禁止

世界上几乎每个国家都发生过禁酒令。简而言之,美国禁酒令始于 1700 年代后期的美国公民,他们分为两类:那些认为饮酒是一种罪过的人(宗教团体),以及厌倦了男人花钱在酒馆喝酒而妇女和儿童留在家中的家庭。家中身无分文,挨饿。他们认为,酒精是导致犯罪、健康问题、人际关系问题和极端贫困增加的一个因素。于是,禁酒运动应运而生。

 

对于美国来说,禁酒令在 1920 年 1 月 17 日午夜过后一分钟正式开始。然而,禁酒令可以比作今天的飓风,因为在它来袭之前你有很多警告,所以大量的酒精以前被囤积多年。当供应耗尽时,酒精从加拿大和墨西哥走私,走私者开始制作月光。人们还乘坐 12 英里(法定距离)到国际水域的酒游。被称为地下酒吧的隐藏秘密酒吧开业,通常隐藏在合法店面企业后面的房间里,或者入口在小巷或地下室。据信仅在纽约市就有超过 100,000 家地下酒吧。

 

所有这些都为走私者创造了蓬勃发展的业务,但也为一个名为黑手党的有组织犯罪的新黑暗世界创造了蓬勃发展的业务,该世界蔓延到拥有许多帮派和黑帮的大城市。

黑手党通过从私酒贩那里购买月光,或合法地通过医疗供应商向其注入杜松子和其他草药来制造并出售“浴缸杜松子酒”给地下酒吧(以及任何想要它的人),以努力获得预售的气味和味道。班金(他们使用桶等大容器,而不是浴缸。)装瓶后,他们会将瓶子和水壶放在浴缸水龙头下,用水切月光。 (这些瓶子放不下水槽水龙头。)每年大约有1,000 人死亡,因为据说有时他们会获得用于燃料、抛光剂等的廉价(和有毒)工业酒精,并将其用于切割过程也是如此。

 

至于鸡尾酒,黑手党的浴缸杜松子酒中加入了更多的混合器和配料,以掩盖令人讨厌的烧伤,比如蜜蜂的膝盖,用大量的柠檬汁和蜂蜜制成。用走私的朗姆酒、威士忌和白兰地制成的鸡尾酒包括十二英里限制、玛丽·皮克福德和床单之间。但是,普通的中下层美国人只是在家里混合了他们能买到的任何酒,配料很简单,比如纯果汁、香草和自制糖浆。这些食谱将永远是个谜。

 

关于禁止的十大事情

禁酒令(崇高的实验)并没有禁止饮酒——它禁止制造、销售和运输酒精。

 

禁令不仅发生在美国。它发生在世界各地的不同时期,今天仍然存在于一些国家(和美国县)。

 

截至 2018 年,美国宪法共有 27 条修正案。第十八修正案是美国禁酒令开始的时间(1920 年 1 月 20 日,星期二),而第二十修正案是禁酒令结束的时间(1933 年 12 月 5 日,星期二),共 13 年 10 个月零 15 天。

 

第十八修正案并非一蹴而就。从 1851 年开始,许多州以前都禁止饮酒。第二十一条修正案也是如此。许多州多年来都没有解除禁令,今天,仍有一些县实行禁酒令,导致“干”县。第二十条修正案将决定权留给各州。全国范围内的美国禁酒之战并不是几年内发生的事情。它始于 1700 年代后期的 Temperance Movement(一项旨在制止美国普遍酗酒的运动)。

 

禁酒令期间的合法酒精包括用于教堂的圣酒;专利药品;用于科学研究;燃料、染料和其他行业可能需要的东西的工业发展;并用于医院清洁。自制啤酒、葡萄酒和苹果酒,以及预先禁止的酒,可以在自己家中私下饮用。

 

直到 1920 年代,唯一允许进入沙龙/酒吧大房间的美国女性是妓女和女士。在漂亮的酒吧里,有一些小的“女士房间”,有名望的女性可以在那里喝酒。从 1920 年到 1933 年的地下酒吧是女性可以光顾整个酒吧的第一批饮酒场所。

 

众所周知,地下酒吧的鸡尾酒和饮料很贵,所以你攒钱在城里度过一个特别的夜晚,有很多钱(或者和有钱的人在一起),或者只是在家里聚会。

 

出于必要,阿巴拉契亚山区的走私者对他们的汽车引擎进行了修补,以使它们比警车更快。这导致了我们今天所知的全国汽车赛车协会(NASCAR)。

 

堪萨斯

如果您今天恰好在堪萨斯州旅行,那么您会感到很幸运,因为他们赢得了最长的禁酒令(从 1880 年到 1948 年的 68 年)。 1965 年通过的一项新的堪萨斯州法律取消了酒精禁令。然而,它使所有公共酒吧都停业,因为只允许私人酒吧。

21 年后的 1986 年,私人酒吧禁令被解除,一年之内,400 家公共酒吧开业。但是,有一项规定——酒吧销售额的 30 %必须来自食品。 On a side note and to open the crazy Kansas box even more, in the 1970s—unbelievably—5'5” Vern Miller ( ex–police officer, deputy sheriff, and county marshal who then went on to graduate law school) was elected as 1970 年担任堪萨斯州总检察长。他的工作是积极执行堪萨斯州的酒类法律。他的敌对自信的例子包括突袭通过堪萨斯州的美铁列车,并迫使航空公司在穿越堪萨斯州领空时停止提供酒类。米勒成为头条新闻,并于 2008 年出版了一本关于他的书。

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

Anti prohibition.jpg

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

[New York City Deputy Police Commissione
The Largest still in captivity.jpg

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

[Woman putting flask in her Russian boot

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

Detroit_police_prohibition.jpg

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

禁止 要知道的话

修正案

美国宪法中增加的一条。

 

反沙龙联盟

在 1900 年代初期游说美国禁酒令的排名第一的领先组织。

 

浴缸杜松子酒

黑手党用购买的合法和非法酒精制成的类似杜松子酒的烈酒。他们没有在浴缸里做,他们用浴缸水龙头里的水把它切开,因为水槽碗和水龙头太小了。

 

盗版者

制造和销售非法酒精的人。美式术语来自 1625 年的术语,用于将酒瓶藏在靴子的腿上。  

 

卡彭

Alphonse Gabriel “Al” Capone (1899-1947) 是禁酒令期间著名的美国黑手党黑帮之一。他是意大利移民父母在美国出生的九个孩子中的第一个,在布鲁克林长大。十四岁时,他在打了老师的脸后退出了天主教学校,然后成为了两个纽约市青年团伙的成员。成年后,卡彭成为黑帮弗兰基耶鲁的保镖和调酒师,在康尼岛一家名为哈佛旅馆的舞厅中担任保镖和酒保。正是在这里,卡彭在侮辱一个女人(她的兄弟割伤了他的脸)后赢得了他的绰号“疤面煞星”。二十岁时,卡彭离开纽约市搬到芝加哥,在那里他为最大的黑手党头目詹姆斯“大吉姆”科洛西莫工作,在一家妓院担任保镖(他在那里感染了梅毒)。很快他就成了一个著名的帮派头目,花钱买定制西装、美食和饮料、珠宝、钱能买到的最好的女人和古巴雪茄。当他三十三岁时,他作为犯罪头目的七年统治结束了。

 

第十八修正案

这通过宣布酒精的生产、运输和销售非法而确立了美国的酒精饮料禁令。

 

挡板

在被称为“咆哮的二十年代”的时代,喝鸡尾酒的二十多岁的年轻女性穿着短裙、短发、听爵士乐、经常去地下酒吧、化浓妆、抽烟、开车、随意做爱。这些女性出生于 1890 年至 1910 年之间。

 

黑帮

犯罪团伙的成员。

 

爵士时代

1920-1928 年的一段音乐,由于大萧条(1929-1933)而被搁置了四年,然后又恢复了。

 

批准

签署或正式同意条约、合同或协议,使其正式生效。

 

咆哮的二十多岁

这个词和时间段包含了很多东西。简而言之,那是美国、加拿大和西欧经济繁荣的时期,它在 1919 年第一次世界大战后传播开来。咆哮的二十年代的精神是由想要打破传统的人们所推动的。进入现代时代。一些大规模的例子包括汽车、电话、收音机、电影、电力和商业航空的引入。媒体首次聚焦名人(尤其是体育明星和电影明星)。城市建造了巨大的体育场馆,好莱坞通过引入“对讲机”不断向前发展。至于风格,装饰艺术无处不在。舞蹈俱乐部突然出现,时尚发生了巨大变化(不再有紧身胸衣)。女性长发被剪成短发,裙摆上扬,袖子被剪断,一场性革命开始渗透。

 

朗姆酒赛跑者

参与运输和走私非法酒类的非法业务的人。它主要与走私朗姆酒的船只有关。

 

轻轻松松

出售酒精饮料(也被称为“盲猪”或“盲虎”)的非法场所,您必须在入口处“说轻松”密码。

 

节制

节制被定义为自愿的自我克制或对某事的节制。

 

第二十一条修正案

它废除了第十八修正案,该修正案规定全国禁止饮酒。

 

滴酒不沾

一个选择不喝酒的人,在大多数情况下已经承诺不喝酒。

 

沃尔斯特德法案

执行第十八修正案意图的行为,该修正案确立了美国禁酒令。

美国禁酒时间表 

1784

开国元勋、费城医生和政治家本杰明·拉什 (Benjamin Rush) 出版了一本小册子,题为《精神酒对人类身心影响的调查》。

 

1789

第一个已知的美国禁酒协会是在康涅狄格州利奇菲尔德县成立的,由认为酒精会阻碍其业务开展的主要企业主组成。

1813

马萨诸塞州禁止酗酒协会成立。

康涅狄格道德改革协会成立。

1826

波士顿的部长们成立了美国禁酒协会 (ATS),到 1831 年,他们的会员人数已达 170,000 人。

1833

美国禁酒联盟成立,一年后,他们拥有一百万会员。

1838年

马萨诸塞州禁止销售少于十五加仑的酒 但两年后废除该法律。

1840

短命的华盛顿禁酒协会成立于马里兰州巴尔的摩(它以乔治华盛顿总统的名字命名),并被称为华盛顿运动。这个社会被比作今天的匿名戒酒会。成员由改革后的重度饮酒者组成,他们聚在一起,提供推荐,相互支持,并承诺戒酒。两年后,他们有 600,000 个禁欲承诺,到 1843 年,社会逐渐消失。

1851

缅因州在波特兰市长尼尔·道 (Neal Dow, 1804–1897) 的帮助下通过了州禁酒法。它被称为“缅因州法”。其他开始效仿的州包括佛蒙特州、堪萨斯州、爱荷华州、北达科他州和南达科他州。

1869

全国禁酒党在芝加哥成立。

1874年

妇女基督教禁酒联盟成立。

1876年

世界妇女基督教禁酒联盟成立。

1880

在州长约翰·圣约翰和全国妇女基督教禁酒联盟的帮助下,堪萨斯州成为第一个完全干涸的州。

1888年

如果州禁酒法禁止销售以原始通道运入该州的酒精,最高法院将取消该州的禁酒法。这意味着酒店和俱乐部可以出售一瓶未开封的酒,即使该州禁止酒类销售。

1893年

美国反沙龙联盟在俄亥俄州成立。该联盟是一个无党派组织,通过出版小册子、歌曲、传单、卡通、故事、杂志和报纸来关注禁酒令。他们一直活跃到 1933 年。

1899

6 英尺高、53 岁的 Carry Nation 开始带着斧头走进堪萨斯的轿车,将她所能做的一切都摧毁。这种情况持续了十年,她被捕并被罚款三十二次。

1901

加拿大爱德华王子岛开始禁酒令。它于 1948 年被解除。

1908年

马萨诸塞州的 249 个城镇和 18 个城市禁止饮酒。

 

密西西比州在 12 月 31 日禁止饮酒(在除夕夜有点意思),直到 1966 年 8 月 5 日才解除禁令。比洛克西的布罗德沃特海滩度假村(今天称为布罗德沃特总统赌场度假村)是第一个获得现场酒类许可证和第二个(但也是第一个酒类商店)许可证授予 Joe Azar 和他的兄弟在密西西比州格林维尔的 Package Store 中的 Jigger & Jug (304 US-82)。它今天仍在运行。在旁注中,乔·阿扎尔的儿子史蒂夫长大后成为了纳什维尔乡村音乐明星,他的热门歌曲名为“直到星期一我不必成为我”(2002 年)。

 

2010 年 5 月,奥斯汀·埃文斯 (Austin Evans) 和理查德·帕特里克 (Richard Patrick) 开设了 Cathead 酒厂——该州的第一家酒厂(也是迄今为止)。猫头这个名字是为了纪念被昵称为“猫头”的布鲁斯音乐家。此外, 2013年 7 月 1 日,密西西比州通过了最后一部自制法,使所有五十个州的自制法都合法化。

1910

澳大利亚开始实施禁酒令,然后于 1928 年首都堪培拉解除禁酒令。

1912年

国会通过了一项推翻最高法院 1888 年裁决的法律,该裁决允许各州禁止饮酒。

苦艾酒在美国被禁止。

1914年

反沙龙联盟提出一项宪法修正案,禁止销售酒类。

俄罗斯开始禁酒,然后在 1925 年取消。

1915年

加拿大萨斯喀彻温省开始实施禁酒令,然后于 1925 年取消。

冰岛开始禁酒,然后在 1922 年解除禁酒令。2.25 %或以上的啤酒被禁止到 1989 年。

1916年

加拿大阿尔伯塔省开始实施禁酒令,然后于 1924 年解除禁酒令。

挪威开始实施禁酒令,然后于 1927 年解除禁酒令。

1917年

美国参议院和众议院通过第十八修正案,然后其送交美国各州批准。

 

波多黎各开始实施禁酒令,然后于 1933 年解除禁酒令。

1918年

在禁酒运动的推动下,美国批准了第十九修正案,这是美国历史上第一次允许女性投票。在全球范围内,新西兰于 1893 年首次允许女性投票,沙特阿拉伯于 2015 年首次允许女性投票。

 

亚利桑那州、特拉华州、佛罗里达州、乔治亚州、肯塔基州、路易斯安那州、密西西比州、马里兰州、马萨诸塞州、蒙大拿州、北达科他州、南卡罗来纳州、南达科他州、德克萨斯州、弗吉尼亚州,批准第十八修正案。

 

康涅狄格州投票反对批准。

1919年

阿拉巴马州、阿肯色州、加利福尼亚州、科罗拉多州、爱达荷州、伊利诺伊州、印第安纳州、爱荷华州、堪萨斯州、缅因州、密歇根州、明尼苏达州、密苏里州、内布拉斯加州、内华达州、新罕布什尔州、新墨西哥州、纽约州、北卡罗来纳州、俄亥俄州、俄克拉荷马州、俄勒冈州、宾夕法尼亚州、田纳西州、犹他州、佛蒙特州、华盛顿州、西弗吉尼亚州、威斯康星州和怀俄明州批准了第十八修正案。

罗德岛投票反对批准。

 

国会通过了《沃尔斯特德法案》,这有助于使第十八修正案得以实施。该法案规定了三个不同的目的:

  1. 禁止饮酒。

  2. 规范酒类的制造、销售或运输(但不包括消费)。

  3. 确保充足的酒精供应,并促进其在科学研究和燃料、染料和其他合法行业和实践(如宗教仪式)的发展中的使用。

 

它进一步指出,“除非本法授权,否则任何人不得制造、销售、易货、运输、进口、出口、交付或提供任何令人陶醉的酒类。”

 

加拿大魁北克省开始实施禁酒令,然后于 1920 年解除禁酒令。

芬兰开始实施禁酒令,然后在 1932 年解除禁酒令。

1920

禁令于 1 月 17 日在美国开始,午夜过后一分钟。

美属维尔京群岛开始禁酒令,然后于 1933 年取消。

1933年

第二十条修正案于 12 月 5 日下午 3:32 通过,第十八条修正案被废除。

1934年

在美国,21 岁是饮酒、购买和拥有酒精的法定年龄。

1949年

美国的饮酒年龄为酒类设定为 21 岁,谷物麦芽饮料为 18 岁。

1966年

密西西比州是最后一个解除禁令的州。

1600px-Oldham_Women's_Suffrage_Society.j

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

Woman's holy war. Grand charge on the en

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

1600px-Official_program_-_Woman_suffrage

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

Carrie_Nation,_1910.jpg

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

785px-Temperance_poster_promoting_the_pr

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

1919_Budweiser_ad_for_alcohol_free_beer.

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

Avlöningsafton_-_Rösta_ja!_1922.jpg

公共领域照片 | picryl.com

有趣的禁止事实 

鸡尾酒礼服是 1920 年代初期 Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel 的一项发明。黑色连衣裙的灵感来自修女的习惯。

 

木匠们通过设计和建造隐藏在墙壁、空心时钟、家具和其他任何能激发灵感的地方的家庭酒吧来赚取额外的收入。

 

在一次突袭中,纽约市的 21 俱乐部有酒吧杠杆,拉动时,酒架会掉进下水道。

Prohibition

Prohibition has happened to almost every country in the world. The nutshell version of the American Prohibition starts with American citizens in the late 1700s who fell into two groups: those who felt drinking alcohol was a sin (religious groups) and families weary of men spending money at saloons drinking while women and children were left at home penniless and starving. They believed that alcohol was a contributing factor in the rise in crime, health issues, relationship issues, and extreme poverty. Thus, the temperance movement was born.

 

For America, Prohibition officially started at one minute past midnight on January 17, 1920. However, Prohibition can be compared to a hurricane today in that you have plenty of warning before it hits, so large amounts of alcohol had previously been hoarded for years. When the supply ran out, alcohol was smuggled from Canada and Mexico, and bootleggers began making moonshine. People also took booze cruises twelve miles out (the legal distance) to international waters. Hidden secret bars called speakeasies opened, often hiding in a room behind a legal storefront business, or entrances were in alleys or in basements. It is believed that in New York City alone, there were over 100,000 speakeasies.

 

All of this created a booming business for bootleggers, but it also created a booming business for a new dark world of organized crime called the Mafia, which spread to all the large cities with many gangs and gangsters.

The Mafia made and sold “bathtub gin” to speakeasies (and to whoever wanted it) by purchasing moonshine from bootleggers, or legally through medical suppliers by infusing it with juniper berries and other herbs in an effort to get the smell and taste of pre-ban gin. (They used large containers such as barrels—not bathtubs.) After bottling, they would cut the moonshine with water by placing the bottles and jugs under bathtub faucets. (The bottles would not fit under a sink faucet.) Around 1,000 people would die yearly because it is said that sometimes they would obtain cheap (and poisonous) industrial alcohol, which was used for fuels, polishes, etc., and use that in the cutting process as well.

 

As for cocktails, more mixers and ingredients were added to the Mafia’s bathtub gin to mask the nasty burn, such as the Bee’s Knees, made with lots of lemon juice and honey. Cocktails made with smuggled rum, whiskey, and brandy included the Twelve Mile Limit, Mary Pickford, and Between the Sheets. But the average middle-to-lower-class Americans just mixed—any booze they could get—at home with ingredients as simple as plain juices, herbs, and homemade syrups. These recipes will always remain a mystery.

 

The Top Ten Things to Know About Prohibition

Prohibition (the noble experiment) did not outlaw the drinking of alcohol—it outlawed the manufacture, sale, and transportation of alcohol.

 

Prohibition did not only occur in America. It has happened at different times all over the world and still exists in some countries (and US counties) today.

 

As of 2018, the American Constitution has twenty-seven amendments. The Eighteenth Amendment is when American Prohibition began (Tuesday, January 20, 1920) and the Twenty-First Amendment is when Prohibition ended (Tuesday, December 5, 1933) for a total of thirteen years, ten months, and fifteen days.

 

The Eighteenth Amendment did not happen in one fell swoop. Many states banned alcohol before, starting in 1851. It was the same for the Twenty-First Amendment; many states did not lift the ban for years and, today, there are still counties that have alcohol bans resulting in “dry” counties. The Twenty-First Amendment left the decision up to the states. The fight for nationwide American Prohibition was not something that happened in a few years. It began in the late 1700s with the Temperance Movement (a movement to subdue the widespread drunkenness in America).

 

Legal alcohol during Prohibition included sacramental wine for churches; patented medicines; use in scientific research; industrial development of fuel, dye, and other things industries might need; and use in hospitals for cleaning. Homemade beer, wine, and cider, and pre-banned alcohol could be drunk in the privacy of one’s own home.

 

Up until the 1920s, the only American women allowed into the large main rooms of saloons/bars were prostitutes and madams. In nice bars, there were small “Ladies’ Rooms” where prominent women could drink. The speakeasies from 1920 to 1933 were the first drinking establishments where women could patronize the whole bar.

 

Cocktails and drinks in speakeasies were known to be expensive, so you saved up for a special night on the town, had plenty of money (or were with someone with money), or just partied at home.

 

Out of necessity, Appalachian mountain bootleggers tinkered with their vehicle engines to make them faster than police cars. This lead to what we know today as the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR).

 

Kansas

If you happen to be traveling through Kansas today, then feel lucky because they win for having the longest alcohol ban (sixty-eight years between 1880 and 1948). The alcohol ban was lifted by a new Kansas state law that was passed in 1965. However, it put all public bars out of business because only private bars were allowed.

Twenty-one years later, in 1986, the private bar ban was lifted and within a year, 400 public bars opened. However, there was a stipulation—30 percent of bar sales must be from food. On a side note and to open the crazy Kansas box even more, in the 1970s—unbelievably—5’5” Vern Miller (ex–police officer, deputy sheriff, and county marshal who then went on to graduate law school) was elected as the Kansas attorney general in 1970. His job was to aggressively enforce Kansas’s liquor laws. Examples of his hostile assertiveness included raiding Amtrak trains that were passing through Kansas and forcing airlines to stop serving liquor while traveling through Kansas’s airspace. Miller made headlines and a book about him was published in 2008.

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Prohibition Words to Know

Amendment

An article added to the Constitution of the United States.

 

Anti-Saloon League

The number-one leading organization that lobbied for an American Prohibition in the early 1900s.

 

Bathtub Gin

A gin-like spirit made by the Mafia with purchased legal and illegal alcohol. They did not make it in the bathtub, they cut it with water from the bathtub faucet because the sink bowls and faucets were too small.

 

Bootlegger

A person who makes and sells illegal alcohol. The American term came from the 1625 term for hiding a liquor bottle in the leg of one’s boot. 

 

Capone

Alphonse Gabriel “Al” Capone (1899–1947) was one of the famous American Mafia gangsters during Prohibition. He was the first of nine children born in America to his Italian-immigrant parents and grew up in Brooklyn. He quit Catholic school at age fourteen after hitting a teacher in the face, then became a member of two New York City youth gangs. In his adulthood, Capone became a bouncer and bartender for mobster Frankie Yale in a Coney Island dance hall called the Harvard Inn. It was here that Capone earned his nickname “Scarface” after insulting a woman (her brother cut his face). At age twenty, Capone left New York City and moved to Chicago, where he worked for the biggest Mafia boss, James “Big Jim” Colosimo, as a bouncer at a brothel (where he contracted syphilis). Soon he became a famous gang leader spending his money on custom-made suits, gourmet food and drink, jewelry, the best women money could buy, and Cuban cigars. His seven-year reign as crime boss ended when he was thirty-three years old.

 

Eighteenth Amendment

This established the Prohibition of alcoholic beverages in America by declaring the production, transport, and sale of alcohol illegal.

 

Flappers

A twenty-something generation of young women who drank cocktails wore short skirts, short hair, listened to jazz, frequented speakeasies, wore excessive makeup, smoked, drove automobiles, had casual sex in the time known as the “Roarin’ Twenties.” These women would have been born between 1890 and 1910.

 

Gangsters

A criminal who is a member of a gang.

 

Jazz Age

A period of music from 1920–1928 that was put on hold for four years due to the Great Depression (1929–1933), and then resumed.

 

Ratify

To sign or give formal consent to a treaty, contract, or agreement, making it officially valid.

 

Roaring Twenties

This term and period of time encompassed many things. Briefly, it was a period of economic prosperity in the United States, Canada, and Western Europe, and it spread after World War I in 1919. The spirit of the Roaring Twenties was fueled by people wanting to break away from tradition and who desired to enter into a modern era. Some large-scale examples include the introduction of automobiles, telephones, radio, motion pictures, electricity, and commercial aviation. For the first time, the media focused on celebrities (especially sports celebs and moving picture movie stars). Cities built gigantic sports stadiums and Hollywood kept moving forward by introducing “talkies.” As for style, art deco was everywhere. Dance clubs popped up and fashion changed dramatically (no more corsets). Female long hair was cut into bobs, skirts hems rose, sleeves were cut, and a sexual revolution began to seep.

 

Rum Runner

A person who is involved in the illegal business of transporting and smuggling illegal alcohol. It mostly relates to ships smuggling rum.

 

Speakeasy

An illegal establishment that sold alcoholic beverages (also nicknamed “blind pig” or “blind tiger”) that had a password you had to “speak easy” at the entrance door.

 

Temperance

Temperance is defined as voluntary self-restraint or moderation in something.

 

Twenty-first Amendment

It repealed the Eighteenth Amendment, which mandated a national prohibition on alcohol.

 

Teetotaler

A person who chooses to not drink alcohol and in most cases has taken a pledge not to imbibe.

 

Volstead Act

The act that carried out the intent of the Eighteenth Amendment, which established the American Prohibition.

American Prohibition Timeline 

1784

A founding father and Philadelphia physician and politician, Benjamin Rush, publishes a pamphlet titled An Inquiry into the Effects of Spirituous Liquors on the Human Mind and Body.

 

1789

The first known American temperance society is formed in Litchfield County, Connecticut, by leading business owners who feel alcohol hinders the conduct of their businesses.

1813

The Massachusetts Society for the Suppression of Intemperance is founded.

The Connecticut Society for the Reformation of Morals is founded.

1826

Boston ministers found the American Temperance Society (ATS) and by 1831, they are 170,000 members strong.

1833

The American Temperance Union is founded and a year later, they have one million members.

1838

Massachusetts prohibits the sale of alcohol in amounts less than fifteen gallons but repeals the law two years later.

1840

The short-lived Washington Temperance Society is founded in Baltimore, Maryland (it was named after President George Washington) and becomes known as the Washingtonian movement. This society is likened to Alcohol Anonymous today. Members consist of reformed heavy drinkers who meet together, give testimonials, support one another, and take a pledge to abstain from alcohol. Two years later, they have 600,000 abstinence pledges and by 1843, the society fades away.

1851

The state of Maine passes a state Prohibition law with the help of Portland mayor Neal Dow (1804–1897). It becomes known as “The Maine Law.” Other states that begin to follow suit include Vermont, Kansas, Iowa, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

1869

The National Prohibition Party is founded in Chicago.

1874

The Women’s Christian Temperance Union is founded.

1876

The World’s Women’s Christian Temperance Union is founded.

1880

Kansas becomes the first state to go completely dry with the help of governor John St. John and the National Women’s Christian Temperance Union.

1888

The Supreme Court strikes down state Prohibition laws if they forbid the sale of alcohol that was transported into the state in its original passage. This means hotels and clubs could sell an unopened bottle of liquor, even if the state bans alcohol sales.

1893

The American Anti-Saloon League is founded in Ohio. The league is a nonpartisan organization that focuses on Prohibition through the publication of pamphlets, songs, fliers, cartoons, stories, magazines, and newspapers. They are active until 1933.

1899

Six-foot-tall, fifty-three-year-old Carry Nation begins walking into Kansas saloons with a hatchet destroying everything she can. This goes on for ten years, and she is arrested and fined thirty-two times.

1901

Prince Edward Island in Canada starts Prohibition. It is lifted in 1948.

1908

Massachusetts bans alcohol in 249 towns and 18 cities.

 

Mississippi bans alcohol on December 31 (kind of mean to do on New Year’s Eve), and does not lift their ban until August 5, 1966. The Broadwater Beach Resort in Biloxi (today it’s called President Casino Broadwater Resort) is the first to receive an on-premise liquor license and the second—but first liquor store—license goes to the Joe Azar and his brother for Jigger & Jug in Package Store in Greenville, Mississippi (304 US-82). It is still in operation today. On a side note, Joe Azar’s son, Steve, grows up to be a Nashville country music star with his biggest hit called “I Don’t Have to Be Me ’Til Monday” (2002).

 

In May of 2010, Austin Evans and Richard Patrick open Cathead Distillery—the state’s first distillery (and only so far). The name Cathead is in honor of blues musicians who are nicknamed “catheads.” In addition, on July 1, 2013, the last remaining homebrewing law is passed in Mississippi, making homebrewing legal in all fifty states.

1910

Australia starts Prohibition, then lifts it in the capital city of Canberra in 1928.

1912

Congress passes a law overturning the Supreme Court’s 1888 ruling, which permitted states to forbid all alcohol.

Absinthe is banned in America.​

1914

The Anti-Saloon League proposes a constitutional amendment to prohibit the sale of alcohol.

Russia starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1925.

1915

Saskatchewan, Canada, starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1925.

Iceland starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1922. Beer 2.25 percent or over is banned until 1989.

1916

Alberta, Canada, starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1924.

Norway starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1927.

1917

The US Senate and the House pass the Eighteenth Amendment then sends it to the American states for ratification.

 

Puerto Rico starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1933.

1918

Fueled by the temperance movement to vote for Prohibition, the United States ratifies the Nineteenth Amendment, was which allows women to vote for the first time in American history. On a global side note, New Zealand first allowed women to vote in 1893, and Saudi Arabia in 2015.

 

Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, ratify the Eighteenth Amendment.

 

Connecticut votes against ratification.

1919

Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming ratify the Eighteenth Amendment.

Rhode Island votes against ratification.

 

Congress passes the Volstead Act, which helps make the Eighteenth Amendment stick. The act states three distinct purposes:

  1. To prohibit intoxicating beverages.

  2. To regulate the manufacture, sale, or transport of intoxicating liquor (but not consumption).

  3. To ensure an ample supply of alcohol and promote its use in scientific research and in the development of fuel, dye, and other lawful industries and practices, such as religious rituals.

 

It further stated, “no person shall manufacture, sell, barter, transport, import, export, deliver, or furnish any intoxicating liquor except as authorized by this act.”

 

Quebec, Canada, starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1920.

Finland starts Prohibition, then lifts it in 1932.

1920

Prohibition begins in America on January 17, one minute past midnight.

The US Virgin Islands start Prohibition, then lift it in 1933.

1933

The Twenty-First Amendment is passed on December 5 at 3:32 p.m. and the Eighteenth Amendment is repealed.

1934

In the United States, twenty-one is set as the legal age for drinking, purchasing, and possessing alcohol.

1949

The American drinking age is set at twenty-one for liquor and eighteen for cereal malt beverages.

1966

Mississippi is the last state to lift the ban on prohibition.

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Public Domain photo | picryl.com

Fun Prohibition Facts 

The cocktail dress was an invention in the early 1920s by Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel. The black dress was inspired by nuns’ habits.

 

Carpenters made extra money on the side by designing and building hidden home bars constructed into walls, hollow clocks, furniture, and anyplace else that sparked inspiration.

 

During a raid, the 21 Club in New York City had bar levers that, when pulled, dropped the liquor shelves down into the sewer. 

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle