酒吧礼仪

酒吧礼仪

 照片由pxhere /  知识共享 CC0

世界上每个职业都可以列出十件他们想让你知道的事情。牙医希望女性不要在约会时涂口红;下班的医生希望您不要问有关您的疼痛的问题;超市收银员希望你能从篮子里取出物品,而不是把它放在腰带上。 

giphy-11.gif

调酒师想让你知道的事情

调酒师想让你知道的事情

现金提示为王。在美国,双月付款很常见,因此调酒师必须等待两周才能获得应税的信用卡小费。现金小费是王道,因为它给了调酒师一点消费现金。

 

如果调酒师要求您提供有效身份证件,请将其视为恭维。人生有一扇小窗,让你变得年轻美丽,尽情享受吧!调酒师不喜欢花时间检查你的身份证,因为这会减慢他们的速度,但他们必须遵守州法律和工作政策才能保住工作。

 

如果不给小费,调酒师就会赔钱。假设您不给 10 美元的饮料小费。这种饮料的销售仍需向政府报告,然后征收 8% 的税。税款从他们的时薪中扣除。因此,每小时 6 美元的调酒师工作可以很快变成每小时 1 美元的工作。调酒师根本没有得到支票是很常见的。

 

要一杯高杯或少加冰块的饮料并不意味着你会喝更多的酒。这仅意味着您可以将饮料装在带有额外搅拌器的高玻璃杯中。含冰量少的饮料是指正常份量的酒精和含较少冰块的混合器。如果你想要更多的酒,那么你需要点双份。

 

保持尊重并在酒吧关闭时离开酒吧。 “Last call”通常在关门前半小时发出,到关门时灯会亮起。调酒师在回家之前还有两个小时兑现、做文书工作、储存、清洁和拖出垃圾,所以不要为他们增加额外的时间。

 

当你说:“给我上钩!让我的酒更浓!把它做好!”调酒师听到的是,“嘿,我知道我们彼此不认识,你可能会被解雇,但请你帮我偷点酒好吗?”酒吧是商店,调酒师是推销员。他们出售他人拥有的产品,因此不能赠送不属于他们的东西。拿走不属于自己的东西的人,叫做小偷。是的,一些酒吧老板允许使用小型补偿选项卡,但调酒师会谨慎使用它并用于有效补偿,而不是为您偷东西。

 

请不要宣布,“我是调酒师”或“我曾经是调酒师”,因为真正的调酒师永远不会这么说。调酒师通过你的行为知道你在这个行业。

 

当酒吧忙时,请停止交出多张卡片来拆分您的标签。如果您坚持单独支付,那么从一开始就开始单独的标签,或者通过轮流购买来做最好的事情。

大多数工作要么是体力的,要么是脑力的。调酒两者兼而有之。调酒师在前两个小时为当天设置酒吧,最后两个小时关闭。夹在中间,他们一直在脑海中记住十件事(名称、价格、饮料订单、标签、鸡尾酒配方等),做出许多五秒钟的决定(无论您是否已成年、是否醉酒、是否安全等) .),处理许多性格类型,必须弯腰、伸手、蹲下和抬起。这是身体和精神上的消耗。

 

 

为您的媒体设备充电和保养不是调酒师的责任。带上您的充电线,我们很乐意让您知道插座的位置。媒体报道:请不要将手机推到酒吧工作人员面前,因为鸡尾酒配方含有四种以上的成分。

 

 

荣誉奖

不要再被那些不给你付钱的酒的懒惰调酒师扯掉了。

 

示例 #1:您订购了四份冷藏的赞助人银牌。当调酒师用冰块摇晃龙舌兰酒(使其冷却)时,水会融化到龙舌兰酒中。现在所有四杯都不能装进四杯,所以一定要告诉酒保你想要更多的酒。你为此付出了代价,所以你应得的。

 

示例 2:您点了一份冷冻饮品,调酒师在搅拌机中手工制作。搅拌机里的所有东西都是你的,所以不要让他们把成品饮料倒进玻璃杯里,然后在搅拌机里放一些剩菜。你需要要剩余的酒,因为你已经为那酒付了钱。

如何在酒吧点鸡尾酒

如何在酒吧点鸡尾酒

当酒吧很忙时,当调酒师接近您时,请务必准备好您的订单。如果您有问题或想就鸡尾酒和选择进行对话,请让调酒师知道,这样他们就可以适应在他们的流程中执行此操作所需的时间。调酒师可能会为您提供一些想法和菜单,给您一点时间,然后再与您联系。调酒师想给你好的服务,但他们也想给大家好的服务。如果酒吧速度较慢,那么调酒师将能够花更多时间陪伴您。

 

当你知道你想要什么时,先命名酒,然后再命名你的调酒器。另外,“叫”你的酒(意思是叫你想要的品牌)。示例包括 Grey Goose & Cranberry、Jack & Coke、Bombay & Tonic、Ketel One 螺丝刀、Knob Creek Rye Old-Fashioned 和 Malibu & Pineapple。

 

饮料。这些也被称为铁路或家庭饮料。它们是最便宜的混合饮料。当您要求 Gin & Tonic 时,调酒师会使用最便宜的杜松子酒来调制您的饮品。但是,很多公司酒吧都要求调酒师加价,所以调酒师会问你是否有喜欢的杜松子酒,或者你想使用你最喜欢的杜松子酒等。如果你真的想要最便宜的杜松子酒,那就帮忙调酒师要了一杯杜松子酒。这为调酒师消除了很多时间和单调。

 

订购需要详细信息的饮料时,请务必提供详细信息。例子包括:加盐的岩石上的 Herradura Reposado Margarita; Bombay Sapphire Martini 直升,用橄榄和扭曲搅拌; Belvedere Vodka Martini 笔直向上,摇晃着摇晃;双 Glenlivet 12,整洁,带水背; Hendrick's Negroni with Aperol up;和吉姆比姆黑麦曼哈顿在岩石上。 (“Up”是straight up的缩写。straight up意味着它已经被冷却(用冰块摇晃),然后过滤到玻璃杯中。“Neat”意味着它在室温下从瓶子里倒出来。)

 

当调酒师为您调制鸡尾酒/鸡尾酒时,请开始准备好您的钱。如果您想创建一个标签,请准备好您的信用卡。交付鸡尾酒后,调酒师的下一步是确保交易。许多人身上都有摄像头,他们需要跟进交易流程。

 

 

以下是人们对调酒师说的一些常见的事情,以及如何做和说得更好。

 

你:有什么好?给我惊喜!
 很高兴您想尝试新事物,但请缩小范围。首先,我们不知道您喜欢或不喜欢什么口味、烈酒和鸡尾酒类型。其次,我们不知道您是否患有乳糖不耐症、对坚果过敏或有任何饮食问题。我们也不知道您有什么心情。你在庆祝什么吗?你想要一些热的、酒的、清爽的、果味的、奶油味的、经典的等等吗?

询问调酒师的更好方法包括:

“我喜欢带有果味的伏特加饮料。我也喜欢生姜、巧克力或薄荷的味道。你能给我做点高大上的清爽吗?”

 

“你能给我做点什么吗?我什么都玩。我唯一不喜欢的酒是龙舌兰酒和唯一的其他
我不喜欢的味道甘草。我想在岩石上喝点酒。”

 

“我在庆祝!你能给我用香槟做一些历史性的东西吗?”

 

“我在纽约市喝了一杯精酿鸡尾酒,里面有一种我非常喜欢的辛辣利口酒。你能用波旁威士忌给我做点辣的吗?”

 

你: “我可以喝啤酒吗?”
我知道他们在电影中会这样做,但在现实生活中却行不通。环顾水龙头或玻璃冷却器,或索要啤酒菜单。大多数酒吧提供多种啤酒。

 

你: “我们可以喝三杯龙舌兰酒吗?”
是的,你可以,但你想要什么样的龙舌兰酒?你要盐吗?你想要酸橙吗?

订购龙舌兰酒的方法包括:

 

“我们可以用盐和酸橙来喝三杯赞助人银牌吗?”

 

“我们需要三杯冰镇的唐胡里奥雷波萨多配酸橙。”

 

“我们想要三杯不含盐或酸橙的龙舌兰酒”

 

别人怎么说

BuzzFeed-logo-vector.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 1.46.24 PM.png
Business-Insider.jpg
logo.png

Bar Etiquette

Bar Etiquette

 Photo by pxhere / Creative Commons CC0

Every profession in the world could list ten things they want you to know. Dentists wish women wouldn’t wear lipstick to appointments; off-duty doctors wish you wouldn’t ask questions about your aches and pains; and supermarket cashiers wish you would take items out of the basket instead of sitting it on the belt. 

Things Bartenders Want You to Know

Things Bartenders Want You to Know

Cash tips are king. It is common in America to be paid bimonthly, so bartenders have to wait two weeks to get their taxed credit card tips. Cash tips are king because it gives the bartender a little spending cash.

 

If a bartender asks you for a valid ID, take it as a compliment. There is a small window in life where you get to be young and beautiful, so enjoy it! Bartenders don’t enjoy taking time to check your ID because it slows them down, but they have to follow state laws and work policies in order to keep their jobs.

 

Bartenders lose money if not tipped. Let us say that you do not tip on your $10 drink. The sale of that drink is still reported to the government and then taxed eight per cent. The tax is taken out of their hourly pay. So, a $6 an hour bartender job can very quickly turn into a $1 an hour job. It is common for a bartender to not get a check at all.

 

Asking for a drink in a tall glass or with less ice does not mean you get more alcohol. It only means that you get your drink served in a tall glass with extra mixer. A drink with less ice means normal portions of alcohol and mixer with less ice. If you want more alcohol, then you will need to order a double.

 

Be respectful and leave the bar when it closes. "Last call" is normally given one half-hour before closing, and lights come up when it’s closing time. Bartenders have another two hours cashing out, doing paperwork, stocking, cleaning, and hauling out the trash before they can go home, so don’t add extra time for them.

 

When you say, “Hook me up! Make my drink strong! Make it a good one!” what bartenders hear is, “Hey, I know we don’t know each other and you could get fired, but will you please steal some booze for me?” Bars are a store and bartenders are the salespeople. They sell products owned by other people, and therefore cannot give away things that are not theirs. A person who takes things that are not theirs is called a thief. Yes, some bar owners allow a small comp tab, but bartenders use it with discretion and for valid comps—not to steal something for you.

 

Please do not announce, “I’m a bartender” or “I used to be a bartender” because real bartenders would never say that. Bartenders know you are in the biz by your actions.

 

Please stop handing over multiple cards to split your tabs when the bar is busy. If you insist on paying separately, then begin separate tabs at the beginning or do the best thing by taking turns buying rounds.

Most jobs are either physical or mental. Bartending is both. Bartenders spend their first two hours setting up the bar for the day and their last two hours closing down. Sandwiched in between they are remembering ten things in their head at all times (names, prices, drink orders, tabs, cocktail recipes, etc.), making many five-second decisions (whether you are of age, too intoxicated, safe, etc.), dealing with many personality types, and having to bend, reach, squat, and lift. It’s physically and mentally draining.

 

 

It is not the bartender’s responsibility to charge and take care of your media devices. Bring your charge cord and we will be happy to let you know where the outlets are located. On the media note: please do not push your cell phone in bar staff faces with a cocktail recipe that has more than four ingredients.

 

 

Honorable Mention

Stop being ripped off by lazy bartenders who do not give you the alcohol that you paid for.

 

Example #1: You order four chilled Patron Silver shots. When the bartender shakes the tequila with ice (to chill it), water melts into the tequila. All four shots will not fit into four shot glasses now, so make sure you tell the bartender you want all the extra. You paid for it, so you deserve it.

 

Example #2: You order a frozen drink and the bartender makes it by hand in a blender. Everything in that blender is yours, so do not let them pour the finished drink into a glass, then have some leftover in the blender. You need to ask for the leftover because you’ve paid for that alcohol.

How to Order a Cocktail at a Bar

How to Order a Cocktail at a Bar

When a bar is busy, always have your order/orders ready when the bartender approaches you. If you have questions or want to have a conversation about cocktails and choices, then let the bartender know so they can fit in the time needed to do that into their flow. The bartender may set you up with a few ideas and menu to give you a little time, then get back with you. Bartenders want to give you good service, but they also want to give everyone good service. If the bar is slow, then the bartender will be able to spend more time with you.

 

When you know what you want, name the liquor first and your mixer second. Also, “call” your liquor (meaning to call out the brand you want). Examples include Grey Goose & Cranberry, Jack & Coke, Bombay & Tonic, Ketel One Screwdriver, Knob Creek Rye Old-Fashioned, and Malibu & Pineapple.

 

Well drinks. These are also called rail or house drinks. They are the least expensive mixed drinks. When you ask for a Gin & Tonic, then the bartender is using the cheapest gin to make your drink. However, a lot of corporate bars require the bartender to up sell, so the bartender will ask you if there is a gin you prefer or if you want your favorite gin used, etc. If you truly want the cheapest Gin & Tonic, then help the bartender by asking for a well Gin & Tonic. This eliminates a lot a time and monotony for the bartender.

 

When ordering drinks that require details, always give the details. Examples include: Herradura Reposado Margarita on the rocks with salt; Bombay Sapphire Martini straight up, stirred with an olive and a twist; Belvedere Vodka Martini straight up, shaken with a twist; Double Glenlivet 12, neat with a water back; Hendrick’s Negroni with Aperol up; and Jim Beam Rye Manhattan on the rocks. (“Up” is short for straight up. Straight up means that it has been chilled (shaken with ice), then strained into the glass. “Neat” means that it is poured out of the bottle at room temperature.)

 

While the bartender is making your cocktail/cocktails, start getting your money ready. If you want to start a tab, then get your credit card ready. After delivering your cocktail, the next step for a bartender is to secure a transaction. Many have cameras on them and they are required to follow through with the transaction process.

 

 

Here are some common things people say to bartenders and ways to do and say them better.

 

You: What’s good? Surprise me!
 It is great that you want to try something new, but please narrow it down. First, we do not know what flavors, spirits, and types of cocktails you like or dislike. Second, we do not know if you are lactose intolerant, allergic to nuts, or have any dietary concerns. We also do not know what you are in the mood for. Are you celebrating something? Do you want something hot, boozy, refreshing, fruity, creamy, classic, etc.?

Better ways to ask the bartender include:

“I like vodka-based drinks with fruity flavors. I also love the taste of ginger, chocolate, or mint. Can you make me something tall and refreshing?”

 

“Can you make me something off the top of your head? I’m game for anything. The only spirit I do not like is tequila and the only other
flavor I do not like is licorice. I’d like something boozy on the rocks.”

 

“I’m celebrating! Can you make me something historic made with champagne?”

 

“I had a craft cocktail in New York City that had a spicy liqueur in it that I really liked. Could you make me something spicy with Bourbon?”

 

You: "Can I get a beer?"
I know they do this in the movies, but it doesn’t work in real life. Look around at the taps or glass coolers or ask for a beer menu. Most bars offer many beers.

 

You: "Can we get three shots of tequila?"
Yes, you can, but what kind of tequila do you want? Do you want salt? Do you want limes?

Ways to order shots of tequila include:

 

“Can we get three shots of Patron Silver with salt and limes?”

 

“We need three chilled shots of Don Julio Reposado with limes.”

 

“We’d like to get three shots of well tequila with no salt or limes”

 

What Others Say

BuzzFeed-logo-vector.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 1.46.24 PM.png
Business-Insider.jpg
logo.png
Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle