调酒师

照片来自约翰“JB”班迪/  1998 年的动画 gif 由甜瓜人丹提供

“酒保和他的助手拥有杂技演员的敏捷和魔术师威风他们都是瓶子魔术师。——他们把饮料扔得一干二净;他们把满溢的眼镜戴在头上;他们在长长的锡管中摇晃糖精、冰糖和酒精成分。  他们把鸡蛋和奶油打成泡沫;他们将保险杠从一端击落到另一端,而不会溢出一滴;他们给予改变,他们谈论政治,讲述古怪的轶事,宣誓奇怪的誓言,吸烟,咀嚼和吐痰以惊人的敏捷和灵巧。 如果我足够聪明的话,我想成为一名酒吧老板

-1853 查尔斯·狄更斯 |家喻户晓 |描述纽约酒吧老板    乔治萨拉 

-1856 布鲁克林每日鹰报

-1857 西方文学使者

 

现代词典将“Flair”一词定义 风格、才华和独特的品质。对于今天的普通大众来说,这个词 调酒师 让人想起汤姆克鲁斯在 1988 年的电影中玩弄酒瓶的画面, 鸡尾酒。毫无疑问,这部电影点燃了 20 世纪后期表演调酒爆炸的火焰。

giphy-3.gif
giphy.gif
giphy-6.gif

才华横溢的调酒开始

调酒师什么时候开始的?当然没有人真正知道,但杂耍和表演的行为在许多文明中都有记载,包括中国、印度、希腊、墨西哥和波利尼西亚。甚至还有一幅埃及壁画显示了公元前 1700 年的女性杂耍。众所周知,小丑、吟游诗人和傻瓜会玩杂耍,这种技能进入当地村庄酒楼的可能性非常高。也许一位灵感迸发的酒馆老板会翻转一两个酒壶,或者将一个高脚杯滑下木头。

 

在 1600 年代, 荷兰艺术家,  Jan Steen画了许多酒馆的场景。 一个展示了用酒壶将长时间倒入锥形玻璃杯中。

 

火呢?好吧,如果 1995 年的作家可以添加一个 那个喷火的角色在希腊神话中被命名为 Xena 也许历史上某个地方的酒吧老板用他们自己的酒精火表演引发了一些事情。  

 

杰里·托马斯教授 由于他在提供鸡尾酒时的表演技巧,被认为是第一位已知和记录在案的天才调酒师带着一套定制的纯银酒吧工具旅行,被认为是酒吧背后的真正表演者。 他的 蓝色西装外套饮料 被点燃,然后来回倾倒,创造了一场精彩的表演。 他还因在 1862 年出版了第一本已知的美国鸡尾酒食谱书而受到赞誉。

Jan_Steen_022_colour_version_01.jpg

Jan Steen 绘画“你听到它的方式,就是你唱它的方式。” / 公共领域 / 维基共享资源

JerryThomas01.jpg

杰里·托马斯 |公共区域

fire1.jpg

1995 勇士公主西娜 / 嗖嗖声

今天,天才调酒师不仅仅是杂耍瓶子。 对于一般的调酒师来说,天赋只是一种个人风格,一种使平凡的东西变得非凡的新鲜方式。为什么不将冰块倒入摇酒杯中,然后用双手将两种酒倒入摇酒杯中?它需要相同的时间,但增加了一定的天赋、风格和表演技巧。这就是所谓的“工作天赋”,它在 1990 年代后期传播开来,当时展览调酒师被迫开发和完善风险低但影响大且不减慢服务速度以满足酒吧老板和经理的新举措。天赋可以是您旋转鸡尾酒餐巾、讲笑话、倒啤酒、处理人群或堆叠小酒杯的方式。天赋元素也可以在许多其他职业中找到。你有没有去过一家日本餐馆,看着厨师把一个鸡蛋扔到空中,然后在铲子的边缘完美地落下并裂开?那是风采!

天才调酒师的祖父

dman_juggling_2.gif
original-TGI-Fridays-NYC1.jpg

TGIF星期五

TGI周五 专注于在 1970 年代和 1980 年代培养调酒师的天赋,并举办了第一次已知的调酒天赋比赛。三位竞争对手分别是 JB”班迪、约翰·梅斯卡尔和“魔术师”迈克·沃纳。

01_06 copy.jpg

约翰“JB”班迪

J ohn "JB" Bandy 赢得了第一届 TGI Friday's Bar Olympics 的冠军,然后发布了第一个天才调酒视频。他被聘为 1988 年电影的调酒师编舞 汤姆克鲁斯和布莱恩布朗主演的鸡尾酒在此处观看 2018 年 Skype 采访。

24232662_10155987454357053_8105174979007

韦恩·柯林斯

韦恩·柯林斯 (Wayne Collins ) 是英国伦敦的第一位天才调酒师。他在 Roadhouse 酒吧工作,该酒吧现在是欧洲最大的调酒大赛的举办地。

Photo-2-Church-Street-Station-circa-92.j

艾伦·梅斯

Alan Mays 于 1987 年在奥兰多的教堂街车站开始调酒。 1999年,他帮助在拉斯维加斯开设了第一家flair bar,并与Tobin共同创立了FBA 埃利斯。 在这里阅读他的故事。

48097_10151640189832189_117417087_n.jpg

肯·霍尔

Ken Hall于 1992 年在 Rock-n-Roll 海滩俱乐部开始调酒 欢乐岛/华特迪士尼世界。他赢得了许多比赛,帮助创建了Quest for the Best比赛,帮助开设了第一家维加斯风情酒吧, 创造了一种三瓶杂耍风格,并创造了天才传奇比赛。

19049_475692170018_7185577_n.jpg

天才调酒师协会

Tobin Ellis 和 Alan Mays 创立了Flair Bartender's Association  1997 年,Ellis 担任总裁,Jim Allison 担任副总裁。

Dean_vortex.jpg

院长塞尼尔斯

院长塞尼尔斯 发明了第一个风格瓶和第一个可折叠成手提箱的酒吧单元,用于风格比赛。他的网站当时是Flairco.com。

header1.jpg

调酒传奇

肯·霍尔 (Ken Hall) 和艾伦·梅斯 (Alan Mays) 创作 调酒传奇,第一个独立的世界调酒锦标赛和世界上最负盛名的调酒比赛。

be_at_one_richmond_cocktail_bar_photos_l

成为@1

Leigh Miller、Paul Mason、Rhys Oldfield 和 Steve Lock 在伦敦开设了第一家名为 B@1 (Be at One) 的独立风格酒吧。

mike&jimmy.jpg

魔术师迈克维尔纳和 Jimmy Skeadas是周五的调酒师 有助于创造天才调酒师。他们还创办了第一家天才公司, 表演者。

魔术麦克 维尔纳

吉米斯基达斯

mannequins.jpg

Todd Connell、Ken Hall 和 Kent Brooks 开创了第一个国际天才大赛 追求最好的 沃尔特迪斯尼世界的欢乐岛在夜总会 Mannequins 内。

托德·康奈尔、肯·霍尔、肯特·布鲁克斯

barcontrols_2268_5802857.gif

查克·罗姆 1991 年,在互联网上开设了第一家调酒师商店Bottles-Up !。他还 在互联网上出售了第一个天才调酒师视频。

查克·罗姆

0.jpeg

托德·康奈尔

Todd Connell帮助创建了 Quest for the Best比赛,并于 1999 年帮助在拉斯维加斯开设了第一家风格酒吧。我记得那天他告诉我要去维加斯的事。我们在迪斯尼的游乐园工作。

27ef868543abf9c4e16439c1aeb8f0bd.jpg

托宾·埃利斯

托宾·埃利斯 开始了第一个完整的网站 barmagic.com 。这是第一个对全球调酒师和调酒师进行排名的网站。埃利斯创造了这个短语,  Flair Bar,并且是第一个在美食网络上表演天赋的人。

Screen Shot 2018-11-11 at 8.25.18 AM.png

维加斯里约的巫毒酒廊

肯·霍尔、艾伦·梅斯、托德·康奈尔和史蒂夫·布什尔 打开 位于里约热内卢顶部 Voodoo 酒廊的拉斯维加斯第一家风情酒吧。维加斯调酒师埃里克霍尔伯特和 盖·格拉 帮助欢迎并介绍了这个新概念酒吧。

work1-ONE.jpg

斯科特·杨

斯科特·杨制作 第一个系列的天赋视频。

1505046804671.jpeg

马丁·里德

Jim Allison 和Tobin Ellis是第一个在 Food Network 上安排美国国家电视特别节目 Flair Bartending 的人。

flairbar_index_r2_c01.gif

FlairBar.com

Rick BarcodeRob Husted 启动第一个在线风格网站flairbar.com 。它今天仍然活跃。

克里斯蒂安·德尔佩奇

很快时间过去了,新一代接管了。最快的后起之秀无疑是克里斯蒂安·德尔佩奇( Christian Delpech ),他赢得了 80 多场比赛。您可以在我的著名和有影响力的调酒师页面上阅读有关 Delpech 的更多信息。

178661_10151258681616355_1892777845_o.jp

媒体中的天才调酒师

据我所知,我是第一个在 2006 年出版的《迷人小姐时尚调酒师指南》和 Wayout Wannabes书中写到调酒技巧的人。 2005 年,我花了很多时间联系人们,收集您在上面阅读的“天才祖父”的列表。右边是我为上一个网站上的这本书创建的一些图像。

正在建设中......很快就会添加更多!

flairillusttrtions.jpg

Flair Bartending

Photo from John "JB" Bandy/ Animated 1998 flair gif courtesy of Dan the Melon Man

“The barkeeper and his assistants possess the agility of acrobats and the prestidigitative skill of magicians. They are all bottle conjurors.—They toss the drinks about; they throw brimful glasses over their heads; they shake the saccharine, glacial and alcoholic ingredients in their long tin tubes. They scourge eggs and cream into froth; they send bumpers shooting down the bar from one end to the other without spilling a drop; they give change, they talk politics, tell quaint anecdotes, swear strange oaths, smoke, chew and expectorate with astonishing celerity and dexterity. I should like to be a barkeeper, if I were clever enough.

-1853 Charles Dickens | Household Words | Describing NYC Barkeeper       George Sala  

-1856 Brooklyn Daily Eagle

-1857 The Western Literary Messenger

 

Modern dictionaries define the word "Flair" as style, talent, and unique quality. For today’s general public, the term Flair Bartending conjures up images of Tom Cruise juggling liquor bottles in the 1988 film, Cocktail. There’s no doubt that this film was the spark that ignited the flame for the late twentieth-century explosion of performance bartending.

Flair Bartending Beginnings

When did flair bartending begin? No one really knows of course, but the act of juggling and performance has been recorded in many civilizations including China, India, Greece, Mexico, and Polynesia. There was even an Egyptian wall painting showing females juggling in 1700 BC. Jesters, bards, and fools were known to juggle, and the probability of such skills making its way to local village drinking houses are very high. Maybe an inspired tavern owner flipped a flagon or two or slid a goblet down the wood.

 

In the 1600s, the Dutch artist, Jan Steen, painted many tavern scenes. One shows a long-pour with a wine pitcher into a conical shaped glass.

 

What about fire? Well, if 1995 writers can add a fire-breathing character named Xena to Greek mythology then maybe a pub owner somewhere through history sparked up things with their own alcoholic fire show. 

 

Professor Jerry Thomas is considered to be the first known and recorded flair bartender because of his showmanship while serving cocktails. He traveled with a custom made set of solid silver bar tools and was considered a true performer behind the bar. His Blue Blazer drink was lit on fire then poured back and forth creating quite a show. He is also credited with publishing the first known American cocktail recipe book in 1862.

Jan Steen painting "The way you hear it, is the way you sing it." / Public Domain / Wiki Commons

Jerry Thomas | Public Domain

1995 Xena the Warrior Princess / whoosh.org

Today, flair bartending is not about just juggling bottles. For the average bartender, flair just means a personal style, a fresh way of making something ordinary extraordinary. Why not flip a shaker tin once before you put ice into it then use both hands to pour two liquors into the shaker tin? It takes the same amount of time yet adds a certain flair, style, and showmanship. This is called "working flair" which spread in the late 1990s when exhibition bartenders were forced to develop and perfect new moves that were low risk yet had high impact and did not slow their speed of service to satisfy bar owners and managers. Flair can be the way you spin a cocktail napkin, tell a joke, pour a beer, handle a crowd, or stack shot glasses. Elements of flair can be found in many other professions as well. Have you ever been to a Japanese restaurant and watched the chef throw an egg in the air that falls and cracks perfectly on the edge of the spatula? That’s flair!

The Grandfathers of Flair Bartending

original-TGI-Fridays-NYC1.jpg

T.G.I. Friday's focus on training their bartenders' flair in the 1970s and 1980s and host the first known flair bartending competition. The three competitors were JB” Bandy, John Mescall, and “Magic” Mike Werner.

T.G.I.Friday's

01_06 copy.jpg

John "JB" Bandy wins of the first T.G.I. Friday’s Bar Olympics then put out the very first flair bartending video . He was hired as the bartender choreographer for the 1988 film Cocktail starring Tom Cruise and Bryan Brown. Watch a 2018 Skype interview here.

John "JB" Bandy

24232662_10155987454357053_8105174979007

Wayne Collins was the first flair bartender in London, England. He worked at the Roadhouse bar, which is now home to the largest flair bartending competition in Europe.

Wayne Collins

Photo-2-Church-Street-Station-circa-92.j

Alan Mays started flair bartending in 1987 at Orlando's Church Street Station. In 1999, he helped open the first flair bar in Las Vegas, and co founded the FBA with Tobin Ellis. Read his story here.

Alan Mays

48097_10151640189832189_117417087_n.jpg

Ken Hall started flair bartending in 1992 at Rock-n-Roll Beach Club at Pleasure Island/ Walt Disney World. He won many competitions, helped create the Quest for the Best competition, helped open the first Vegas flair bar, created a style of 3-bottle juggling flair, and created the Legends of Flair competition.

Ken Hall

19049_475692170018_7185577_n.jpg

Tobin Ellis and Alan Mays founded the Flair Bartender's Association in 1997. Ellis serves as President and Jim Allison is Vice President.

Flair Bartender's Association

Dean_vortex.jpg

Dean Serneels invents the first flair bottle and first bar unit that folds up into a suitcase which is used at flair competitions. His site then was Flairco.com.

Dean Serneels

header1.jpg

Ken Hall and Alan Mays create Legends of Bartending, the first independent World Bartending Championship and most prestigious bartending competition in the world.

Legends of Bartending

be_at_one_richmond_cocktail_bar_photos_l

Leigh Miller, Paul Mason, Rhys Oldfield and Steve Lock start the first independent flair bar in London known as B@1 (Be at One).

Be@1

mike&jimmy.jpg

Magic Mike Werner and Jimmy Skeadas were Friday's bartenders who were instrumental in the creation of flair bartending. They also started the first flair company, Showtenders.

Magic Mike Werner

Jimmy Skeadas

mannequins.jpg

Todd Connell, Ken Hall, and Kent Brooks created the first international flair competition Quest for the Best at Walt Disney World’s Pleasure Island inside the nightclub Mannequins.

Todd Connell, Ken Hall, Kent Brooks

barcontrols_2268_5802857.gif

Chuck Rohm opened the first flair bartender store Bottles-Up on the Internet in 1991!. He also sold the first flair bartender video on the Internet.

Chuck Rohm

0.jpeg

Todd Connell helps create Quest for the Best competition and in 1999 helps open the first flair bar in Las Vegas. I remember the day he told me about going to Vegas. We were working at Disney's Pleasure Island.

Todd Connell

27ef868543abf9c4e16439c1aeb8f0bd.jpg

Tobin Ellis started the first full flair website barmagic.com. It was the first website to rank flair bartenders and flair bars around the world. Ellis coined the phrase, Flair Bar, and was the first to perform flair on the Food Network.

Tobin Ellis

Screen Shot 2018-11-11 at 8.25.18 AM.png

Ken Hall, Alan Mays, Todd Connell, and Steve Bushur  open the first flair bar in Vegas at the Voodoo Lounge atop the Rio. Vegas bartenders Eric Holbert and Guy Guerra helped welcome and introduce this new concept bar.

Voodoo Lounge the Vegas Rio

work1-ONE.jpg

Scott Young produces the first series of flair videos.

Scott Young

1505046804671.jpeg

Jim Allison and Tobin Ellis are the first to arrange a US National TV special on Flair Bartending on the Food Network.

MARTIN REED

flairbar_index_r2_c01.gif

Rick Barcode and Rob Husted start the first online flair website flairbar.com. It is still active today.

FlairBar.com

Christian Delpech

Soon time went by and the new generation took over. The fastest rising star was most certainly Christian Delpech who went on to win more than 80 competitions. You can read more about Delpech on my Famous & Influential Bartenders page.

Flair Bartending in Media

As far as I know, I am the first to write about flair bartending in my 2006 book Miss Charming's Guide for Hip Bartenders and Wayout Wannabes. In 2005, I spent a lot of time contacting people to gather the list of "The Grandfather's of Flair" that you read above. To the right are some images that I created for the book that I had on my last site.

under construction...adding more soon!

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle