。

 

使用纸盒的另一种方法是将一瓶您选择的酒或利口酒放入纸盒中,然后装满三分之二的水并冷冻。冷冻后,撕掉纸,瓶子周围有一块冰。在整个冷冻阶段,您可以添加切片水果、香草、鲜花或任何您想要的东西。

 

杯子是半满的

2014 年,我提出了我所谓的“玻璃半满”技术。我不想花任何钱在模具,所以我煮沸了蒸馏水,并在老式玻璃杯中装满了一半的水。然后我用保鲜膜盖住眼镜,把它们放在冰箱里直到需要。准备好后,我从冰箱里拿出一个玻璃杯,扔掉塑料,把鸡尾酒滤在冰上。为了更进一步,我购买了点燃的杯垫来展示鸡尾酒。
 

 

清冰

在小规模上,您可以通过购买蒸馏水然后将其煮沸三遍来制成几乎透明的冰。只需将其煮沸,将其关闭冷却,然后重复该过程。用这种水填充冰块托盘、冰球模具等。

在没有当地公司参与的情况下,您可以使用由受欢迎的饮料作家和博主 Camper English 在 2009 年创建的定向冷冻技术来制作自己的透明冰块。你需要的物品有:一个大的硬面冰屋冷却器、一个大的伸手可及的冰箱(就像你父母放在后廊的那种)、水、手锯、锤子、凿子和一对好的橡胶手套。定向冷冻是一种简单的方法,通过控制水结冰的方向来制造晶莹剔透的冰。

通过定向冷冻制作透明冰块的最简单(也是原始)方法是在硬边野餐冷却器中装满水,将其放入冷冻室,然后在冷却器顶部关闭的情况下使其冷冻。水只会自上而下结冰,只有最后 25 %左右的冰块是混浊的。如果在此之前将冰块从冰箱中取出,将会有一块完全透明的冰块。否则,冰块底部的混浊部分可以与透明部分分开。

Ice

Ice is one of the most important ingredients in cocktail making. It must be respected and kept clean. The cold water dilution that ice provides when stirring or shaking a cocktail is essential to the taste of a cocktail.

 

In 1883, Mark Twain published Life on the Mississippi and on page 117 he says, “In my time, ice was jewelry; none but the rich could wear it. But anybody and everybody can have it now.”

 

In the early 1800s, a twenty-three-year-old businessman from Boston named Frederic Tudor looked out on a white frozen pond and saw nothing but green. Tudor became the “Boston Ice King” and he soon learned that harvesting ice from lakes and ponds proved to be an extremely labor-intensive business. Workers dealt with freezing temperatures, sharp tools, heavy blocks of ice, and methods of keeping the blocks from melting. Ice in the first part of the 1800s was only available to the wealthy—like Twain said—but by the 1850s it grew into a commodity. Tudor transported ice to many places around the world—creating the ice trade. And since water freezes on lakes and ponds in many more places than just Northeast America, it didn’t take long for other ice harvesting companies to open.

 

By the 1800s some warm Southern cities built artificial ice factories. Twain gives us a glimpse of the past (in his book) through his observations of visiting a New Orleans ice factory:

“Sunk into the floor were numberless tin boxes, a foot square and two feet long, and open at the top end. These were full of clear water; and around each box, salt and other proper stuff was packed; also, the ammonia gases were applied to the water in some way which will always remain a secret to me, because I was not able to understand the process. While the water in the boxes gradually froze, men gave it a stir or two with a stick occasionally—to liberate the air-bubbles, I think. Other men were continually lifting out boxes whose contents had become hard frozen. They gave the box a single dip into a vat of boiling water, to melt the block of ice free from its tin coffin, then they shot the block out upon a platform car, and it was ready for market.”

 

Twain goes on to describe how some of the clear blocks of ice have items frozen inside such as bouquets of flowers, French dolls with satin dresses, and other pretty items that were placed on platters in the center of dinner tables to cool the room.  

 

In 1889 and 1890, America had record-breaking warm winters and ice harvesting came to a dead stop. By 1900, there were almost 1,000 ice plants in America delivering to bars, grocers, and homes. Ice was delivered in the form of ice blocks; then the buyer could chip, shave, or hand-saw it.

 

 

Today, we have commercial ice machines, and since the start of the current cocktail revolution, there has been a demand for blocked ice in craft bars—so small boutique ice shops have popped up. One good example is Favourite Ice, the first custom ice company in Washington, DC, which is headed up by Joseph Ambrose and Caleb Marindin. They provide special cut ice to many craft bars in the DC area.
 

Types of Ice

Many craft bars today have “ice programs.”

This means that they produce and offer a variety type of ice. The ice can come from a machine or molds, or be handmade. Types include crushed ice, pebbled ice, shaved ice, ice spheres (balls), large cubed ice, cylinder ice, ice blocks, and of course, whatever else the imagination will spark.

 

Crushed Ice

Crushed ice is like the ice you would use to make a snow cone. A variety of machines costing anywhere from twenty dollars to two thousand dollars can be used to crush ice. Some bartenders use a “Lewis” canvas bag to make crushed ice. You place ice into the bag and then bang on it with a mallet until the ice is crushed.

 

Pebbled Ice

Pebbled ice is also called pellet and nugget ice. It is soft little pieces of ice. The best comes from a machine and the best place to buy it is at your local Sonic Drive-In. They use the ice for their famous slushies and sell ten-pound bags of it for one dollar. I know this because I have bought several hundred bags in my lifetime. When using it for cocktails, it is best to add this ice last or the alcohol and ingredients will melt it down too fast.

 

Shaved Ice

Shaved ice is just what it sounds like. A sharp blade shaves the surface of the ice, which results in a soft and very fine snow-white fluffy ice. New Orleans is famous for their Snow Balls that use this type of ice. The liquid ingredients do not sink to the bottom like in a snow cone; rather they become part of the ice.

 

Ice Spheres

The ice sphere (ball) was created in Japan. In Japan, ice is highly respected. Most bars do not own ice machines; they rely on ice delivery service, then cut the ice into small blocks. Around 2005, the ice sphere became the most famous shape that Japanese bartenders would make. They made it by hand with an ice pick and took between five and seven minutes. Videos can be seen on YouTube. By 2010, Americans began to make ice ball molds that anyone could purchase. They can be easily found by googling. Alternatively, in a pinch, you can fill up water balloons and freeze them by keeping their form the roundest you can.

 

In 2008, Roberto Sequeira from San Francisco launched the first luxury high-quality ice company, Gläce Luxury Ice , offering ice spheres (balls) and large cubes delivered to your door. Today, they supply luxury ice to Disneyland, Hilton Properties, Avia Hotels, Mandarin Oriental Hotel, and the Pebble Beach Resorts.
 

Large Cubed Ice

One-inch cubes are the most popular cubed size. They make expensive commercial machines or you can purchase silicone molds. Again, the same science applies in that this ice dilutes less water into your drink.

 

Cylinder Ice

Cylinder ice is long cylinder–shaped to fit down into a tall glass.

 

Ice Block

This is where it all started. Many craft bars like to have a block of ice visible so you can watch bartenders use an ice pick to chip off ice for your drink—like in the old days. Bartenders will also take the block and cut it down into different-sized square shapes for a variety of glasses and cocktails.

Homemade Ice

You can make your own ice creations at home by using various molds, ice trays, recycled items, and various other things found around the kitchen.

 

Homemade Crushed Ice

If you don’t have a crushed ice machine, you can place ice in the center of a cloth napkin or kitchen towel, wrap it up, and then whack on it with a mallet or something heavy with a handle. Just be careful not to hit your fingers.

 

Silicone Ice Trays and Molds

This is the easiest way to make fun-shaped ice. Silicone ice trays and molds come in a variety of shapes. Always buy large shapes because the small ones melt very fast in a drink. You can even flavor your ice by freezing juices and other mixers such as coconut water, cucumber water, coffee, ginger beer, or whatever you want. You can also add flowers, candy, pieces of fruit, or anything else that sparks your imagination.

 

Homemade Ice Blocks

A block of ice can be used in a punch bowl to keep the punch cold. Just recycle a half-gallon milk or juice carton by cutting off the top. Clean the container, fill it with water, and then freeze. When you need the block of ice, rip the paper carton off and place it in the punch bowl. You can also freeze juice or a mixer that is in the punch, so the block only melts mixer in the bowl and does not dilute the punch with water.

 

Another way to use the paper cartons is to set a bottle of liquor or liqueur of your choice into the carton, then fill two-thirds with water and freeze. When frozen, tear away the paper and you have a block of ice around a bottle. Throughout the freezing stages, you can add sliced fruit, herbs, flowers, or anything you want.

 

The Glass Is Half Full

In 2014, I came up with what I call the “glass is half full” technique. I didn’t want to spend any money on molds, so I boiled distilled water and filled up Old-Fashioned glasses half with water. I then covered the glasses with plastic wrap and kept them in the freezer until needed. When ready, I removed a glass from the freezer, discarded the plastic, and strained the cocktail on top of the ice. To take it a step further I purchased lighted coasters to present the cocktail.
 

 

Clear Ice

On a small scale, you can make almost clear ice by purchasing distilled water then boiling it three times. Just bring it to a boil, shut it off to cool, and then repeat the process. Use this water to fill ice cubes trays, ice ball molds, etc.

On a large scale—without getting a local company involved—you can make your own clear block of ice using the directional freezing technique that was created in 2009 by popular drinks writer and blogger Camper English. Items you will need are: a large hard-sided Igloo cooler, a large reach-in freezer (like the kind your parents kept on the back porch), water, a handsaw, a hammer, a chisel, and a good pair of rubber gloves. Directional freezing is a simple method to make crystal clear ice by controlling the direction that water freezes.

The simplest (and original) way to make a clear ice block by directional freezing is to fill a hard-sided picnic cooler with water, place it into a freezer, and allow it to freeze with the cooler's top off. The water will only freeze into ice from the top-down, and only the last 25 percent or so of the ice block that forms will be cloudy. If the block is removed from the freezer before this point, one will have a perfectly clear slab of ice. Otherwise, the bottom cloudy portion of the ice block can be cut off from the clear part. 

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle