啤酒

没有人确切知道啤酒是何时何地发明的。有些人认为,因为啤酒和面包使用相同的成分,它们一定是在同一时间发生的。 考古学家和科学家发现了古老的啤酒配方药片、陶罐内的啤酒残留物、提到啤酒的诗歌、描绘啤酒的洞穴图画、啤酒饮用歌曲等等。

 

从大约公元前 8000 年到公元 1000 年,啤酒是温暖的、略带浓稠的、浑浊的,并且可能有颗粒漂浮在其中。 啤酒花在公元 800 年左右制作啤酒时变得流行起来,因为它增加了风味、苦味,最重要的是,有助于保存。直到 1400 年代,啤酒都是在家制作的。到 1500 年代,啤酒的酿造已经商业化。通过了啤酒成分法,意外发现了贮藏啤酒,啤酒被储存在地下或洞穴中凉爽的地方。 1700年代带来了工业革命,啤酒产量飙升。

 

当美国禁酒令(1920-1933)开始时,它使 1,300 家啤酒厂退出了酒类行业,因此他们不得不出售其他产品。有些人卖冰淇淋,有些人用他们的设备制造染料。 Pabst、Schlitz 和 Miller 等大型啤酒厂出售麦芽提取物(您在家制作啤酒所需的物质),但他们将其宣传为面包制作产品。

 

 

1979 年,吉米·卡特总统将销售用于家庭酿造的啤酒原料合法化,这开启了 1980 年代的微型啤酒运动。今天,美国有超过 4,000 家啤酒厂。几乎每个大城市都提供各种类型和风格的本地啤酒。

要知道的 10 件事

关于啤酒

啤酒(准确地说是麦酒)是有记录以来世界上第一种已知的酒精。

 

Black Velvet啤酒鸡尾酒是在 1861 年为纪念阿尔伯特亲王而发明的。它是用黑啤酒在香槟上分层制成的。

 

啤酒分为两类:淡啤酒和淡啤酒。艾尔使用顶部发酵酵母,而拉格使用底部发酵酵母。麦芽酒很古老,而淡啤酒只有几百年的历史。

 

啤酒使用任何酒精类别中最多类型的玻璃器皿/容器。最大的是一码,最小的是半品脱。

 

世界上最受欢迎的啤酒鸡尾酒射击游戏包括 Flaming Dr. Pepper、Boilermaker 和 Irish Car Bomb。

 

啤酒还因使用各种尺寸的最多类型的包装/存储而获胜。例子包括罐头、玻璃和铝瓶、小桶和木桶。

 

啤酒杯是在 1300 年代发明的,200 年后,添加了盖子以防止苍蝇进入啤酒。

 

锚蒸汽 自 1896 年以来,旧金山的啤酒厂一直在啤酒中使用顶部和底部发酵酵母。

 

美国历史最悠久的啤酒厂是Yuengling & Son

 

1929 年的小说《牙买加狂风》中提到了一种名为 Hangman's Blood 的啤酒鸡尾酒。 Hangman's Blood 由波特啤酒、朗姆酒、杜松子酒、威士忌、波特酒和白兰地组成。 1960 年,Anthony Burgess(发条橙)在卫报(英国)上写到同样的鸡尾酒,“它尝起来非常顺滑,让人产生某种形而上学的兴高采烈,而且很少宿醉...... ,虽然昂贵,但举起。”

.
 

啤酒种类

啤酒

从公元前 8000 年到 1400 年代,个体家庭、小旅馆和酒馆(公共房屋)制作麦芽酒。从 1500 年代到现在,麦芽酒主要是商业化生产的。艾尔的风格包括黑啤酒、波特啤酒、苦啤酒、棕色啤酒、小麦啤酒、奶油啤酒、兰比克啤酒和淡啤酒。流行的啤酒品牌包括 Guinness、Newcastle Brown、Bass Ale、Redhook、Sam Adams Porter、Sierra Nevada Pale Ale 和 Blue Moon。

 

拉格

Pilsner Urquell 于 1842 年在捷克共和国生产,是第一款商业皮尔森拉格啤酒。它今天仍然制作。大多数人认为所有的拉格啤酒都有清晰的黄色,但这是不正确的。制作拉格啤酒与底部发酵酵母、时间和温度有关。啤酒的风格包括皮尔森啤酒、博克啤酒、干啤酒、冰啤酒、邓克尔啤酒和琥珀啤酒。流行的啤酒品牌包括百威(以及所有其他品牌,如 Coors、Michelob 等)、Stella Artois、Shiner Bock、Warsteiner Dunkel、Keystone Ice、Corona 和 Negra Modelo。

照片由爱丁堡遇见博物馆拍摄 / 公共区域

types-of-beer-glasses.jpg

有趣的啤酒事实

啤酒只是液体面包。

 

据说俄罗斯直到 2013 年才将啤酒视为酒精饮料。

 

世界上最昂贵的一瓶啤酒“Vieille Bon Secours”啤酒售价 1,000 美元。

 

一家苏格兰啤酒厂生产世界上最烈的啤酒,称为蛇毒。它的酒精含量为 67% ABV。相比之下,百威啤酒的 ABV 为 5%。

 

根据维基百科,世界上喝啤酒最多的国家是瑙鲁共和国——原名普莱森特岛——位于中太平洋密克罗尼西亚的一个岛国

 

1996 年,Corona Limon 开始流行。制作起来很容易——只需在 Corona 啤酒中倒入一杯 Bacardi Limon 朗姆酒即可。另一种流行的科罗娜鸡尾酒是科罗娜玛格丽塔,您可以将一瓶打开的科罗娜放入大玛格丽塔酒中。

 

2012 年,阿姆斯特丹开始向酗酒者支付啤酒费用,让他们在街上捡垃圾。

 

1814 年 10 月 17 日,在英国伦敦,Meux and Company 啤酒厂的啤酒桶爆裂,近 150 万升啤酒倒在街上,导致 8 人溺水身亡。

 

25 个创意啤酒/啤酒厂网站。 

啤酒网站

啤酒播客

YouTube

Beer

No one knows exactly when or where beer was invented. Some believe that because beer and bread used the same ingredients, they must’ve happened around the same time. Archaeologists and scientists have discovered ancient beer recipe tablets, beer residue inside pottery jars, poems mentioning beer, cave drawings depicting beer, beer drinking songs, and more.

 

From around 8000 BCE to 1000 CE, beer was warm, slightly thick, murky, and probably had particles floating in it. Hops became popular to use when making beer around 800 CE because it added flavor, bitterness, and, most importantly, helped with preservation. Up until the 1400s, beer was something one made at home. By the 1500s the brewing of beer had become commercialized. Beer ingredient laws were passed, lagers were accidently discovered, and beer was stored in cool places underground or in caves. The 1700s brought the Industrial Revolution and beer production soared.

 

When the American Prohibition (1920–1933) started, it put 1,300 breweries out of the alcohol business, so they had to sell other products. Some sold ice cream and some used their equipment to make dyes. The large breweries such as Pabst, Schlitz, and Miller sold malt extract (what you needed to make beer at home), but they advertised it as a bread-making product.

 

 

In 1979, President Jimmy Carter made it legal to sell beer ingredients for home brewing, which kick-started the microbrew movement of the 1980s. Today, America has over 4,000 breweries. Almost every big city offers several local beers in all types and styles.

Top 10 Things to Know

about Beer

Beer (or ale to be accurate) is the world’s first known alcohol on record.

 

The Black Velvet beer-cocktail was invented in honor of Prince Albert in 1861. It was made with stout beer layered on top of champagne.

 

Beer breaks down into two categories: ale and lager. Ale uses top-fermenting yeasts and lager uses bottom fermenting yeasts. Ales are ancient and lagers are only a couple hundred years old.

 

Beer uses the most types of glassware/vessels of any alcohol category. The largest is a yard and the smallest a half pint.

 

The most popular beer-cocktail shooters in the world include the Flaming Dr. Pepper, Boilermaker, and the Irish Car Bomb.

 

Beer also wins for using the most types of packaging/storage in various sizes. Examples include cans, glass and aluminum bottles, kegs, and casks.

 

The beer stein was invented in the 1300s and, 200 years later, lids were added to keep flies out of the beer.

 

The Anchor Steam brewery in San Francisco has been using both top and bottom fermenting yeasts in their beer since 1896.

 

The oldest operating brewery in America is Yuengling & Son.

 

A beer-cocktail called Hangman’s Blood was mentioned in the 1929 novel A High Wind in Jamaica. Hangman’s Blood consists of porter ale, rum, gin, whisky, port, and brandy. And in 1960, Anthony Burgess (A Clockwork Orange) wrote in the Guardian Newspaper (England) about this same cocktail, "It tastes very smooth, induces a somehow metaphysical elation, and rarely leaves a hangover...I recommend this for a quick, though expensive, lift."

.
 

Types of Beer

Ale

Individual households, small inns, and pubs (public houses) made ale from 8000 BCE to the 1400s. From the 1500s to the present, ale had been mostly made commercially. Styles of ales include stout, porter, bitter, brown, wheat, cream, lambic, and pale. Popular ale brands include Guinness, Newcastle Brown, Bass Ale, Redhook, Sam Adams Porter, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, and Blue Moon.

 

Lager

Produced in the Czech Republic in 1842, Pilsner Urquell was the first commercial pilsner lager. It is still made today. Most people think that all lagers have a clear yellow color, but this is untrue. Creating a lager has to do with the bottom fermenting yeast, time, and temperature. Styles of lager include pilsner, bock, dry, ice, dunkel, and amber. Popular lager brands include Budweiser (and all the others like Coors, Michelob, etc.), Stella Artois, Shiner Bock, Warsteiner Dunkel, Keystone Ice, Corona, and Negra Modelo.

Photo by met museum Edinburgh / Public Domain

Fun Beer Facts

Beer is just liquid bread.

 

It has been said that Russia did not consider beer to be an alcoholic beverage until 2013.

 

The world’s most expensive bottle of beer, “Vieille Bon Secours,” ale costs $1,000.

 

A Scottish brewery makes the strongest beer in the world, called Snake Venom. Its alcohol content is 67 percent ABV. To compare, Budweiser has a 5 percent ABV.

 

According to Wikipedia, the country that drinks the most beer in the world is the Republic of Nauru—formerly known as Pleasant Island—an island country in Micronesia in the Central Pacific.

 

In 1996, the Corona Limon became popular. It is easy to make—just pour a shot of Bacardi Limon rum in a Corona beer. Another popular Corona cocktail is a Corona Margarita where you insert an opened bottle of Corona into a large Margarita.

 

In 2012, Amsterdam starting paying alcoholics in beer to pick up trash in the streets.

 

On October 17, 1814, in London, England, eight people drowned when the Meux and Company Brewery’s beer vats burst, pouring almost 1.5 million liters of beer through the streets.

 

25 creative beer/brewery websites.  

Beer Websites

Beer Advocate

Vinepair Beer 101

Rate Beer

Untapped

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beer Podcasts

Good Beer Hunting

The Sour Hour

Strange Brews

 

 

 

 

YouTube

Contact Me!
cheryl@misscharming.com
You can use this address or the
contact form to the right...up to you.

If you don't hear back from

me in a timely manner then
Facebook message me.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle